We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-self Service!”
Review of Taiwan Siau Jou

Taiwan Siau Jou
Ranked #323 of 735 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Kuching is notorious for choosing a business name that's irrelevant to its kind of business. So be warned that Taiwan Siau Chu (Taiwan Porridge) has nothing to do withTaiwanese cuisine. Its food is common Kuching non-ethnic/non-regional specific Chinese home cooked style. Its decor is non-pretentious, neat and tidy. It's air conditioned, comfortable if only not being rather crammed. The business is brisk. Padungan is the first outlet. I know its two other outlets at Jalan Kereta Api (old name for this road) and Jalan Song, not sure if there are more outlets. Don't sit and wait to be served. You have to go to the food display and pick your choice. The workers will deliver your food to you. They take your order for drinks either before you place your order for food or at the time they deliver your food. Sometimes, the place is so crowded, a customer has to patiently stand and wait for a table to be vacated. In our case, we just walk out and go somewhere else whenever we see people waiting for a table. The place is too small for waiting customers to contribute to additional crowd. Depending on your choice, what you take can be real value for money. One advantage is you get what you see. It's not getting something different from what you saw in the photos in the menu. Just a simple meal, nothing fanciful? This eatery is worth considering.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank lucyang99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

Was just there awhile ago. Came in and saw a bunch of the workers huddled on a table, each one busy with their mobiles. Not even bothered to look up, what more to say take our orders! When we asked, they grudgingly took the orders and served the cold dishes - fast food style. Curt in their manners too. The food was nothing to rave about. Bland and simple dishes in small portions, served on dirty sticky tables. Admittedly very cheap, but not worth the heart pain. Anyway, we left without any drinks, coz they never bothered to ask if we wanted drinks. No loss.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank angie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Home cooked style food at a reasonable price. best time to come is during lunch and dinner hour when new dishes are freshly out from the wok and smoking hot. they tend to keep the dishes on the tray until they turned bad and only then would they take it out and throw it away.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SleepsInCatPajamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

If you're looking for cheap Chinese eat-outs, this is a great option. They serve a variety of dishes for you to choose, with a decent amount per serving. However, beware of the choice of food you select, in particular the meat! They may already be stale or not that fresh, especially if you are dining at later hours. I have been there with my family for many many times. Once I ordered the meat and salted egg and had diarrhoea the next day. At another time, we were lucky as the waiter realised the dish was already stale so he willingly exchanged another dish for us. (A piece of advice: It's best to order the soup as it's boiling hot and less likely you'll get a stomachache from consuming that.)
Overall, it's still great but just be careful with what you eat and you will be fine!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G783ZSmichellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

They opens everyday even on public holidays except Monday and gawai holiday.
Price are cheaper compare to nearby fast food stalls, many types of dishes to choose, quick and easy. Peak hour will need to wait a bit. Porridge is nice because its not only plain porridge, its sweet potato porridge.
Suitable for one who like simple home cook meal or even from can food.
Dishes like scrambled egg with dried raddish, salted egg, fried ham, taufu with minced meat, butter chicken, fried kangkung, fried manicai, fried chicken, fried fish, curry chicken or fish... Etc etc.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank jjj883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taiwan Siau Jou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing