We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy pastas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 21 Bistro

21 Bistro
Ranked #53 of 567 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: $2 - $60
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy pastas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

21 Bistro is in Old Chinatown, really close to Beds Guesthouse, and 15 minutes from the city center. We had a pasta dish and it was delicious, we were tempted to order another serving of it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Jazzy dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I invited my mum and my supervisors for a dinner here to celebrate my promotion.
All four of us that went agreed that the food is good. We had Blackpepper lamb cutlet, NZ Ribeye steak and Salmon Teriyaki. I had two Hoegaarden, the rest of the ladies only had green tea. The sides were green salad and mango salad (Salmon Teriyaki). Portion is just nice for us. Food came in less than 15 minutes after order was taken. Pretty impressive.
Service could have been improved but it's satisfactory overall. They helped me to charge my phone at the bar and switched on the aircond overhead so that we don't feel uneasy sitting near the standing air cooler. I've requested to have a seat not so noisy and non-smoking and it is to the back of the bistro.
They have a small group of live performers, not really singing just play some jazz music, oldies and also Malay pops.
I would like to go back again to try their lobster and Rose Wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyMacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Really loved our visit to this nicely decorated restaurant. Our food was delicious. I had a seafood pasta dish for main which had a fantastic sauce.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fraggle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

In a city like Kuching with all the fabulous food on offer, including the scrumptious food courts in the Malls, you really have to be ahead of the game. Renowned for live music we decided to give it a try. There was very little choice on the menu, drinks were forgotten, service very average and for 2 of us very average food. My partner enjoyed his red snapper tho....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodslut2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice bistro with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

All the food was very good; a combination of local & western cuisine. Environment was good with light music to go with dining or even relaxing over draught beer....Hoegaarden draught was my favorite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AylmerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Bistro also viewed

 
Kuching, Sarawak
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to 21 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing