We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high potential but needs more attention of the owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morning Glory Guest House
Ranked #33 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“high potential but needs more attention of the owner”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

price is higher than other places in kuching- without breakfast. If you arrive late, don't expect to find a shop nearby - you have to walk 25 minutes. The bathroom and the kitchen need some attention- just the owner gave us the feeling of hospitality- unfortunately he is there just at the weekend. The rooms are nice and quite new. Some bikes would be nice to get to the riverfront faster.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonamezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights in the double-room for 80 RM per night (including 16% tax). Were picked up at the airport for 20 RM. Big room with attached bathroom, warm water, A/C, very clean and spacious. Kitchen with fridge and free drinking water to fill up your bottles. Caretaker Pak was very nice. He even drove us to the bus station in the early morning for free as it was raining cats and dogs.
The walk to the centre, bus stations, food courts, and waterfront takes about 20-25min. Free WiFi and use of PC.
It was a great stay! Thanks for hosting us!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KleinerPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place we have stayed so far on our trip. We stayed in the 'Superior Twin Room' which had AC, ensuite bathroom and a TV which played our films and TV shows we brought from home on a USB stick. The room was a good size, the beds were comfortable and it was very quiet.

As the other reviewers have mentioned, the guesthouse is quite far from town. It is a fairly straightforward walk into town, although the roads are not geared up for pedestrians so you will find yourself crossing big dual carriageways with no pedestrian crossings.

The guesthouse is clean with a nice big kitchen, containing a two burner hob, microwave, kettle and toaster as well as a fridge so you can easily cook your own meals. However we found it was just as cheap to stay in town and eat at one of the excellent food courts. Try the Sarawak Laksa, you won't be disappointed!

WiFi is a bit hit and miss but when it does work, it is fast.

The guesthouse offers airport transfers, we paid MYR 15 to be picked up late at night.

All in all, a great place to spend a week, and an excellent base to explore Kuching and the surrounding areas. Two thumbs up!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fiznool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staff was very nice and helpfull but I'd advice future guests to check where they wanna go and what they want to visit in Kuching, since the house is quite far from the touristic centre (about 20 minutes walking, so you should better take a taxi or a bus... and the bus stop ain't near).

Also, I'm quite surprised for the excellent reviews: being said that staff are welcoming and helpful, rooms are quite dirty (specially the bathroom) furniture is old and wifi didn't work well.

It happened to be disappointing since we chose the guesthouse because of the rating in tripadvisor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariadna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeN912, Owner at Morning Glory Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Ariadna,
Thank you for your review. I regret your stay was less than ideal. It serves as a timely reminder for Abu and I on the importance of maintaining consistency in the level of cleanliness of the facilities. We will put in more effort to ensure future guests will have a more memorable stay. Thank you!

Regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Abu, call him the good soul of the house, awaited us with a more than warm welcome when we arrived rather late in the afternoon. We stayed in a rather large double-ensuite room and not only was it perfectly clean with a good normal smell (no air fresheners, more the smell of the garden outside) in the air. It moreover provided a home for the days we stayed in Kuching, with a good bed, ac, tv, just everything you might need.

Apart from that, and one of the most important things for us, the place is silent, so you can have a good sleep or just take a short peaceful nap around noon when it is too hot to go outside.

They have a very modern and fully equipped kitchen, so we just went down the street to the supermarket, got some food and drinks and prepared our dinner. Of course, we could have gone to one of the nice and reasonably priced restaurants around, yet an 'own' kitchen gave us a feeling of independence, prepare whatever you want and have it whenever you want. Children are very welcome (George, the manager, has a child himself who would be around every once in a while), and being able to just prepare some food for them without going out or ordering food from a hotel-restaurant should be a good thing for families as well.

The next day we met George, the manager of MorningGlory, he is great. Really friendly, attentive, gentle, always there is we needed anything. And caring, like giving good advice when it comes to finding our way to restaurants and bus stations, providing his umbrella just in case it might start raining, you name it. We also met his wife, she's brilliant just like him. When she found out we like cooking and already bought some spices in town she would go to another special local shop and get a special paste for us, so we could take the flavour of the place home with us.

As we stayed here around Haja Raya, Abu invited us for lunch on the second day, so we experienced his family's hospitality in an original, non-touristic Malay village. G-r-e-a-t.

Transport around the place is also very easy, either enjoy a nice walk to town through one of Kuching's most exquisite neighbourhoods (yes, MorningGlory is right in the middle and part of it) or invest 10 RM (one price for almost all tours around the city) and be at the heart of the city in 3 minutes. Or, should you have a driver's license, ask Abu to organize a scooter for 40 RM/day, makes you very flexible, still sometimes you will have to be brave in Kuching's traffic. Just like in all the cities we saw up to now in S.E.Asia the traffic signs are to be understood more like an advice than real rules. Just joking...

In case we should come to Borneo again we will for sure stay at this place for a few days again. And will for sure recommend it to anyone of our friends and family who should like to stay here for some time.

Room Tip: Choose whichever room you want, they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seb x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of weeks whilst volunteering in Kuching. It is not in the centre but it is nicely located on a quiet street. It was good value for what you got. We stayed in twin rooms which were not ensuite but the bathroom was only shared between 5 of us. There was good wifi access and a kitchen to store and prepare any food you wanted. Abu ran the guest house and was very friendly and helpful, he even took us on some great trips to see the local attractions and took us down to the supermarket to get some supplies. He was a great host and worked very hard to ensure we had a good stay - it was sad to leave! Recommended for a good value stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
2.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#9 of 54 in Kuching
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 54 in Kuching
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 54 in Kuching
710 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.9 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Guest House

Property: Morning Glory Guest House
Address: No. 4 Bampfydle Road, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Morning Glory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Guest House Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing