We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need just the best at affordable price? look no further, this is THE place!”
Review of Traveller Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traveller Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It was such a beautiful surprise: we found this little jewel in Kuching and believe us you won't regret your choice. Everything there is clean and tidy, plenty of space in the room, a marvellous breakfast waits for you every morning and Moi, the owner of this place, is a charming and helpful person. We really had a beautiful and quiet stay and strongly advise this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathalieclaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at Moi's place from the 19th to the 22nd of January during our Malaysian stopover on the way home from Scandinavia.

We discovered Traveller Homestay after desperately searching for well reviewed places in Kuching, since the hotel we had previously booked was much less clean than we were expecting. Reading through reviews, traveller homestay seemed too good to be true, but after checking in we found the reviews were very accurate!

Thankfully, Moi was able to accept our very late notice booking and arrival, and we were pleased to discover her spotless homestay and rooms. The place was beautifully decorated with eclectic pictures and rugs throughout, and had facilities perfect for our stay. Moi not only included breakfast in our accommodation, but also provided us with fruit, tea and coffee.

The place well located, only a ten minute walk to the Kuching waterfront, and close to many local food and fruit stores.

Moi was especially helpful, giving us plenty of advice for our activities, and even took us to the bus stop for Bako National Park (just opposite the homestay) and waited with us to make sure we were on the bus okay. She also went out of her way to drop us off at the hotel down the road for our shuttle to Damai beach, including our 80kg of luggage.

We very much recommend Traveller Homestay to anyone, as two young students we felt very comfortable and secure and Moi's. We definitely hope to return in future and are so grateful to have found the homestay for our wonderful stay in Kuching.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a home away from home beautiful clean and charming place. They are so very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They grind their own coffee and its the best I've tasted in town. The traditional/western breakfast selections are a great addition. Close to restaurants, fruit markets and shopping malls.
We have been traveling for 12 months now and this is in our top 3 places to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveLorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked one night at Traveller Homestay and stayed two more. This simple place is very comfy and stylish. We got a 3 person room for us of 2 on the top of the building. There is a little balcony, a table with chairs in front of the room and downstairs there is a lounge with tv, laptop, books and there you can help yourself with coffee, tee, fruits and snacks. Wifi is working everywhere in the building. The whole place is extremly clean! On the ground floor there is a chinese coffeeshop/restaurant which seemed to be always full with local people. You get a good free breakfast in the morning. Moi is very helpful and friendly, we could store our bags for one night when we went to Bako Nationalpark, she showed us where to take the bus, organised a taxi for pick up to the airport,... she is a good homestay-mum;-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psclwrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Traveller Homestay in the beginning of january. We booked three nights but ended up staying three nights more. The owner Moi made us feel welcome the minute we stepped through the door. She was very helpful, giving advice and made arrangements for our activities.
The place is very clean and nicely decorated. There's a cozy living room area where you can get free coffe or tea. There's also a computer you can borrow and free Wifi. It is situated on a street with lots of shops and places to eat and only ten minutes by foot to Kuching city center.
If we ever return to kuching, which we hope, this will definetly be the place where we will stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hsthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in the guesthouse Traveler Homestay and we absolutely do not regret our choice. Beyond the fact that the rooms are very clean and the place is nicely decorated, it's undoubtedly the warm welcome and kindness of Moï that we delighted the more. Always very considerate, she made us very pleasant stay thanks to her advice for visits, breakfast extras, even bringing us to the post office and a patisserie that sells the best cakes for my daughter's birthday. We highly recommand Moï's Traveler Homestay, 240 Padungan Road, in Kuching : really an address to remember!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jechrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We sayed two nights at the Traveller home stay in Kutching but decided during our stay to check if there were any better hostels in town. We didn't find any hostel that could challenge the Traveller home stay. The hostel is very clean, cosy and stylish. The owner very helpful. The only inconvenience was the low water pressure in the shower in the morning, in the evening it is better. If you're looking for a guesthouse, this one is definitely the best option in Kutching.

Room Tip: The internet connection is better in the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2digitalnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,028 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller Homestay

Address: 240 Padungan Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Borneo Life Chinatown Homestay)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: $14 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Traveller Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller Homestay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing