We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked so called Club room just to realise that actually club benefits are equal to zero.
Club floor lounge consist of 2 sofas and 3 tables with chairs, serving very limited breakfast and during the day you can choose from all 4 cans of soft drinks available, coffee on request only.
If you intend to use computer in lounge you can do so but only for 30 minutes without charge.
If you want to print your boarding pass, they will charge you 3 RM per page ...
Room:
dirty, dusty, smelly, noisy
Breakfast:
by far small breakfast room for such a hotel, limited spread of continental food, dirty, slow service

Summary:
it was big mistake to book Club room - not worth the extra money at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoyAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear EnjoyAll

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay and we will make it up to you the next time around.

Rest assured we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the next Summer holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 540 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is generally good, but is showing its age. I stayed there because it was the chosen location of the conference which I attended. The attitude and attentiveness of staff makes up for its shortfall in the area. If you are able, upgrade to the club rooms where you will be housed in the club executive floors. You'll get access to executive lounges...and the attention of the staff! :D

Interestingly, I get woken up every morning at about 650am by loud flushing sounds emanating from somewhere along the floor (level 16, where i was located). Looking at the bright side, it was a really effective alarm clock!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to rooms on the Club level-you'll get access to the Club Executive Lounge, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timhsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear timhsi

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We apologise for the loud, flushing, sounds and rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do continue to make your reservations on our website and enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the coming holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really good hotel. As I said value for money. The people are very friendly. If you want to learn something or you need a help, recommendation or transportation to Damai or Santubong - just ask! Location is very good. Try to ask for a room with the river view. Nice experience. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Inovet

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are happy that you have had a very good stay with us! Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do continue to make your reservations on our website and enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked 6 nights on 12 Aug and I was very satisfied with free wifi service , rather fast throughout my stay even midnight.
I was given a choice of different pillows to use, a big room(even though it was a standard room) and good bathroom facilities and toiletries replenished daily.
The daily morning make up room service was promptly done and I am very happy that I made a wise choice to stay there as it was my first visit to Kuching.
The hotel is quite near the Top Spot foodcourt and near the waterfront.
I would recommend everybody to stay there.
I would choose this hotel again in future
Keep up with the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Kyphang

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are ecstatic that you have had a very satisfied stay with us! Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do continue to make your reservations on our website and enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for Sarawak's 50th Anniversary celebration in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

was on business trip. managed to get better rate from online promotion (RM230) on the hotel's website. wayyy cheaper than published rate (RM285)

though the facade is average..but it serve my needs well. reliable complimentary wifi in room too.

the Kuching water front is nearly, so as the boat station to cross the river..and a shopping mall (average one) is part of the hotel's building.

just parking a litle bit hassle as you need to go through shoping mall..or walk though outside the hotel's building...weird

Room Tip: please inform you need room facing the river..corner room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nippy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Nippy2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are most happy that you have enjoyed our Best Price Guarantee and had a comfortable stay with us while on business.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do continue to make your reservations on our website and enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for Sarawak's 50th Anniversary celebration in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here on a business trip. The room was spacious and came with a proper couch. The view from the room however was blocked by an ugly building right in front of the hotel. My suggestion is to get rooms at the end of each wing, it'll give you better view of the river. The bed was firm enough for a good night's sleep and the toilet was clean with all the expected amenities.
The pool, although small, was adequate for a swim. The view would have been great if only they didn't build that apartment right in front of the hotel!
I liked the breakfast spread during my stay. It had enough variety to cater for local and international tastes.
The hotel is located beside a mall which means if you require anything you could always pop down and buy it. Across the hotel is a jetty if you need to take a tambang (boat) to cross the river.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the wings to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikaelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear mikaelangelo

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us while on business, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for Sarawak's 50th Anniversary celebration in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice and comfy hotel with a nice swimming pool. Love the view from the room and its location. Breakfast was decent and a good variety as well. The room is clean and well maintained. Would love to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear bellatrix688

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next stay or special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
0 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
47 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $33 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing