We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We really liked the Crown Plaza and Kuching from the moment we arrived. The hotel is located in the centre of town right beside the river, several shopping malls and restaurants. We had two rooms and one was a magificent corner room with views up and down the river. The rooms were of excellent quality for the cost which was half of a Singapore hotel. Did not see a swimming pool so may not suit young children.
We did not eat evening meals in the hotel as the local restaurants are much cheaper. There is an excellent one just opposite on the river. Two of us had breakfast with our package and it was quite satsfactory however 2 others just bought pastries etc from local shops for a lot less.
The town is quite small, easy walking around with good original local markets and shops as well as shopping malls.
There is a laundry located behind the hotel, not below as advertised in some places.
The hotel staff booked trips to the Orang Utang sanctuary and Bako island for rates that were well under the web rates published by the established organisers. Local village people acted as our guides. The Orang Utangs were great, much better than Sandakan.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2008

Hotel was very clean and amenities were good. Pool was large and very clean.


The hotel is a perfect base for exploring kutching - close to the craft shops and within walking distance of most sightseeing attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merchgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I stayed here for 3 days in November after colleague recommended me this hotel.
Reception service is overall good, no hassle, no problem.
I like the room, modern,well kept,clean,nice riverside view.
Breakfast is abundant and service is speedy,excellent.
Riverside esplanade and handicraft shops is just walking distance.

overall about this hotel is alright, but Kuching isn't much to see, unless you are here for transit to Mulu caves or maybe on business trip.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Orientalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Although the Hilton seems to get better reviews, we chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza as it seemed to offer more for your money. For the price of a standard room at the Hilton, we had an executive floor room at the Crowne Plaza which included breakfast, evening drinks in the lounge, and access to a PC with high speed internet in the lounge.

The Crowne is in the middle of all the action, and right across the street from the river walk. Yes, the view is obstructed by an apartment building, but how much time are you going to spend in your room? There is easy access to shopping, food, and many tourist sites.

Our room was large and clean, although a bit dated. We took full advantage of the free internet and snacks in the executive lounge. We were dissapointed with the pool - it wasn't anything special, but we didn't spend a lot of time there anyway. The gym was barely adequate, but we got all our exercise walking during the day.

We only ate breakfasts at the hotel, and the buffet was excellent. There were Western, Malay and Chinese dishes. There was also freshly squeezed orange juice, which was a nice treat. We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, and were not able to sample everything at the buffet.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It's a comfortable base for exploring this fascinating part of Malaysia.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AltaMales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed for a week in July after booking direct on the hotel website. Rooms were reasonably sized and comfortable and we had a room on the 16th floor so we got a good view up and down the Sarawak river, but the apartment block directly opposite spoiled the view a bit. Very reasonably priced if you take advantage of the web 14 day advance rate. Staff were very friendly and helpful but could be a bit slow sometimes. We only ate breakfast (included) in the hotel and teh buffet was very good and extensive with excellent service. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Kuching and we used CPH travel (about 10min walk from the hotel) for our tours and I would recommend them - knowledeable and helpful guides. We ate three times in the 'Hotspot' seafood court, only 5 mins walk from the hotel, and it was excellent.
Some sites class this hotel as 5*, others 4*. I would rate them as 4*, but having said that I would recommend this hotel as an ideal base for exploring Kuching and surrounds.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed at the Crown Plaza Riverside in Kuching twice in April. Its freindly , helpful staff, very good restaurants, and comfortable rooms make this a perfect place to ease into a new climate and culture.

Tip: There is a english language bookstore in the shopping center next door with a good travel/natural history section.

Tip two: You can walk half a block to the right as you leave the hotel and use the traffic light to cross the road to the riverside, rather than run through fast moving traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Very nicely located right in the middle of the city, 15 minutes by road from the airport, right across the waterfront, some historic attractions and shopping stretches. Very well-maintained rooms (we stayed in the lowest rates rooms and that was great already), good value for money, good service and excellent and inexpensive breakfast spread at the cafe. Allowed early check-in. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oneashwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $30 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing