We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are very satisfied with the hotel in terms of location, room cleanliness and excellent/ prompt service from the helpful and friendly staff. Lots of variety and delicious breakfast. Perhaps the one improvement that can be done is to remove the musky carpet smell along the corridor.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for a deluxe room with riverview. Email the hotel before your trip t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina298313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Rina298313

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next stay or special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    223
    123
    21
    14
See reviews for
92
122
48
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Riverside Majestic Hotel really deserves a great review in terms of location in Kuching, breakfast and value-for-the-money. It does not deserve a lot of praise for its rooms and the somewhat run-down interior appeal so all in all, the impression is mixed.

The check-in took a long time but we were compensated with a free beer in the bar while waiting. The bed was quite comfortable but the carpet in the whole hotel (room as well as hallways) was a bit smelly and seemed almost moist. I do not understand why a hotel is trying to copy the Grand Hotel style in the tropical climate. With high humidity, it just doesn't make sense to me to have everything covered with thick carpets.

Other than that, Kuching is an amazing place to visit and you cannot do much wrong staying at the Riverside Majestic Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear kingsimon

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay and rest assured your invaluable feedback has been shared with our team for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the Sarawak Regatta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Choosed for location near the river and tourist activities. Stayed in May 2013 at executive floor. Renovation in progress making intolerable noise at lobby, check in took longer time. Staff was friendly but not much of helping. Would expect better condition for an execcutive room. Few function was held, making quite a crowd during breakfast. We decided to have breakfast at executive lounge for the next few days. Not much of choice but the food was just do for breakfast. The staffs at executive floor was not attentive..should improve! Swimming pool just alright, for few strokes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dais76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dais76

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for a less than perfect stay and we'll make it up to you.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with our team for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the Sarawak Regatta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A stay 3d 2n last month. Overall good from service food and clean room. Very good at all. But renovation in progress at ground floor make this staying too noisy. The location near kuching waterfront but my room not facing river.

Room Tip: Next year i coming again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laksamana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Laksamana A

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your loved one have had a "very good" stay with us and we look forward to having you guys back again.

We apologise for the noise caused by the renovation work outside. Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the Rainforest World Music Festival or Hari Raya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you want a view of the river, you will have to almost lean out of the window to avoid one of the ugliest modern buildings that someone built right in front of the hotel which blocks the view. Such a shame as the hotel is fine, if a little tired. Modernisation is currently taking place, so watch out for rebuilding noises during the day. The food was great and the service very friendly. Kuching is a lovely town with long walks along the river frontage. Don't miss the Lucky Spot restaurant on the top of the local car park.

Room Tip: The higher rooms get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_g_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear tony_g_9

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your loved one have had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to having you guys back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the Rainforest World Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the second time we had checked into the executive floor at the 17th Floor. We are also a privilege card member for this SEDC hotel chain. We had a second round of poor check in experience with the staff at the 17th Floor. Staff obviously had stiff necks when coming to serve us. A stuck-up work attitude and very unfriendly at serving us at the executive lounge during our afternoon tea. Had spoken to the front office manager on our second encounter with the staff.

Room are reasonably furnished with sufficient basic room supplies to help us to sleep through the night.

Fairly good breakfast and dinner at the Cafe Majestic. Staff are much friendlier at the cafe but not very attentive particularly when waiting on the tables.

Room Tip: Higher floors from 12th floor onward with a view of the river and old fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityFolks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear CityFolks777

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect experience, and have shared your feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement. We look forward to having you back again, and we'll make it up to you.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next stay or event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the Riverside Majestic Hotel to celebrate a special birthday. The location is perfect for access to the riverside and within easy walking distance to town. The staff are very friendly and helpful and on arrival, sang and presented me with a birthday cake! Our room was clean and the views were amazing. The beds were also extremely comfortable. For breakfast you can choose from fruit, cereal, pastries, local delights, full English Breakfast, choices are endless! As has been said before, the hotel could do with being redecorated and the only let down was that some of the bed linen was torn, the bath was missing a handle and for some reason we were only given two bath towels for four people (although, they did give us an extra one on one of the days when we asked)! The staff organised transport for two day trips which made it all so easy and enjoyable. One evening we also ordered room service and the food was delicious. We also used the bar at the Grand Margherita which serves amazing cocktails. Would definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Scottyloulou

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next stay or special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Property: Riverside Majestic Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing