We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and amenities, shame about the housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here twice in a week, before and after a short trip to Sabah. The hotel is centrally located on the riverfront, within walking distance to the Main Bazaar and other shopping malls and restaurants nearby. We were there during the ASEAN International Film Festival weekend so the hotel was very busy.
What's good: the location (as mentioned); the renovated rooms were modern and comfortable; the breakfast spread had a wide choce of international and local dishes; the staff were firendly and obliging.
What's not so good: The rooms facing the main road are noisy. Housekeeping is erratic - on checking into my room for the second stay, we found there were no towels, toilet paper or facial tissues, and it took multiple phone calls and finally me going down to the reception desk, to get what we needed. My friend who requested for certain pillows had the same experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river, as they are quieter and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Noreen Chan

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 540 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quite a small room but with a good view of Sarawak river. Huge and nice swimming pool for both adult and children but no life guard is provided and it is quite danger for the children. One thing which I think is good about this hotel is that on the first floor is connected to a shopping mall and restaurant. You can easily go to ride a boat in front of the hotel by 5 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salman f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear salman f

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was here recently for a 4 night stay while conducting a seminar. The place has been refurbished and everything looks new. The staff are quite courteous, accommodating and friendly. The rooms are big and nice with flat panel TV and a decent array of channels to choose from. There were several issues that ruined the pleasantness and initiatives of the management to give you 5* services at lower than 5* prices.

The walls of the hotel seem pretty thin and as such you hear what is happening next door, the floor above and also when your neighbours use the toilet. Hot water is warm, at best, in the mornings. As for room service, they are quite prompt in delivering your orders but beware, it might not be what you ordered. Once I ordered fried rice and the menu says the rice is fried with chicken and prawns but what I got had no prawns. The second time I ordered fish and chips. I ended with up with two fried portions served with french fries and salad. The problem was, 1 of the portions was fish and the other was chicken! Go figure!

If someone was fasting for Lent and wanted to avoid red meat, there goes your fast. This happened on the eve of Good Friday.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The3rdEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear The3rdEye,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We apologise for a less than perfect stay with us, and will make it up to you the next time around. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way for your next business trip, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel certainly need a face lift however, we had high tea one afternoon and it was to die for no scones and tea but, many dishes to choose from.
The service was good and the staff were friendly.
The day spa was closed due to remodelling and we were required to go to the hotel across the road sister hotel the Grand Margherita Hotel.
Next door to a shopping complex which was convince

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear 2mumies

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us, as well as a delightful high tea session, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice in a recent trip to Borneo. The hotel is centrally located very near the riverfront, lots of restaurants and a couple of large shopping malls.
On our first stay we were shown to a room with twin beds when we had requested kingsize, without question we were moved to another room - twin again!!!, moved a third time to the executive floor (slightly newer furnishings and in room mini bar) but there was water in the wardrobe running down the electrical fuse box!!! Finally again without question moved to a kingsize - actually a nice room - but a bit exasperating after a flight from the uk. Bed was very good.
Extensive buffet breakfast Excellent. Tip - Beers and water very expensive by them in a nearby shop!
Second visit the first room was the one next to the lift shaft - crikey was it going to be another saga but infact the next room was fine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Grinders13

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights during my stay in Sarawak, only leaving to stay upstream at a Homestay.
This hotel is essentially on the waterfront where you can see joggers and village boats going across to the other side.
The staff were very pleasant and most helpful. Ivy, in the club lounge deserves a special mention as she was so warm and friendly and really made my stay better.
Rooms okay, clean and king sized bed if you want. Always nice to spread out even if you're alone.
Poolside lacks atmosphere. They have very cheap loungers, with no tables or umbrellas so nowhere to hide in the blinding sun!
There is a bar there too, but I guess due to the lack of guests t the poolside never opened at 11 as promised by the signs. Pool could do with an upgrade!
In terms of decor, updates and amenities I think it's sister hotel, Grand Magherita definitely has the edge. However staff nowhere near as friendly. I guess you have to compromise on something sometimes.
Give me friendly every time.
Breakfast nice with a good variety.
Drinks however very expensive in the bar.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nextadventure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Lisa F

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps during the World Rainforest Music Festival in June.

Rest assured we have shared your invaluable feedback with the team for service improvement, and also with Ivy at the club lounge.

She sends her warmest wishes and said it was a pleasure making your stay in the Riverside Majestic Hotel memorable.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 10 days. This is one great hotel with great hospitality. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The room is huge and comfortable. Buffet spread are delicious and lots of choices, but everyday they served the same menu, kinda boring. The hotel is attached to shopping mall, and very close to riverfront. Will absolutely coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear shuffyzz

Gong Xi Fa Cai and thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your family loved your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
0 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
46 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $33 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing