We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - But still Need to Improve more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Sarawak
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average - But still Need to Improve more.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I Stayed there in December 2012 - Hotel Staffs is friendly and very Helpful.
near to riverside front - Easy Access for Food and for 10 min walk you can see a car park which serves very Good Sea Food - at least 4 Seafood's Restaurant located on top of the Car Park- with very Good rate.

Hotel is a Bit Old, Need Renovation..

Overall is still OK

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear SmartDave

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your friends have had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps during the Chinese New Year holidays.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    237
    129
    22
    14
See reviews for
99
127
50
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan City Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Am in agreement the hotel is "dated" but is being further refurbished and is being further extended with a completely new wing now under construction. We stayed in a reasonably spacious studio unit which was efficently serviced and good value and well and truly suited our purposes as an ideally centrally located base to eat breakfast, tour from, and "crash out" after an exhausting eventful full-on day, Breakfast was included at a reasonable price and had a most pleasing quality and variety for selection. Staff were immensely helpful with information suggestions and directions and tours were as good if not, in nearly all cases, much better than expected especially the adjacent sunset river cruise, orchid garden, mosques and the amazing Sarawak Cultural Village to the north.The lengthy quality riverside Esplanade walkway in the immediate vicinity of the Hotel is excellent with pleasing facilities and would shame most such venues in Australia with lots of overhead cover and seating to enjoy the "cooler" evenings and various activities . There are lots of bazaars and "shop until you drop" stores nearby and quite a number of unusual and historic buildings nearby. However, though most of the nature and cultural tourist spots are quite a distance to the north they were quite reasonably priced, conducted very professionally and easily arranged through the hotel. Laundry was a bit of a pain but we located one within 300 metres of the hotel rear entrance that gave excellent service. The Shopping centre immediately adjacent to the hotel was quite convenient and the Hilton and Pullman hotels are very close by. We also dined at The Pullman where we have concessions but preferred the Riverside for quality, friendliness and service rather than "show". Our trip also included Mainland Malaysian hotels at Langkawi, Sunway Resort and Kuala Lumpur City Centre but our week in Kuching and at the Riverside far exceeded the others as far as overall convenience, greater relaxation, less rushed sightseing and sheer enjoyment are concerned and we'll be going back after a few more "bucket list" travels.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor that faces the river and to the left and be absolutely sure to do the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear AustraliaOne,

Season's Greetings and thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your friends have had a pleasant stay with us. We have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for service improvement and we look forward to having you back again.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is nearby Kuching waterfront..just a walking distance away..nearby 24hrs Khatulistiwa cafe..attached to shopping complex..Parkson, guardians, kfc..very convenient. It is also a walking distance to the main bazaar that selling local crafts, souvenirs, T-shirts and many more..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eiffaakmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear eiffaakmal

Season's Greetings and thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel looking a bit old and dated, but still one of the better ones in Kuching. Price a bit steep, but rooms are large. Good food locations around the hotel. Staff are courteous and helpful.
Chinese restaurant in hotel is pretty good.

Only a few top hotels in Kuching, and this is one of the top three

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Raymond M

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the coming holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good location, friendly staff, but the decor is straight out of the 1980's! Normally, this wouldn't be an issue, but the hotel is competing with, according to its star rating, the Pullman and the Hilton. They have a way to go!
The mall, next door, is convenient and has a variety of useful outlets.
I would only return, if he room quality was improved,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmacg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Gmacg63

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with the relevant departments and we look forward to having you back again.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the coming holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here on business in an executive room. Lovely views of the waterfront and character buildings of Kuching which I found to be a lovely city. An early morning walk along the river is a must. The hotel has a lovely Chinese restaurant which has a supreme buffet. 30 different dishes that you cook yourself at the table.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PMO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear PMO44

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for your next business trip to Kuching, please do not hesitate to let us know.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spend 1 night last saturday and it was my 12th visit to this hotel since 2003. I forgot to request for the room with the river view like usual. So I can't blame them. Overall I always love the room, spacious and clean. I like the business lounge where I can have my breakfast near to my room instead going to the 1st floor. Love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paksu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear paksu27

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you back again in your preferred room - with the river view.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the coming holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 54 in Kuching
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Property: Riverside Majestic Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing