We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside Majestic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Saigon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Riverside Majestic”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Location wise, sensational. Staff were friendly, the room pretty good but the pillows were a little lack lustre. Buffet breakfast was included.

The hotel was having some renovations done when we were there so a bit of extra noise but no big deal.

Did the trick for us! Again we booked via Agoda and got a good deal something like $45 USD per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saigon-Unseen-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Saigon-Unseen-Tours,

Good day to you! Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you find our rates reasonable. While we may not be the newest hotel in town, our amenities and products are continuously being upgraded to ensure that we are providing only the best to our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the breath taking river view from your room and the friendly services you have received from our team.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again next time.

Take care.

Afreeda Nawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    225
    126
    21
    14
See reviews for
93
125
48
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

As is Kuching, so is the Hotel Riverside Majestic - timeless!
The staff is super helpful, polite and have a sense of humour.
Breakfast is a delight of Asian & Western food - I loved the Asian.
Some aspects of the hotel are quaint and yet delightful - could be frustrating for those in a hurry.
Loved the view from the room, daily room serviceand the happy folk we dealt with.
So sorry to leave!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Very nice hotel close to city centre. Good sized room and nice bed. Great breakfast buffet with your pen cook to make you omelets and egs.
On the downside, they are renovating the hotel so it's a lot of noice, and there's only two elevators functioning at the moment. That lead to up to fifteen minutes og waiting to go down from our rooms on 9th floor

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBOY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked this hotel for 3 nights. The rate was good value at £44 per room - on arrival we were pretty blown away - the main hotel reception is very 4 star, however, the room was a far cry from this. Very musty room and a strange smell (I am convinced it was cockroaches - although i never saw one) The dampness in the bed made it difficult to sleep.
Good points - The staff and the view from the room

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear annon_10,

Thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you find our rates reasonable. While we may not be the newest hotel in town, our amenities and products are continuously being upgraded to ensure that we are providing all our guests the best products and services.

As for your comments about the room, please be assured that pest is not a concern. We are aware of how it would inconvenience (not to mention how unhygienic it is) our guests and it is one of the many aspects that we take seriously. Which is why we employ one of the best pest control agency for preventive measures. These teams come in on a regular basis to ensure that no corners are left unattended to.

As for the bed,, our housekeeping staff changes the bed linen & pillow covers daily to ensure that you enjoy a crisp and clean sleeping environment while you're here.

That said, we are happy that you enjoyed the view and the interactions that you have with the hotel staff. We do hope that you got to try some of the local delicacies served in our coffee house as well. But if you didn't, that would leave something to look forward to on your next visit. If you're planning to come back soon, you could check the local happenings calendar and plan your trip to coincide with them so you get the most cultural and local exposures.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, which will help us to serve you better. Looking forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, Sarawak. Till then, take care.

Best Regards,
Eileen Chong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
347 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hotel is not so far away from the airport along the riverbank, riverside view shows the pagode type parliament building, rooms are spaceous and all you need is there, AC, LED TV, internet is free, room had a little strange smell, daily newspaper, room rate was reasonable with 280 MYR (incl. tax w/o breakfast),

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear blueskies15-10,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at Riverside Majestic.

We are glad that you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay and is delighted to find out that you had also enjoyed the free in-room high speed wired internet access. The free internet access is a new enhancement to our existing services, implemented this year because we know just how important it is to stay connected these days. With the best speed of 2MBps, features such as SKYPE and other internet voice and video chat can be used without the usual 'lag'.

See you soon and thanks for selecting Riverside Majestic as your preferred hotel during your stay at Kuching, Sarawak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is the 2nd time we stayed at the hotel as it is in the middle of town. Our room is reasonably clear and face the river, which is welcoming especially when we wake up in the morning & look outside. The hotel is also a walk away from Green Top which has many tasty and cheap food stalls, which is a bonus as the food in the hotel is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flufffluuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear flufffluuf,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are delighted that we are your preferred host for the second time. We are glad that you enjoyed our room and the view as we are one of the few hotels with this privilege.

If you happen to come back for the third time, do swing by our food & beverage outlet and ask for recommendations of our chef's signature dishes. We have received a lot of positive feedbacks from that area.

We sincerely hope that we would remain the hotel of your choice in your next visit to Kuching.
Until then, take care and see you soon!

Kind regards,
Afreeda Nawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Great location near the start of the Kuching waterfront district. Rooms are excellent and the picture windows have lovely views of Kuching and the river. Free wired internet. Breakfast is a varied delight and each day there is a new option in the Malaysian fare. Find the chef and ask what is available. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Dear CricketGirlDarwin,

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room, the internet connection and the variety of the breakfast buffet.
Thank you for making us your preferred host and we hope to see you again next time!

Best regards,
Afreeda Nawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Property: Riverside Majestic Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing