We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed there from 10 - 13 June 2013 for our business trip. The building looks old, but the service not bad, receptionist friendly and greet us "Good Morning" and "Good Bye" when we about to check out. Love the shower, "strong water"

Too little choice of breakfast. We had same breakfast on 11 and 13 June 2013. Staff in the coffee house were playing around chasing each other and hitting each other where next to our table. Attitude need to be improve.

But overall still ok. Stayed here for 2nd time for business trip.

Room Tip: Newly open Plaza Merdeka Shopping Mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphnechaisinyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Merdeka palace for two nights, after finding what we thought was a "good deal" on a standard room. On agoda it claimed to be a 5 star hotel, so we came in with high expectations, and after seeing the magnificent lobby we thought we hit the jackpot! However, it all changed when we entered the room. I guess it really nice back in the 80s, but today it is just torn down. Wallpaper was peeling off everywhere, the hallway had stench of mold and in the bathroom there were quiet a lot of black mold to find, especially around the door. The Air conditioner were leaking and wasn't cooling at all. They still used the old big TVs (But with a small screen though...) in the room. And I didn't expect a view, since it said car park. But I didn't actually think the window was facing the inside of a garage! Another thing was the toilet that didn't flush properly and some "floaters" were difficult to get rid of. The shower had a nasty stench from the drain. Hair dryer was broken, etc.
We did spend one night in this room however, since we were tired after spending a few nights in the jungle, but when we spent the night and realized the air conditioner-problem we went down to talk to the receptionist, and pointed it out to them. I have to give them credit for the staff however, who are very friendly and are really trying to make the best of the situation. (I have been a hotel receptionist for several years myself, so I can understand what they might be facing.) Especially so when we did get upgraded to a very nice and big room that still had the same basic flaws as the other one, but without the bad smell, and the air conditioner was working very well. (My dear wife thought it was to cool this time, but I liked it. :) )
We paid about RM270 for these two nights, without breakfast. I do think we would have got more value for our money in a good 3 star hotel than at this 5-star one. Next time we go to kuching, I think we will be looking at other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms without view are REALLY without view, facing the inside of a garage. A bit noisy as well on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

O.K., this may not be the finest hotel around and could do with a room make-over, but you are effectively in Borneo and and the humidity must play hell with the decor. The staff are great and try very hard to please. The location is good too. I'd go there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairlyordinaryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been there twice for some days and enjoyed the stay. Very friendly stuff. Most of the relevant parts of the city are in walking distance. Good breakfast. For dinner we visited the restaurants downtown, so we can not say anything about the quality in these aspects. The bar is not really cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We chose the Merdeka Palace Hotel after reading good reviews in tripadvisor. The room was small and the bathroom shower had black mould everywhere, the back of the bathroom door was covered in blackmould. We complained and were given a 1 bedroom apartment that was an improvement although the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The carpets in the corridors were all stained and dirty. The breakfast was very basic. The entrance to the hotel was beautiful it is a pity that the rooms were not up to the same standard. A very dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 542Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights stay here during my official duty trip cos my intended hotel is fully booked. However, do my disappointment, i found this hotel not worth the money i have paid. In terms of location, it is strategic as you can go to Merdeka Plaza within walking distance. But the room design is really of very old fashioned. I think a lot of refurbishment work needs to be done. The pillows are too flat, not much of tv channels to choose from, and one of the plaster walls are mouldy. The aircon temperature is unadjustable in the room and it's a bit warm in the room. The breakfast was just average though. At the rate paid, i should be able to get a newer hotel with newer facilities

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellalittrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed from Feb. 23 to March 3 in a two bedroom suite. I was in the larger room with the 'control panel' in the bedside table which made it very hard to find the light switch! Who would think to look IN the bedside table for the LIGHT SWITCH! I found this quite inconvenient.
You could tell that while the windows were now made inoperable, at one time the windows had been left open during heavy rain as the carpet was quite damaged by the windows in the living room. There was NOT any smell of mold however. Still, the carpet really needed replacement.
Wifi was not available on this floor, however they supplied a t-5 cable to hook up to a laptop. The cable didn't help my smartphone though!
The apartment was quite spacious, there was a fridge in the cabinet under the TV in the living room in addition to the fridge near the kitchen. The kitchen included a two burner stove, microwave and even a dish drying rack under the cabinet above the sink. There were THREE bathrooms, one in each bedroom and the third near the kitchen, just off the dining room.
It's right next to some museums, and just down the block from a big modern shopping mall with a very similar name, Merdeka Plaza, so be sure your driver knows the difference!
It's just a few blocks from the waterfront, with great tourist shopping. There are also at least 2 laundrymats within easy walking distance, since in-house laundry seemed a bit pricey.
The included breakfast buffet had good variety and includes and egg station where you could order eggs any style and omlettes made just for you.
The staff was wonderful, smiles came easy for them and they were always eager to help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKiDDLES_the_Clown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.7 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
M Hotels
M Hotels
#35 of 55 in Kuching
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $36 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing