We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Used to be a great hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Kuching
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Used to be a great hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Merdeka Ex-Palace would be the right name for it. A once most grand hotel in Kuching has lost it's touch. The lift card reader wasn't sensitive enough we need to keep trying for several times in order to go up to our room. Wallpaper are torn here and there. TV was an old square box tv which needed major repair. Air conditioning isn't cold enough, I can sleep without any blankets. Room center control doesn't work properly some lights doesn't turn on. My first day there was greeted with power trip in my room & my colleague's room. Another downside is it's internet, though it provide complementary internet access, guest need to go down to the receptionist to request for a password every 24hrs to register. This i think is very inconvenient for guest.

Overall i think this hotel need to beef up if it want to be the best hotel in Kuching again as they're situated in a very strategic location plus the service wise is good, their staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonOon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    62
    19
    18
See reviews for
58
34
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

it was the best before Pullman Hotel enters Kuching. I used to stay there everytime I go to Kuching, the classic design and luxury was just amazing. But the quality somehow decline, the room was dirty, and the wall already got much stain and dirt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakuraG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the this hotel on March 2011 ( cant remember the date ). Located at Padang Merdeka, centre of Kuching Town. Walking distance to Kuching Waterfront Cruise, National Museum and many more. Love this hotel because of the beautiful architecture throughout the hotel. Wonderful breakfast every morning. Great service. Hats Off !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karuppucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on 1st September 2012 and must say that its "worth the stay"! I was booked in a Single Standard room and there was no view but it doesn't matter I am not staying for the view! The room was nice and clean and i like the pillow! The staff at the reception and at the bell counter was very friendly. I was impressed with the the photo collection in the room.Its so classic. I will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for new standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmarShahAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked on line at the Lime Tree, I obviously did'nt look or read the rating very well, as when we arrived at 8pm at The Lime Tree it was not what we expected. My husband insisted I get on the computer and find another Hotel, We took pot luck and booked The Merdeka Palace for our next 2 nights (loosing what we had paid to The Lime Tree), when we arrived at The Merdeka
we were pleasantly surprised, a little old but WOW really like a Palace, the Standard rooms are twice the size of other Hotels, service was fantastic, meals, staff all excellent.
We only ever book into 3 star budget Hotels and they are always good but The Merdeka was like a 5 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms don't have a good view but its as large as an apartment and has a classy fit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel has a very nice lobby. The rest is very very run down. I had booked (and paid) a room in advance and at check in they told me I could choose between a room next to the bar, which would be very noisy or a room with no window. After I insisted on getting a proper room I got one that obviously had not been cleaned.

Try to stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smidgy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Wow! It's the burger at this place that's really wonderfully tasty and satisfying. You must try and you know what I mean. They have at least a dozen different types of burger here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cindybiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 49 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
0.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#12 of 49 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#18 of 49 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#10 of 49 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Property: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Address: Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing