We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Uplift!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs Uplift!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed at the 3-bedroom apartment with friends. Basically the master bedroom has a nice view with river view and with a bathroom ensuite, the second bedroom has a queen bed, but with glass door via living room, so there may not be that much privacy.. The other room has one super single bed. And these two rooms have a common bathroom. There is also a powder room on top of 2 bathrooms.

The kitchenette has a microwave and a kettle, but it was not well equipped with plates or silverwares. Only cups for coffees were available.

One of our friends requested for a baby cot, and the hotel staff said it was on the way. We had to call 3 times after waited for so long, only to be told on the 4th call that they did not have the baby cot..

I would say the service needs a lot of improvement. The housekeeping did not clean up the room well, and not all the towels were changed.

This place needs some uplift as it is very dated... Our room beddings still use those printed quilt which were already faded and it looks like it was from the early 90's...

On the plus side, parking are free, our suite are spacious, and the hotel is at a good location.

Will I come back again? Only if they do some uplifting... the hotel actually has potential.

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllyN_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    79
    80
    26
    27
See reviews for
77
43
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I have stayed here twice now, Both times the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help a single female traveller,the bed was large and comfortable ,bathrooms adequate. room service Fabulous and housekeeping staff were excellent, rooms are serviced daily,sadly the pool area was under reconstrucion on my last visit . On my first visit there had been a mixup with my room so I was given an upgrade to the most beautiful room at no extra cost, I was warmly welcomed back on my second trip and made to feel a valued guest/friend, I lingered long over my breakfast and my coffee was refilled almost as soon as I finished,Overall I would have no hesitation reccomending this hotel to any of my friends

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandii64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A very big mistake I've ever made, stayed for 10days in a 2 bedrooms apartment suite. The moment we walked in the lobby..... WOW.... Splendid, awesome but it all changed the moment we walked to our room... Out the lift.... Carpet was shabby and dirty...... It just changed our mood totally, by the time we walked in our room, I was really choked by the smell and upset with the cleanliness of the room, we requested to change room, our request quickly attended to but the other room was no better but worse with ants all around... We took the first room offered provided it will be cleaned. Hotel staffs agreed. ( not trying to sound fussy but this is not my first time in Kuching, I'm there every year but normally stayed at Riverside Majestic, I should have stay at Riverside Majestic again.) The rates we're offered was more than $300/ pnite that was supposed to include breakfast, when we went for breakfast ( me, my husband and my 9 years old son), my son was charged $29/++ for buffet bfst ( he only ate a croissant and ordered an ice milo for an additional $8.00++ ) . We were told the bfst included was only for 2 person. The room we booked was a 2 bedroom apartment suites for 4 person and the cfmn we got back was " rates included breakfast". ????????????. The cleanliness of the room is nil, the bathroom..terrible...the kitchen stinks...I'm hoping the management do something and don't mislead guests with your 5 or 6 star ratings and also your lobby ( that's what we said ' never judge the book from it's cover"). I will never ever stay there anymore.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is located in a site of an older building which once housed a hotel and office. Located within the older part of Kuching City, the hotel 's location is ideal for those who wish to explore the museum, the heritage buildings and the waterfront which are just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the filed(Padang)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Got a good rate from hrs.com, RM120 nett / night with breakfast for 4 pax for a standard room. Room is quite small, and it's facing a carpark. I didn't expect much as normally rooms up on promo do not offer any view. Hotel looks good grand from the lobby. Breakfast is decent. Love the location, really convenient 5mins drive to Jalan Main Bazaar where u can get all the souvenirs at reasonable price. 5mins drive to Waterfront where u can take a river cruise. You can walk to these places too, just that I'm travelling with 2 young children so I drove. Hotel is just next door to Sarawak Musuem. Great seafood foodcourt at TopSpot, abt 10 mins drive from hotel. I would consider staying at this hotel again for this promo rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is an older style property. We stayed in a superior room which had been renovated and faced onto the Pedang (park). The bed room was a decent size but the bathroom was quite small and just contained a shower. The buffet breakfast was OK but nothing special. There is a large,very English style pub on the second floor but there were no patrons on the three nights we were there.The hotel also has an Italian restaurant. It also has apparently has a pool but it was under renovation. We suspect that it had been under renovation for quite some. The staff are friendly and quite helpful.
The Hotel is a 15 to 20 minute walk to the river where all the 'action' is in Kuching so it is not in a particularly good location. It is also advertised as a 5 star hotel which it is not. Three star would be more accurate.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

It was probably ranked 5 stars when it first opened, but it is now far behind the other hotels. It is really old and definitely not attractive enough.

I stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. The beds were okay, the TVs were from the past century - one small one in the living room and one equally small one in the master bedroom, and the architectural design of one of the rooms was just weird as there was a deep corner which leaves a lot to imagination for those who are easily scared.

The room service was really weird and horrible. The first day we didn't get bath mats. We just made do and the second day, they provided the bath mats, replaced SOME towels and left SOME used towels hanging around. From the third day onwards, the bath mats were removed and never came again and not all towels were replaced.

There's a kitchen in the apartment, but only with microwave oven and kettle. No stove.
One set of sofa sitting for 4 people, even though the apartment accommodates 6 people.
One dining table with seats for 6.
2 bathrooms + 1 toilet (means without bathing facilities)

Breakfast had a narrow range of selection, and mainly Malaysian food provided. Not ideal for Westerners used to the bacon and eggs breakfast.

My transportation was all provided for but I can see that the location of the hotel was not all that ideal as there really isn't any convenient stores or shopping malls nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liangfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 54 in Kuching
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#21 of 54 in Kuching
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 54 in Kuching
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 54 in Kuching
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Property: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing