We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for a King!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I just got back from Kuching after a three night stay from the 29th July till today. It was a memorable stay as the hotel was beautifully crafted, especially the lobby, and nice instrumental music to soothe the salvage beast, after a tiring day sight-seeing/shopping, as you head towards your room. The room is tastely decorated, and moderate in size (Superior Single Room). It has all the amenities you need. The Reception desk people are friendly and ever ready to help you. I left my room card in the room, and I can easily get another one from the Reception desk - no questions asked. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the Aurora Cafe was well designed too. The hotel is conveniently located very near to the heart of the city centre - 10 minutes tops walking distance to the Waterfront, Tourist Information Bureau, the souvenir shopping belt (Main Bazaar), and also the town bus terminal. The hotel overlooks Padang Merdeka.

Overall, a great stay at very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Use the HRS website to get the best rates - it fluctuates like pricing a budget airline fare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skchuadavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

This property is highly over-rated. At best its a 3-1/2 star. Stayed ther 4 nights on vacation. The rooms were in terrible need of upgrades; carpeting very dirty and stained; smells of tobacco smoke even in rooms that were to be non-smoking. Music noise from the pub permeates directly to the rooms in that wing - so avoid that by all means. (we changed rooms after the first hour). Swimming pool area was borderline disgusting. On the plus side, the food was good, especially the Italian restaurant and the buffet breakfasts exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly. Location is great for walking to most local attractions and always plenty of cabs lined up at front of hotel. Overall, I would not stay there again - there are hotels in Kuching fro perhaps marginally more cost.

Room Tip: Do not get a room anywhere in the hotel wing above the Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Check-in and check out were easy; Airport transfers were on time; room was on non-smoking floor and the room was pretty large and well serviced. Free buffet breakfast had a great and much enjoyable spread. Room service was good and you coulkd choose from a wide variety of selections of food in the restaurant. Clean room with modern amenities, free car-park and well looked after. Will surely stay there again. Great value for money

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

we got a good price on-line via agoda for 3 nights booking on the same day. we booked a standard room but got upgraded to a room with a view over the park at the front. the room was huge with a sofa, chair and desk.the bathroom had a separate shower. it was clean and appealing, if a little tired - the wallpaper was showing signs of coming adrift from the wall but the hotel is massive and under-going some major renovations. i think the good rate we got reflected this room which was yet to be renovated. however it was still far superior, more comfortable and clean than the hotel we had been in (the awful Borneo) for very little extra. it has a small swimming pool on the 8th floor which is refreshing after a day in the heat. the public areas are atmospheric and welcoming.
we found the staff very courteous and helpful.
the hotel is very well located, just a short stoll to the river, museums, the chinese area and the bus station (only rm3 each way on the bus to the Orang Utan centre with a rm3 entry fee).

Room Tip: ask for a view of the park,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Merdeka Palace is showing signs of her age and could benefit from the owners spending a bit on her upkeep - eg: water leakage thru windows during a heavy rain & the carpet shows signs that this wasn't the first time. We stayed in a 2 BR suite - If you are interested in having plenty of room for your family then this is the place as it felt like a small house. Beds were great, pillows were good and the foyer area is particularly grand. No cutlery or crockery which is interesting considering there is a kitchen. Position was a bit removed from the heart of town but didn't impact us greatly. Breakfast was complimentary and offered a good variety. Pleasantly surprised that the water quality was fine. Internet was available in the cafe free if you purchased something but only one computer available.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

English colonial-style, that interesting. The lobby is awesome with chandeliers, huge stairs and classic decorations. We are in group of 7adults and since we have babies with us, spacious area help a lot. Our 3 bedrooms suite is located on 16th floor and faces water front and Kuching city scenery, that more sparkling at night. The location is nice, only 10min walking to water front. Also got several museums within walking distance if you not interested in taking taxi. By the way, if needed, the hotel still can easily get you van charter and taxi on the spot, like what we do. Van charter will cost you rm220(from 8am-6pm) and will take you to anywhere you interested with even Serikin Market, the place for shopping-maniac like me. So, take off your worry about transportation here. The staff and the bell boy is really helping. The food is average. In bad view, the hotel look aged (well, the hotel quite old compare another hotel). Poorly the hotel didn't get us the baby cot we ask for even they claim that, 'extra baby cot for free'. Also for not complete kitchenette,only bowls and cups. Overall, another else is great and comfort.

Room Tip: Request the room with water front scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel looks nice and the suite is pretty big with 2 bedrooms. Location is good. We need less than 10 minutes to local restaurants and a 7/11 shop. Not much view for this hotel. It isnt located near the river or jungle but it's nice anyway. The hotel is quite old but constantly renovated as I can see.

Facilities are numerous but the swimming pool needs some improvement. We also have got to pay for the LAN internet (no WiFi) which is very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.7 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
M Hotels
M Hotels
#35 of 55 in Kuching
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $36 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing