We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is my first trip to kuching and staying at the Hilton was an excellent choice. We paid for the riverview rooms and we were simply enchanted with the view. The food at waterfront cafe, toh yuen chinese restaurant and the cafe at the lobby were simply great. Generally, service staff is polite except for a couple of individuals at waterfront cafe who were sullen and went with the tasks nonchantly. They were also a bit slow with clearing the plates. Front Office staff was excellent. I checked in late on friday night and had a late departure on sunday. Sabrina from front desk kindly accorded me complimentary late check-out as she understood my predicament of having elderly parents who needed to rest prior to check-out. The staff at conceirge (I don't remember his name but he is a bespectacled chinese and on the bigger side) who is friendly and pleasant. The doorman and bellhops are very helpful also. Overall, its an excellent hotel and in a very good location too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenya88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    627
    214
    49
    22
See reviews for
258
447
113
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Lobby was modern and appraently renovated. Rooms were dated though, but clean enuf and roomy. Ask for river view rooms and wake up to beautiful scenes every morning.

Transportations is strictly by taxis - usually RM8 to RM15 depends on distance. Meters are not used from what I can tell.

A state with spectacular National Parks, prep some gear if interested in these kinda activities and you won't be disappointed. A local travel agent in Hilton (Journey Travel) made our trip all the more enjoyable by arranging a trip to the Bako Natl Park and taking charge of everything himself.

Hilton is right smack in the middle of the waterfront area and a maximum 20 minutes walk to anywhere in the area. Good base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wOoDpEkEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Königswinter
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

The Hilton is the way they used to build hotels in the late 80s - and some of the furniture and certainly my mattress showed. It is still a good hotel, nice staff, big enough room, clean, all amenities you need and a nice view from the river faced rooms, and a realistic price.
What I did not like was the excessive internet charge (98 MR, about 20 EUR per 24h) and the noise from a club at the other side of the street (my room was facing the other side, not the river).
But, having spent two nights before in the newly opened Pullman, at the same price, I find no reason not to prefer the Pullman, where everything is new, modern, classy, cool. So, as long as the Pullman does not charge twice as much as the Hilton, this is the better choice beyond any doubt.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30degreesminimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

All in all very good. We did not eat or drink at the bar or restaraunt as we were going for the cheap holiday eating at the many hawker stalls around. There was an ice machine on our floor for my make shift bar fridge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffAliceSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

We were really disappointed with the Hilton Kuching. When we arrived at 3.15pm our room wasn't ready and we were asked to wait for an hour for it to be cleaned. We weren't offered any complementary drinks. Our room was on the 'non-smoking' floor but stank of cigarettes and had an ashtray and matches in it. I complained at reception but the only alternative offered was a room with twin beds that would take one hour to prepare. The room was sprayed with air freshner and a de-ioniser helped with the cigarette smell but it was not ideal. On the second day the cigarette smell had gone but it transpired that the smell of smoke had been covering the overpowering smell of dampness which was very noticable every time we entered the room. The hotel in general was nice but a bit dated. We were very impressed with the peking duck in the cantonese restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Excellent service by the frontdesk staff. Arrived hotel quite late from the last flight from KL. Was really looking forward for a quick check-in and get into the room to shower and sleep. Upon arrival, the room check-in was smooth and quick. Even got my room upgraded at no extra charge. The room was really big with a separate lounge. It had a king-size bed which was very comfortable. All the staff from the concierge to the cleaners were excellent. That's what I describe this hotel - excellent!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
313 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

While being in typical Hilton style, the staff really do an outstanding job. I'd suggest spending the extra for the executive lounge access and river view - fantastic. The only negative comment about the executive lounge was during snack time they weren't very good with clearing plates and glasses or prompt refills of drinks. Staff very helpful and prompt about requests. One of the better service levels for Hilton I've experienced.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Hilton Kuching Hotel Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing