We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent location, just across the road from the Waterfront. Check in was a breeze and room size and condition commendable. Do ask for riverside view if possible. Staff very courteous and friendly. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anuar Fawzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Anuar Fawzi A,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    657
    227
    51
    25
See reviews for
273
475
121
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a Conference. The hotel is close to all amenities in downtown Kuching including pubs and restaurants. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Dinner in the restaurant is either a buffet option or al le carte. The buffet is the best option with an excellent range of food including fresh fish and it is changed regularly. Breakfast is also very good with an extensive selection. One slight negative is the bar, the bar at the pool would be a much better alternative if it stayed open later.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Daragh H,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly beside the Kuching Riverfront. The hotel rooms look quite old but have been well maintained. The room rate is reasonable but the phone charge is incredibly high so be careful when you make phone calls by using hotel phones.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jingdong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Jingdong Y,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location and the river view rooms are worth it! Good location near the river and walking distance to sites and restaurants. Rooms are large and perhaps a little dated, but spotlessly clean and a very friendly and accoomdating staff. Bathrooms probably in need of a renovation. Breakfast pretty good selection and the steak house had an excellent Western set menu.

Good choice for business and/or leisure and I will go back at some stage.

Room Tip: Make sure you get river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigandSculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear CraigandSculli,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was here for 4 nights to attend a conference. The hotel is located in downtown Kuching right by the river. It is close to restaurants, local shopping, etc.

I booked a suite on purpose as I wanted a two-room option so that I could work some USA-based hours while my partner would be able to sleep in the other room. The room was quite large but "under decorated". It felt a little cavernous with a lack of anything on the walls to help fill the room. The main room had a couch, table, chair, flat-screen TV and a desk. The bedroom had a very comfortable bed, second desk, second flat-screen, closet and dresser. The bathroom was quite large with a separate shower and tub, toilet area but a single sink. At least the counter was large enough for two people to store their stuff.

A few things to note...

*We had to change rooms on arrival. The first room we were given had an air conditioner that wasn't quite cooling the room. About an hour later (after maintenance was up trying to fix it) they shifted us to a new room. Not a big deal, but a tad on the slow side in addressing the issue. However, they did make it right with no debating needed.

*The closets are, by design of what appears to be an older property, small. When our clothes were hanging, the door closed with no room between the clothes and the door. It just felt "cramped".

*The in-room safe is a little tricky. Instead of a standard 4-digit code the system required several steps to set a 6-digit code and several steps to open it. In all my travels, I haven't struggled that much to lock something in a safe :)

*We ate dinner at "SH" one night (the Steak House). We had 8 in our party and were given the private room right off the main entrance. While the food was quite good, the service was extremely slow. We started at 6:30 and didn't get out of there until 9:30...

*The gym was "ok". I like to lift and I need to remind myself this is a hotel and they have to cater to a variety of guests. They have 1 bench, free weights that max out at 50 pounds, a multipurpose machine and 3 treadmills. I was able to get a good workout in, there just isn't a lot of room if more than 3 people want to be in there at the same time. Also, the water is not cold in the machine.....yuck. I prefer cold water when sweating but that is just me.

*Coffee shop on the main level is pretty good. After only a day and a half, the servers had already memorized my order.

*I also had breakfast and lunch in the main buffet restaurant. The food was just OK. Many times it was a tad on the cold side. That being said, the room service pepperoni pizza was AMAZING. A great kick in the spice of the pepperoni that was a nice surprise.

Overall, an acceptable Hilton. If necessary I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_In_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Holiday with my parents in Hilton Kuching in April 2013.
Stayed in city-viewed deluxe room, due to unavailability of river-view room. It would be wonderful if stay in river-view room where you can see the sunset, the river-activity, etc
Room - nice bed, spacious
Cafe - good, various selection of food during breakfast
Room service - appreciate if the hotel could add more to its menu
Housekeeping - staff is good, efficient, helpful.
Cleanliness - overall good
Hotel location - good, near the Cat Monument, fast food restaurants, convenience store.
Nice walkway at the back of the hotel towards the riverfront.
Arrived at the hotel at near 1pm, but was asked to wait a while and only allowed to enter the room at 3pm.
Overall - GOOD!
Would stay in Hilton for next trip.

Walked along the river to Sarawak River Cruise jetty. Nice one!

Walking distance to Restoran Tumis (just walk across from the lobby).. loved its Pisang Cheese (banana fritters sprinkled with cheese and sweetened milk) and Fried Kuay Teow.

Walking distance to Top Spot Food Court (seafood stalls).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azian2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Azian2575,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for just a couple of nights but found the hotel to be very good.

Location - very central in town and within easy walking distance of many restaurants and shops. It was about 20 minutes from the airport and nothing was too far away.

Room - Very good. Nice and comfortable, with all expected amenities and a good shower. I was lucky enough to have a room which overlooked the river which was great!

Hotel - felt nice and modern The staff were very impressive and there was a range of good places to eat. The pool was good. Sadly i didn't use the gym so can't comment. Taxi's were easy to come by if required and generally the hotel felt very comfortable.

Overall a very good hotel which performed well in every area. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jamsimsafc,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to hear that you found the location and the amenities of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,964 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Hilton Kuching Hotel Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing