We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel.”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Hotel.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Kuching is a great little city and the Hilton is a nice place to base your visit. It is right across the street from the river walk and there are a ton of great shops and restaurants nearby.

Rooms are quite nice and very clean. The restaurant is nice. The bar is fun -- especially if you go one of the nights the lounge act is in town, though beer is pricey.

Only downside of the hotel -- no wireless in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby to use wireless internet. But I would stay here again

Room Tip: River views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear RoadWarrior-FL,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying with us in the Trip Advisor. I am glad that you found the location and the amenities of the property to your liking.

Complimentary wifi services is available in the lobby and all restaurants except in the guest room whereby a nominal fee is applicable.

Hope to see you soon! Safe travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    665
    231
    54
    26
See reviews for
281
481
126
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The check in was not that quite great but it was expected since there were loads of guests about. What was shocking was that one of my staff was given a smoking room (we requested for a non smoking - sighhhh) and when she entered her room her so called room had another male guest sitting in "her" room smoking. When we went to the reception to report this to an Indian lady attending to her made a quick change of her room and I did not hear any apology. Surely this is one of the worst mistakea any hotel can make and a simple apology would have been nice.

Waiting for the lifts is another nightmare. We had to wait a long time for the lifts.

My rating of poor was based on the incident with the room as I view this as a serious error.

Room Tip: High floor with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Rosalia D,

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were unhappy with your room assignment during your recent trip. I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team. I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kuching city,

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stay here for 4 nights in executive club room with nice river view.
Check in and check out was efficient.
Good service but little disappointed with club lounge.
I really enjoy the live music with "faces"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT06095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear TT06095,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found the location and service level of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon, Safe Travels,

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The management and Team members were fantastic. Great hospitality given during my stay. The room had a fantastic view of the water front and the Dun!! Hats off the f&b and kitchen team!!! will definitely return to the Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jaffery O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jaffery O,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us at the Hilton Kuching.

I am very happy and glad that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

The entire team and I look forward to an opportunity soon to welcome you back.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Hilton Kuching which was well located along the river and in the middle of the city. We found the staff to be very helpful, the room had a great view of the river and can recommend the travel agency located in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Stuart W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the location of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hilton Hotel's services are simply excellent. One is cared for from the moment one steps into the lobby right up to the day when one leaves the hotel to return home. The services provided makes a person feel at home. Comfort and safety is felt and seen at all times. As an aviation company Firefly have always opted for the best in care and comfort for it's crew members - Flight Crew comprising of both Tech Crew and Cabin Crew. Breakfast, Lunch, Tea or Dinner is served with a combination of scrumptious and delicious food from different parts of the world. Tasty and Fresh, Hilton has always remained as a front runner on food hygiene and culinary expertise. I have experienced chef's culinary presentation from different parts of the world. Hilton hotels has always provided us, it's clients to savour, experience and taste luxurious and delicious food from all parts of the world and this is truly an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nik Fazirudean ... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Nik Fazirudean.. K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for five nights over New Years Eve etc.

Generally very happy with the experience, had booked a very good (but "No refund") deal direct with the Hotel choosing a "Twin Room with spectacular River View". However, on checking in, was told "No Riverview rooms available". Luckily I had taken a screenshot of my booking details which clearly showed the Riverview room as a specific grade of room, not subject to availability, which had in any case been confirmed. The problem was solved without delay by the Reception staff, and we were allocated a room "with Spectacular River View" on the 11th (Executive) floor.

That attempt to put us into an inferior room was the only poor event of our stay.

Our room was very nice (but still no free wifi) , excellent bathroom amenties,tea.coffee,etc with a great river view and we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in our room on New Years Eve expecting to get a good view of the fireworks, but they were more of a damp squib. What was excellent however, was our New Years Eve dinner which we got from Room Service. Perfectly prepared and excellently presented. (see pics).

Other than Room Service, we took a "High Tea"' Buffet at the Waterfront Cafe which was good at approx RM50 (GBP10) each.

As has been noted before, the hotel is in an excellent location within a short walk of Malls, Restaurants,Banks,etc.

We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Vetus

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Hilton Kuching.

Our sincere apologies for not being able to accord the specified room type immediately upon check in. Complimentary wifi services is available in the lobby and all restaurants except in the guest room whereby a nominal fee is applicable.

The entire team and I look forward to an opportunity soon to welcome you back.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing