We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding restaurant manager morning of 3rd July 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Bintulu, Malaysia
1 review
“Outstanding restaurant manager morning of 3rd July 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

When i dine in for breakfast on the 3rd of July, one lady staff i think the head of restaurant or captain very friendly. She greets some of the hotel guests including me. Sorry i can't remember the name but i want to thank her for brighten up my day. Well done Hilton Kuching.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chok Pang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Miget to know that she contributed to your enjoyment.

We hope to see you again soon.


With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    626
    213
    49
    22
See reviews for
257
445
113
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked this hotel because of it's great location, it is very near to the waterfront. Me and my friend stay here for two nights, we reach the hotel at 1.30pm and we have a fast early check-in by friendly smilling front desk staff. We discover that an unpleasant smells when we enter our room, since the hotel are aged, they should do something regarding on this matter. Our room are spacious and facing the river, so we got a good view of the river and places around. We found that the buffet breakfast are great, there are many delicacies from local, western to japanese food to choose. One great dissapointment is regarding to their internet and wifi, they should have free wifi access instead of charging hotel guest for it for high price. We will stay this hotel again next time and we hope that the hotel management will take proper action on the unpleasant smells in the room and of course the wifi matter.

Room Tip: Choose a room that facing the Sarawak river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chikch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the opportunity with your guest room. I often times utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations and I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel team and we are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms and also working on improving our internet services.

I appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Kuching.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

It speaks for itself that we have returned so many times.We always find all of the staff friendly and helpful. This year we stayed for the whole of March on the Executve floor and we were completely spoilt. The lounge was very pleasant and Marshall,Rachid ,Hellen and Pamela looked after us very well. Where does Marshall get his energy from ? Our room on the thirteenth floor gave us stunning views. We always had breakfast in the Waterfront . The selection for breakfast is amazing with a choice of Western or Asian food and a very good selection of fruit. If pineapple or papaya (my wife and my favourites) had run out Simon always managed to find some. The front desk staff especially Jasmine and Sabrina are always cheerful and helpful. We hope to return again in March next year.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan lusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let the Front Office and Kitchen team to know that they contributed to your enjoyment.

We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights during a church retreat. Location was great as it was facing the river and within walking distance to Plaza Medeka (10 mins) and many eateries. Room was Hilton standard which was dark-coloured but cosy, and contained the necessary amenities, eg toilettries, hair-dryer, coffee/tea. If you require bedroom slippers or dental kit, you need to call for room service. Unfortunately I was assigned room 618 which had a smelly toilet despite how much perfume I sprayed. The other rooms that I visited were fine. As my room faced the river, the view was fantastic. All our meals were catered by the hotel and generally quite tasty but sometimes the food came out too salty. These were quickly rectified by the chef in subsequent refills. Service staff were polite and quick to respond to our requests. The only grouse is that wifi was not available in the room even if you want to pay for it, and the wifi at the Waterfront Cafe, which was complimentary, was non-existent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river also get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tragedy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again.

Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.


With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Requested for non smoking room (Mare Fareday was the GSO at FO). Instead got a room on 9th floor. Did not realise how bad it was till evening when my head went wuzzy. It did not bade well.
however being able to catch snippets of sunrise and sunset from the window was a poor compensation. Comparing room sizing and facilities, Hilton KL Sentral beats this hands down. Bandung property is similar. Walking distance to waterfront and a good ten minute walk from plaza merdeka - route was filled with small souvenir shops. walking distance to the shopping mall attached to the Pullman, opposite to tune hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. For non smokers it should be on floors 5 to 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We strive to accomodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of an escorted tour. The hotel has an air of serenity. The rooms are fabulous and staff could not do enough for us. Dodging the bats and listening to the birds and animals was very resting

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Batang Ai Longhouse Resort. Hope to see you return in the near future.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire. England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton as part of a tour of Borneo. Not a lot of bad things to say really. The hotel is what you would expect. Smart clean rooms, friendly staff. The location is excellent right on the river so great for a night time walk with the locals. The restaurants and drinks are very expensive as you would expect. Plenty of great eating places around the river area where the drinks prices were a lot more acceptable. The pool area was very good and the staff there so helpful.
Just two points which could of improved the stay. The Wi-Fi coverage is very poor so this could be improved. The waiting time for checking in and out took an age so more staff in that area please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review.

We are very sorry that your check-in experience was undesirable and we have addressed this matter with our team. We are also working on improving our Wi-Fi service and hope to rectify it soon.

We appreciate your comments and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Hilton Kuching Hotel Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing