We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our eighth visit.”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our eighth visit.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It speaks for itself that we have returned so many times.We always find all of the staff friendly and helpful. This year we stayed for the whole of March on the Executve floor and we were completely spoilt. The lounge was very pleasant and Marshall,Rachid ,Hellen and Pamela looked after us very well. Where does Marshall get his energy from ? Our room on the thirteenth floor gave us stunning views. We always had breakfast in the Waterfront . The selection for breakfast is amazing with a choice of Western or Asian food and a very good selection of fruit. If pineapple or papaya (my wife and my favourites) had run out Simon always managed to find some. The front desk staff especially Jasmine and Sabrina are always cheerful and helpful. We hope to return again in March next year.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan lusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let the Front Office and Kitchen team to know that they contributed to your enjoyment.

We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    657
    227
    51
    25
See reviews for
273
475
121
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights during a church retreat. Location was great as it was facing the river and within walking distance to Plaza Medeka (10 mins) and many eateries. Room was Hilton standard which was dark-coloured but cosy, and contained the necessary amenities, eg toilettries, hair-dryer, coffee/tea. If you require bedroom slippers or dental kit, you need to call for room service. Unfortunately I was assigned room 618 which had a smelly toilet despite how much perfume I sprayed. The other rooms that I visited were fine. As my room faced the river, the view was fantastic. All our meals were catered by the hotel and generally quite tasty but sometimes the food came out too salty. These were quickly rectified by the chef in subsequent refills. Service staff were polite and quick to respond to our requests. The only grouse is that wifi was not available in the room even if you want to pay for it, and the wifi at the Waterfront Cafe, which was complimentary, was non-existent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river also get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tragedy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again.

Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.


With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Requested for non smoking room (Mare Fareday was the GSO at FO). Instead got a room on 9th floor. Did not realise how bad it was till evening when my head went wuzzy. It did not bade well.
however being able to catch snippets of sunrise and sunset from the window was a poor compensation. Comparing room sizing and facilities, Hilton KL Sentral beats this hands down. Bandung property is similar. Walking distance to waterfront and a good ten minute walk from plaza merdeka - route was filled with small souvenir shops. walking distance to the shopping mall attached to the Pullman, opposite to tune hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. For non smokers it should be on floors 5 to 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We strive to accomodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of an escorted tour. The hotel has an air of serenity. The rooms are fabulous and staff could not do enough for us. Dodging the bats and listening to the birds and animals was very resting

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Batang Ai Longhouse Resort. Hope to see you return in the near future.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire. England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton as part of a tour of Borneo. Not a lot of bad things to say really. The hotel is what you would expect. Smart clean rooms, friendly staff. The location is excellent right on the river so great for a night time walk with the locals. The restaurants and drinks are very expensive as you would expect. Plenty of great eating places around the river area where the drinks prices were a lot more acceptable. The pool area was very good and the staff there so helpful.
Just two points which could of improved the stay. The Wi-Fi coverage is very poor so this could be improved. The waiting time for checking in and out took an age so more staff in that area please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review.

We are very sorry that your check-in experience was undesirable and we have addressed this matter with our team. We are also working on improving our Wi-Fi service and hope to rectify it soon.

We appreciate your comments and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

i went to hilton kuching few days ago for lunch i found out that the air con at the lobby is not functioning well ... kuching is quite a hot city ... i wish that the air con at the lobby there will be improve for my next visit ... i went to 360 hotel and also pullman so far there lobby is quite good and cold but hilton kuching makes me feel quite disappointed .. a 5 stars hotel like this should look into small matter like this ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bee123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are very sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of facilities you deserved during your recent stay.

We apologize for the malfunctioning of the air-conditioning system and our maintenance team has since rectified it.

We hope that you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to Kuching.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This Hotel is very well situated with easy access to the waterfront area and to local restaurants. The hotel was neat and clean. The corridors, lobby areas and our room were spacious. The buffet style breakfast catered for western and eastern palates. One big gripe was the atrocious coffee. This was a problem throughout Kuching.We didn't use the in house restaurants but the advertised prices indicated they were quite expensive compared to local restaurants such as Bla Bla Bla and the Junk. The river view rooms provide exquisite views of the sunset. The front staff desk were excellent; polite and very helpful. One problem was our faulty in-room safe that the hotel couldn't fix. A minor gripe was that wireless internet was only available in the lobby, and quite slow.Overall, a very positive experience. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quazoosle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

In regards to the in-room safe not working in your room, I've worked with maintenance to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner.

Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to Kuching.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,964 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Hilton Kuching Hotel Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing