We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Requested for non smoking room (Mare Fareday was the GSO at FO). Instead got a room on 9th floor. Did not realise how bad it was till evening when my head went wuzzy. It did not bade well.
however being able to catch snippets of sunrise and sunset from the window was a poor compensation. Comparing room sizing and facilities, Hilton KL Sentral beats this hands down. Bandung property is similar. Walking distance to waterfront and a good ten minute walk from plaza merdeka - route was filled with small souvenir shops. walking distance to the shopping mall attached to the Pullman, opposite to tune hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. For non smokers it should be on floors 5 to 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We strive to accomodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of an escorted tour. The hotel has an air of serenity. The rooms are fabulous and staff could not do enough for us. Dodging the bats and listening to the birds and animals was very resting

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Batang Ai Longhouse Resort. Hope to see you return in the near future.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton as part of a tour of Borneo. Not a lot of bad things to say really. The hotel is what you would expect. Smart clean rooms, friendly staff. The location is excellent right on the river so great for a night time walk with the locals. The restaurants and drinks are very expensive as you would expect. Plenty of great eating places around the river area where the drinks prices were a lot more acceptable. The pool area was very good and the staff there so helpful.
Just two points which could of improved the stay. The Wi-Fi coverage is very poor so this could be improved. The waiting time for checking in and out took an age so more staff in that area please.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review.

We are very sorry that your check-in experience was undesirable and we have addressed this matter with our team. We are also working on improving our Wi-Fi service and hope to rectify it soon.

We appreciate your comments and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

i went to hilton kuching few days ago for lunch i found out that the air con at the lobby is not functioning well ... kuching is quite a hot city ... i wish that the air con at the lobby there will be improve for my next visit ... i went to 360 hotel and also pullman so far there lobby is quite good and cold but hilton kuching makes me feel quite disappointed .. a 5 stars hotel like this should look into small matter like this ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We are very sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of facilities you deserved during your recent stay.

We apologize for the malfunctioning of the air-conditioning system and our maintenance team has since rectified it.

We hope that you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to Kuching.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This Hotel is very well situated with easy access to the waterfront area and to local restaurants. The hotel was neat and clean. The corridors, lobby areas and our room were spacious. The buffet style breakfast catered for western and eastern palates. One big gripe was the atrocious coffee. This was a problem throughout Kuching.We didn't use the in house restaurants but the advertised prices indicated they were quite expensive compared to local restaurants such as Bla Bla Bla and the Junk. The river view rooms provide exquisite views of the sunset. The front staff desk were excellent; polite and very helpful. One problem was our faulty in-room safe that the hotel couldn't fix. A minor gripe was that wireless internet was only available in the lobby, and quite slow.Overall, a very positive experience. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quazoosle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

In regards to the in-room safe not working in your room, I've worked with maintenance to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner.

Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to Kuching.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Exactly what you would expect. Large clean rooms, efficient staff and good (expensive) places to eat. My only niggle is that wi-fi is only available in the lobby (and I couldn't even get a connection there).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return soon. Safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed for two nights towards the end of May and beginning of June, 2012. The room was booked directly through the Hilton website for a King Riverview Suite and they had quite a good rate on at that time, which often happens with Hilton properties.


Arrival

I transferred from the Limetree in Kuching using their shuttle bus and was dropped off at the Hilton. There was help provided with the luggage. The reception member seemed a little formal and officious at first but then warmed up as the check-in process proceeded.


The Room

The rooms have recently been renovated and I found the suite to be quite ‘Hilton-like’ upon entry. It appeared modern and looked like what I would expect a Hilton room to look. It was also a large suite, basically being two standard rooms joined together with a connecting door, one room served as the bedroom and the other was the living room. The room was clean but there were definite signs of wear-and-tear throughout and some of the furniture cabinets also didn’t appear to be well finished and fitted.

The bed was definitely designed and set up in a typical Hilton manner with the pillows for example being set up as usual, although I do think that Hilton use too many pillows in their typical set-up. The comfort level was also at a Hilton standard and it wasn’t too hard to fall asleep on it.

There was one main bathroom and a separate toilet/vanity room in the living area. They were both quite nice and luxuriously appointed and well-cleaned but seemed to be on the small side. Toiletries provided were the good-quality Peter Thomas Roth brand.

The room did not come with any complimentary wi-fi access in the room, as is usual in Hilton properties and that’s something that I would hope they could change in future. Both TVs in the suite were very large but there was a problem switching on the main one and I had to ask for technical help, it took about 10 minutes to solve the problem.

There was a very nice view from the room, allowing a wide expansive view and from a high vantage point looking out over the Sarawak River and giving a view of the buildings located in the northern part of Kuching, including The Astana and the Sarawak State Legislative Assembly Building, which is a particularly impressive sight at night.

Please note that I have videos of the room available through the link in my profile section.


Location

I found the hotel to be very conveniently located in the centre of the town, being close to the waterfront which serves as one of the main tourist attractions in Kuching on its own right. There were also a few good dining outlets nearby and one of the main attractions is the Top Spot Foodcourt, which is an open-air but covered foodcourt with a wide variety of fresh seafood selections available. There are also a few well-known dining locations along the river, mentioned in many guidebooks, such as Khatulistiwa.

In terms of shopping options, most of the newer shopping centres are located some distance away and can best be accessed via taxi but there are a few older shopping centres within walking distance and the main ones are the Sarawak Plaza and the Tun Jugah Shopping Mall, which also has a Parksons onsite (a department store). There’s also the Hills Shopping Centre at the base of the Pullman nearby but that’s relatively empty and mainly good for dining outlets in my experience. Plaza Merdeka is within walking distance but not really close and it’s probably the best and newest shopping centre nearby with the most comprehensive range of shops.


Public Areas and Facilities

I didn’t try many of the dining outlets onsite, as I wasn’t onsite most of the time and my rate came with executive lounge access, which I found provided just enough snacks and bites. I found the lounge staff to be friendly and welcoming but the food there was not really outstanding in terms of quality. The staff will make fresh coffees and teas but the food selection seemed limited in the evening and the quality not outstanding. They did have certain times for serving tea and then it was mostly just small snacks available in between.

I spent a fair amount of time in the executive lounge and found the general facilities to be reasonable; there was complimentary wi-fi access available, which was not the case in the room where it’s chargeable at the equivalent of USD20 per day. Otherwise, complimentary internet wi-fi access would also be available in the lobby and the coffee house located there. The quality of the lounge overall did not compare to that of the Le Meridien in Kota Kinabalu, which was another executive lounge that I’d seen in East Malaysia shortly before. The quality and choice of dining, entertainment and office equipment as well as the general level of quality and feel of Hilton’s lounge just lags slightly behind. Being more of a business hotel, though, the executive lounge here was quiet with not too many people around most of the time and I never saw any children there. Also, the view from the lounge could compete with the one from the Le Meridien in Kota Kinabalu with wide and expansive coverage of the Sarawak River.

I tried a warm sandwich at the Caffe Cino coffee house in the lobby and found the level of service to be quite different from that in the lounge, it was far less polite and the food took a while to come as well and wasn’t the best. It was also quite expensive. I can understand where previous reviews are coming from, when mentioning the patchy service levels in the hotel. I’ve had dinner at the Chinese restaurant Toh Yuen at another time and found the ambience to be pleasant and the Chinese food to be authentic and pleasing. Perhaps the hotel just doesn’t place equal emphasis on service in all areas and locations of the hotel.


Staff

The staff I encountered were mostly friendly and efficient with the executive lounge staff being the standout. The doorman was also friendly. The service at the Caffe Cino was hasty and probably could be better in terms of conveying a sense of hospitality.


Conclusion

I had a pleasing stay here and all-round, it’s the best of the hotels that I’ve tried in Kuching, besting the Pullman and the Four Points Sheraton, which to be fair are not meant to be in the same category. The room standard, service levels on the whole and the quality of the public facilities here were all of a high standard. The rates here can also be excellent when any promotions are running.


NOTE: I have a video of parts of the hotel, which can be found through the link in my profile section.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for the extensive review and we hope to see you return to Hilton Kuching.

Safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $54 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing