We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well seasoned hotel”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well seasoned hotel”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's a well known and established hotel in Kuching but never fails to cater to your needs even to the smallest details. Being a Muslim that requires us to perform our prayers 5 times a day, I would normally bring my own prayer mat or even request for one when am traveling and staying at hotels. However, Hilton Kuching, impressed me by sending to my room their lush prayer mat without even requesting for it. And it's done immediately after I've checked-in to the room.

Small deed, goes a long way....

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Azura,

Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at Hilton Kuching.

I am very happy to hear that our team took such good care of you and you found the service levels to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    658
    227
    52
    25
See reviews for
275
478
123
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've stayed at the Hilton many time before this, and I am very happy to say that this was our best stayed. This hotel has one of the most gorgeous view of Kuching. Watching the small boats floating on the river from our room especially at sunrise and sun set was just absolutely amazing. The room was large and immaculate plus there's also get an evening turndown. The bed is very comfortable and the room is quiet. Breakfast buffet is complete with both Western and local hot food. The Executive Lounge cocktail hour is absolutely wonderful. Food and drink are tasty and the staff are very attentive, especially Rashid. He always made sure that we have everything that we need. For example, being in Malaysia, we did not want to missed the Super Bowl and Rashid and the front desk staff was very kind as to set it up so that we can watch it at 7am in the sport lounge. Then there was the Lion dance for the Chinese New Year which was a great performance if not the best in town. As for the location, this is a 5-10 minutes walk to the mall, grocery stores, and local market. You will find that the people in Kuching are diverse, understand English well, and very easy going. As for long term stayed, Valerie is the go to person. We've actually went around and look at 5 local similar price range hotels before deciding on the Hilton because Valerie gave us a great deal on it. And we are very glad that we've chosen the Hilton.

All in all this was a very pleasant stayed. The only thing that this hotel needs to improve on is faster internet and wifi available in the room This Hilton has went beyond my expectation of a Hilton. With the best view and service, we would definitely come back to this Hilton again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kn003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear kn003

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for your very positive comments on TripAdvisor. I will definitely share your good comments with my team, especially Rashid. You were fortunate to have had the opportunity to witness the lion dance in our lobby which is held once a year during Chinese New Year.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hlton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel although they have been there from what I heard was long long time ago, the service they gave to the visitors is properly maintained without any problem.

Being Hilton an international chain hotel, they deserve to get high class room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venkiteshsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Venkiteshsam

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for your very positive comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmingon
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

In Kuching for a few days, my companion and I fancied a ‘western’ light supper one night, so we dropped into the Hilton Hotel’s Waterfront café shortly before 10pm. We ordered our food and a beer, and in due course they arrived.

The only problem was – the chefs and restaurant staff also arrived, to clear away the buffet from earlier in the evening, and to set the tables for the following morning’s breakfast. The clanking and clearing noises were awful, and quite outrageous for a hotel which claims international standards.

We should have complained, of course, but we simply finished our meal, paid and left. So… if you’re in Kuching and like the idea of a late snack, avoid the Hilton. Try the James Brooke instead, a pleasant little oasis by comparison, further down the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Peterdenton

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful to have you as our patrons at our Waterfront Cafe and at the same time please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Hilton is a great hotel to stay at when in Kuching. Rooms go for about $110 per night, are spacious, very clean and modern, and include an excellent breakfast buffet. The best feature of the hotel is that it is right on the river, so it is easy to do the few things there are to do in Kuching: a boat ride, a walk, shopping. The pool could use a little investment to make it much better: adding more umbrellas and chairs (there are only about 12 chairs and 5 umbrellas). I found the staff to be very pleasant and the restaurants to be good. .

Room Tip: Get a River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear robertli1234

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We have also taken note of your feedback with regards to furnitures at the pool and we thank you for it.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathlamet
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from a 5 wk trip of SE Asia, we stayed at the Kuching Hilton for 5 days on the Executive Lounge level. This means you get breakfast cooked to order in lounge, tea (sandwiches and cakes) 3-5 PM and free drinks and snacks 6-8 PM. It is such good value to do this at the Kuching Hilton. Additionally the Hilton is right in the center of things, and right on the Sarawak river. So handy to go on a river cruise, or cross to Fort Margerite historical site, also right by the iconic "Parliment building".

We had a huge room w/living room, view of town, although I think we could have had a view of river if we just asked. Our room was so nice I didn't want to change it. The only downside to being at executive level is that you get so much food, you really don't want to go out to dinner?!

It is a problem, because street food in Malaysia is fabulous, clean/safe to eat and dirt cheap. The fancy mall a few blocks away had a 4th floor food court to die for...every choice of food you could imagine and $2 to $3 dollars US bought you anything you wanted. Now there are more expensive restaurants, but frankly the street food is so super, we just don't bother with them when we are in Malaysia.

Room Tip: If I went again, I would ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moiraann_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Moiraann_7

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely room, lovely food, lovely staff. But that's no excuse for squeezing customers out of every last penny.

Im not a cheap skate by no means, Im wealthy and love to spend money on holidays. I have visited almost every country in Asia and not once have I had to pay to use the internet. But oh noooo, not at the Hilton. The so called "best of the best" left me really angry. To top it off, the speed of the connection is truly woeful, it took more than 10 minutes to download a youtube video that was 4 minutes long.

Apart from that I would say its a lovely place. But really, in this day and age, the Hilton should not be trying to pull this kind of stunt on their patrons. I wont be staying in another Hilton hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Wayne,

We appreciate your feedback on the speed and cost of our internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. We are currently working with our service provider and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is now available at our lobby and restaurants for our house guests.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing