We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel. Long establishment”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel although they have been there from what I heard was long long time ago, the service they gave to the visitors is properly maintained without any problem.

Being Hilton an international chain hotel, they deserve to get high class room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venkiteshsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Venkiteshsam

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for your very positive comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmingon
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

In Kuching for a few days, my companion and I fancied a ‘western’ light supper one night, so we dropped into the Hilton Hotel’s Waterfront café shortly before 10pm. We ordered our food and a beer, and in due course they arrived.

The only problem was – the chefs and restaurant staff also arrived, to clear away the buffet from earlier in the evening, and to set the tables for the following morning’s breakfast. The clanking and clearing noises were awful, and quite outrageous for a hotel which claims international standards.

We should have complained, of course, but we simply finished our meal, paid and left. So… if you’re in Kuching and like the idea of a late snack, avoid the Hilton. Try the James Brooke instead, a pleasant little oasis by comparison, further down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Peterdenton

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful to have you as our patrons at our Waterfront Cafe and at the same time please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Hilton is a great hotel to stay at when in Kuching. Rooms go for about $110 per night, are spacious, very clean and modern, and include an excellent breakfast buffet. The best feature of the hotel is that it is right on the river, so it is easy to do the few things there are to do in Kuching: a boat ride, a walk, shopping. The pool could use a little investment to make it much better: adding more umbrellas and chairs (there are only about 12 chairs and 5 umbrellas). I found the staff to be very pleasant and the restaurants to be good. .

Room Tip: Get a River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear robertli1234

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay. We have also taken note of your feedback with regards to furnitures at the pool and we thank you for it.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from a 5 wk trip of SE Asia, we stayed at the Kuching Hilton for 5 days on the Executive Lounge level. This means you get breakfast cooked to order in lounge, tea (sandwiches and cakes) 3-5 PM and free drinks and snacks 6-8 PM. It is such good value to do this at the Kuching Hilton. Additionally the Hilton is right in the center of things, and right on the Sarawak river. So handy to go on a river cruise, or cross to Fort Margerite historical site, also right by the iconic "Parliment building".

We had a huge room w/living room, view of town, although I think we could have had a view of river if we just asked. Our room was so nice I didn't want to change it. The only downside to being at executive level is that you get so much food, you really don't want to go out to dinner?!

It is a problem, because street food in Malaysia is fabulous, clean/safe to eat and dirt cheap. The fancy mall a few blocks away had a 4th floor food court to die for...every choice of food you could imagine and $2 to $3 dollars US bought you anything you wanted. Now there are more expensive restaurants, but frankly the street food is so super, we just don't bother with them when we are in Malaysia.

Room Tip: If I went again, I would ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moiraann_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Moiraann_7

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely room, lovely food, lovely staff. But that's no excuse for squeezing customers out of every last penny.

Im not a cheap skate by no means, Im wealthy and love to spend money on holidays. I have visited almost every country in Asia and not once have I had to pay to use the internet. But oh noooo, not at the Hilton. The so called "best of the best" left me really angry. To top it off, the speed of the connection is truly woeful, it took more than 10 minutes to download a youtube video that was 4 minutes long.

Apart from that I would say its a lovely place. But really, in this day and age, the Hilton should not be trying to pull this kind of stunt on their patrons. I wont be staying in another Hilton hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Wayne,

We appreciate your feedback on the speed and cost of our internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. We are currently working with our service provider and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is now available at our lobby and restaurants for our house guests.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location across the road from the river and evening waterfront cafe style restaurants. On check in we were offered an upgrade for $20AUD per night for a river view room - well worth the money. The pool was very relaxing. The staff were always very helpful. The hotel is close to the bazaar and restaurants. Top Spot is the best place to eat with lots of stalls selling fresh seafood. Make sure that you go and see the Orangutans at Semonggok and go on a river cruise.

Room Tip: Upgade to a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Ros,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hilton Kuching. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them.

I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights there recently. very convenient location, views from the executive was awesome! Service was great. Pillows in room a bit soft though. Hope the twin rooms would come with long bath too. Would be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workingmumsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $59 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing