We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My partner and i visited Borneo and stayed in the city, jungle and beach . The Hilton in Kuching (city) was excellent, clean, fashionalble with amazing views of the river and temples. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, they might all have one, I am not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsPSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching. Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team at the Hilton Kuching look forward welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    665
    231
    54
    26
See reviews for
281
481
126
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Three nights at this hotel. Try to get a room overlooking the river – it is well worth it. Rooms could do with a little updating. Shower is over the bath but otherwise room was comfortable but probably not up to the standard one would expect from a Hilton. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river provide an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We have taken note of your feedback and we thank your for it.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Kuching for a week. We really appreciated our stay.
We had 2 connecting rooms at the 8th floor with a terrific view on the Sarawak river. We spent a lot of time looking at sunshines and sunsets from the room.
The rooms were newly decorated and well equipped. It was nice to come back in the room after a day to trudge around Kuching and spend good nights in comfy beds.
We had breakfast at the hotel everyday. The breakfast was generous and excellent.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Although small the pool is pleasant and relaxing.
All these commendable are tempered by the exorbitant price of Internet access. The price of a one day access at the Hilton costs a month of access in France (and I have the phone and TV included). There wasn't any free wifi access in the lobby too.
Despite this inconvenience, the Hilton Kuching really worth the stay.

Funny story, while we were at the hotel the Prime Minister of Malaysia came to sleep at the hotel. The red carpet was out and all the staff very caring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Sarawak river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yokozuna_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay. As regards to internet charges, currently there is a contractual obligation with our vendor in the manner internet is charged, but we recognise the growing demand for a better deal and will address this as soon as the opportunity arises.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Pros: The hotel staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean and relatively spacious. The breakfast buffet spread is delicious.Must tries are the sarawak laksa and nasi lemak. The hotel map and conceirge is also informative and knowledgeable. The hotel is also centrally located so its close to most of the attractions. We went on Hari Raya Haji and the friendly staff was dressed up in their traditional costumes. It was a welcome change for us to experience the holiday spirit. They also allowed for late check-out to accomodate the timing of our flight which was a very nice gesture.

Cons: There wasn't toothbrush and paste provided. The bath gel and shampoo wasn't replaced daily as well.

All in all, I would give it a five stars holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flierroars h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor website.

We are certainly disappointed to learn that part of your experience with us did not meet your expectations particularly with regards to the replenishment of bathroom amenities.

Whilst you have highlighted your experience, we will continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome.

We thank you again and trust we get another chance to build on your Hilton experience in the near future.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 night, on the club floor, I would say that we had a comfortable stay, the hotel staff was accommodating, yes note that mostly internet is chargeable which should not be the case, however thanks to my husband being a Hilton Honors member this was then free for us. Room on the club floor had a good view which was facing the river and the grand view of a hall that lights up beautifully at night. I went down to the coffee house for breakfast one morning to look at the variety that they would serve and somehow found the service staff there stuck up, snobbish and did not seem motivated to work, it was not one person but the whole bunch of them. Something that the Hilton management may really want to look into.

Room Tip: Club Floors are good, however they could cost relatively more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVR_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor website.

We are certainly disappointed to learn that part of your experience with us did not meet your expectations particularly with regards to attitude of our team members during breakfast.

Whilst you have highlighted your experience, we will continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome.

We thank you again and trust we get another chance to build on your Hilton experience in the near future.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dengkil, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is great not only because it is situated at a river bank where you can get to Kuching Waterfront just in a minute of walk, but also you can just get almost anything (by anything i meant nightlife, 7Eleven, craftsmanship shops, salty terubok, sarawak batik etc etc as long as you call it a local stuff) in Kuching by walking distance.

The room also nicely decorated and bathroom also not bad at all.

The only thing they have to look seriously is a additional fees they charge you if you want to use internet lines in a room. Seriously, nowadays you can get a free internet almost anywhere but this hotel charge you for it.

Apart from that I'm satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjosh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Indeed the property has a very privileged position within the city of Kuching.

As regards to internet charges, please rest assured that this will be reviewed and considered when the opportunity arises.

The entire team at the Hilton Kuching look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been coming to this hotel for years and I appreciate the staff, the location, feeling of the place. They have recently refurbished the rooms (much needed), and the rooms with the river view are terrific, even though the view of the river is blighted by the Dewan, which folks call the "lemon squeezer" - an insult to Sarawakians perpetrated by you know who.

But in this era, where even the cheapest hotels and resthouses offer free internet, it's surprising and annoying that the Hilton charges (a substantial amount) for in-house internet. They have advised me that this is because the internet is provided by an external third party. Also I understand that there are steps to provide this service in-house. That development can't come too soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Friendofganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We have taken note of your comments and we thank you for these. As regards to complimentary internet, please rest assured we are reviewing this issue and complimentary internet will be considered as soon as the opportunity arises.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Kuching again,

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing