We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Payed very little for a chalet in an almost deserted resort”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Looking at all these reviews now I think that we must have stayed at the resort at just the right time. There was hardly a soul there (end of Ramadan). We spent 3 nights in one of those beach side chalets and payed probably a quarter of what they usually go for. We had a beautifully decorated room. There was original Iban tribal gear and art on the walls which we loved. Come breakfast time there were never a lot of other guests around so we had mountains of buffet food to ourselves. The choice was nothing like I have ever seen before - it was excellent. What they do need to work on is the service. Hotel employees in the restaurant areas were sometimes clustered together somewhere talking to each other when there was no one to wait the tables. Fortunately, it wasn't always like that. We thought the layout of the resort was great and had a nice scenic walk checking out all the different accomodations at least from the outside. The empty hillside huts looked interesting. There was a beautiful infinity pool up there that was for everyone's use. A sole pool keeper was sitting there with no one splashing around. The resort beach is ok. There are rocks on one side, but also lots of nice sand with coconuts lying around here and there. The problem with the water is that it is not nice and blue but rather brownish. I suppose this is due to the big tropical river system that empties into the South China Sea nearby in Kuching. I wonder though if the sea ever does clear up a little bit during the year. I did go swimming there and it was really warm. We would stay in this resort again at the right price and time. I would not pay a 4-star hotel rate.
Everyone who stays at the resort should check out the Cultural Village nearby. The tribal people who work and live there are super friendly and happy to tell you all about life in the Borneo jungle. The tribal dance show was as touristy as it gets but pretty cool anyways.
Take a tour with Matahari to see the river dolphins and crocodiles!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoteLibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 747 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2009

Having traveled to Sabah a few times I was expecting more of the same.
We stayed at Damai Beach for 6 days after a Sarawak tour,all though we took 1nt and 2 days out for a longhouse tour.
The rooms were large but in need of decoration.The grounds are pleasant enough.
The Beach is not much at all with what appears to be a building site about to start at one end and rocks at the other end.
The food was hit and miss,some of it excellent and some bordering on the poor.
The hotel is a long way (1hr) if you are lucky from Kuching and anywhere else.
If anyone tells me again that we are crossing the Santubong bridge I will go mad!
The staff as usual were friendly and pleasant as they usually are in Malaysia.
The prices are high as you are captive guests,although there are some local(ish) places to eat.
I much prefer Sabah. Miri was 2 days wasted out of our tour.The culture park across the road was included in out tour from Kuching.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaveSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Myself, Husband,Son and Sons friend (teenagers) spent 9 nights at Damai and loved it We stayed in a Bidyah Hut which looks like a tree house. It was next to hilltop pool so was very convienient. Also the view was stunning. The room was Quite large,We didnt pay for the safe as previous reviewer did, also I have travelled a lot and I have never come across any hotel that doesnt charge for the internet. My son and friend sat in the very large foyer area on there laptops, which cost approx $4 per hour each ,Cheap!The hotel was always clean, including the room, The staff was always friendly,The Tour booking agent is friendly and helpfull.He booked us on a tour which took us thru some of the rivers whith a local fisherman,which was great .we also went to the Orangutans and seen Richie a very large male, also Bako national Park. Restuarants are good, prices are fair, Service can be a bit slow but arent we on holdays? Convienience shop is good, but we took shuttle into Kuching a few times to have tea, which in Kuching prices are cheaper, and we went to supermarket in ground floor of Riverside hotel and bought supplies. We are very glad to chosen Damai rather than staying in Kuching. We enjoyed Dinner in Kuching , but i wouldnt like to have stayed there.Also like to mention the shuttle guys who were always friendly and efficient,it was fun taking the shuttle up and down the hill to our room. This place is a resort which we found plenty to do,especially with 2 ,15 year olds. I would definitely recommend Damai, I also feel some people will complain no matter how good a place can be. Rock on Damai!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinicooperAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was our last hotel on a tour and it was a let down. It is a sad 1970's style that has not been updates (poolside room). We knew it was a resort but line dancing in the entrance was not our idea of fun. There was no hotel information in the hotel room so you were left for find everthing yourself. This was the first hotel of 4 where you had to pay for internet, room safe and the food was very expensive and not always that good. Breakfast was not topped up so if you went down late the choice was poor .Several guests used a small local resturant as the food was better and cheaper.
The one saving grace was the cultural village that you can walk to within 3 minutes.
Not the best way to end a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This was my second visit to the Damai Beach Resort and unfortunately it will be a last one. I could not believe that this was the very same resort that I visited last year.
I booked the top hill deluxe room for 2 nights. I understand that during the Hari Raya the resorts get crowded but I suppose they should be well prepared for this.
The check-in took incredibly long and there were crowds of people everywhere in the lobby. It was impossible to queue as everyone was trying to get to the check-in counter at once. Besides, there were no fans in there so waiting there for 45 minutes was quite uncomfortable. It was quite difficult to communicate with the receptionists as they did not understand much English. I had a few requests and when one of them finally listened to me, she probably did not get anything from what I was saying so she just left me there at the counter and I had to wait for another receptionist to come. The whole check-in process was absolutely unorganised and chaotic.
The room itself looked very old, especially the bathroom. The room was quite small for 3 people. We spotted a larger lizard in the room but we knew we cannot avoid this as we are in the jungle.. We then went to the main restaurant. It was around 2 pm and even though the restaurant was empty, it was difficult to find a table as nearly all the tables were covered with plates and lunch leftovers. We ordered some coffee and iced water and had to remind the staff several times of what we had ordered. It took them probably 45 minutes to deliver the coffee. The same situation happend with our meals. In the meantime, there was still nobody clearing the tables so I asked one of the staff why they do not clear them. The poor guy did not understand any English... Another one came to our table and merrily said it was Hari Raya, so that's why! Our meals were served finally but there was no cutlery on the table.
After this experience we decided to go to Kuching and spend the rest of the day there. We stayed for dinner also and got back to the resort at about 11 pm. To our surprise our room (and bathroom) was full of big ants, more lizards and we even noticed there was some lizard or insect sh.. all over the place, even on the beds. I called the duty manager to get the room sprayed. Again, she would not understand what I asked for.
We decided we did not want to stay there any longer and I went down to the reception, made a complaint and we left the resort the next day. Luckily we only had to pay for one night. I queued for the check-out for aprox 15 minutes only. When I saw the lobby later at about noon, it was completely full of people trying to check-out.
But I have to mention all the drivers (room shuttle and bus to Kuching). Even though they were very busy, they were still friendly and aproachable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just arrived home after staying here for 9 nights. The resort is in a great location only 45 mins from Kuching and an hour from the airport. It is a very relaxing place to stay and there are also plenty of opportunities to explore the surrounding area. Transport connections are easy to arrange and inexpensive. The rooms are huge, very comfortable and represent great value. Although the resort staff are very attentive, there could be a bit more attention to detail with the standard of cleaning in the rooms and the condition of the grounds. I would say this sometimes makes the resort feel less 4 star and more like 3 star. The resort is very quiet during the week but gets busy at weekends with day-trippers from Kuching. There is a wide variety of food on offer at the restaurants all at very reasonable prices, we especially liked the seafood restaurant as the service was great and the food was cooked to perfection. The only other negative is that the bar prices are really expensive compared to everything else, but this is being really picky and you don't have to drink here to have a good time...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toogyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We just got back from spending 4 days at Kuching, Sarawak. We decided to stay away from the city and went about 1 hour out of the city to Damai Beach Resort. This is what Sarawak was like 20 years ago...very quiet, relaxing, and laidback. We went in the middle of the week, from Tuesday to Friday and the hotel was very quiet although I'm told that this hotel really fills up on the weekends.
The hotel itself is beautiful. There are 2 major wings to the resort. The main wing is by the beach and there's a hilltop wing up on the hill overlooking Damai Beach and Santubong mountain. We chose the quieter hilltop wing with a beautiful view of the South China Sea as well as Santubong mountain. The rooms are extremely large and very clean. The rooms all have modern amenities and we had complementary coffe, tea, and water replenished everyday. We also had a mini fridge and a safe for our valuables. The resort itself has 3 restarurants, 2 poolside cafes, and a bar. There's also a convenience store, 2 souvenir stores, and a travel agency. There's a hotel shuttle that runs to and from the hilltop wing to the main wing and the shuttle is only a phone call away. They are very prompt at picking you up once you call for them. We mainly walked up and down the hill for exercise and to enjoy the scenery.
The restaurants serve mainly local food but they do have western fare as well. The food is of good quality and very reasonable. Our package included a buffet breakfast and we usually filled up on breakfast so that we didn't need lunch and could focus on activities during the day. The servers at the restaurants are very accomodating and friendly but also very slow.But hey, you're in Malaysia on holiday, what's the hurry. Cafe Satang was where the breakfast was served. It's their main food and beverage outlet. They serve local as well as western fare. Breakfasts were awesome with a wide variety of local, continental, and American food to choose from. They had an omelette station as well Teh Tarik, which is local "pulled" tea. Treez was another restaurant we visited and they serve mainly local food. Treez is situated halfway up the hill among the foliage (hence the name) and the food they served was delicious. We enjoyed many of the local Malay dishes, especially satay. On our last night, we indulged in a seafood feast at the Mango Tree Pavilion. There, you could choose your choice of lobster, prawns, fish, clams, or crab and have the restaurant prepare it the way you want. Seafood is charged market price and ends up being reasonable and delicious.
There are 2 pools at the resort. The main pool is at the main wing by the beach. This pool is more popular with the families because of it's close proximity to the beach. We prefered the hilltop pool near our room. This pool is alot quieter and, because it is on the hilltop, enjoyed expensive views of the South China Sea. This infinity pool has a waterfall feature and a poolside terrace with snack food and drinks.
There are daily acitivities at the hotel that you might want to participate in, for example, dart blowing, kite making, or sarong folding. There are tours while in Kuching that you might choose to enjoy. We decidedon the orang utan and Bidayuh Longhouse tour. The Bidayuhs are one of the indigenous people of Sarawak who still live in longhouses. There are also the orang ulu and the ibans. Sarawak is home to the orang utan and we saw these beautiful creatures in their natural habitat in the jungles of Sarawak. There is also Kuching city with it's museums and the famous night market on the weekends. Kuching city itself lies along the river and it's nice to take a stroll along the boardwalk.
I would recommend Damai Beach Resort to anyone wanting to travel to Kuching. The only drawback about the resort is that it is rather far out of the city but the hotel provides shuttle service to Kuching city for RM 20 return and RM 10 return for children.
We would stay at Damai Beach Resort again because of the friendly service and clean, huge rooms and views.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eh-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,735 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,086 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
643 reviews
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
554 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $59 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing