We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, relaxing, and very laidback.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing, and very laidback.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We just got back from spending 4 days at Kuching, Sarawak. We decided to stay away from the city and went about 1 hour out of the city to Damai Beach Resort. This is what Sarawak was like 20 years ago...very quiet, relaxing, and laidback. We went in the middle of the week, from Tuesday to Friday and the hotel was very quiet although I'm told that this hotel really fills up on the weekends.
The hotel itself is beautiful. There are 2 major wings to the resort. The main wing is by the beach and there's a hilltop wing up on the hill overlooking Damai Beach and Santubong mountain. We chose the quieter hilltop wing with a beautiful view of the South China Sea as well as Santubong mountain. The rooms are extremely large and very clean. The rooms all have modern amenities and we had complementary coffe, tea, and water replenished everyday. We also had a mini fridge and a safe for our valuables. The resort itself has 3 restarurants, 2 poolside cafes, and a bar. There's also a convenience store, 2 souvenir stores, and a travel agency. There's a hotel shuttle that runs to and from the hilltop wing to the main wing and the shuttle is only a phone call away. They are very prompt at picking you up once you call for them. We mainly walked up and down the hill for exercise and to enjoy the scenery.
The restaurants serve mainly local food but they do have western fare as well. The food is of good quality and very reasonable. Our package included a buffet breakfast and we usually filled up on breakfast so that we didn't need lunch and could focus on activities during the day. The servers at the restaurants are very accomodating and friendly but also very slow.But hey, you're in Malaysia on holiday, what's the hurry. Cafe Satang was where the breakfast was served. It's their main food and beverage outlet. They serve local as well as western fare. Breakfasts were awesome with a wide variety of local, continental, and American food to choose from. They had an omelette station as well Teh Tarik, which is local "pulled" tea. Treez was another restaurant we visited and they serve mainly local food. Treez is situated halfway up the hill among the foliage (hence the name) and the food they served was delicious. We enjoyed many of the local Malay dishes, especially satay. On our last night, we indulged in a seafood feast at the Mango Tree Pavilion. There, you could choose your choice of lobster, prawns, fish, clams, or crab and have the restaurant prepare it the way you want. Seafood is charged market price and ends up being reasonable and delicious.
There are 2 pools at the resort. The main pool is at the main wing by the beach. This pool is more popular with the families because of it's close proximity to the beach. We prefered the hilltop pool near our room. This pool is alot quieter and, because it is on the hilltop, enjoyed expensive views of the South China Sea. This infinity pool has a waterfall feature and a poolside terrace with snack food and drinks.
There are daily acitivities at the hotel that you might want to participate in, for example, dart blowing, kite making, or sarong folding. There are tours while in Kuching that you might choose to enjoy. We decidedon the orang utan and Bidayuh Longhouse tour. The Bidayuhs are one of the indigenous people of Sarawak who still live in longhouses. There are also the orang ulu and the ibans. Sarawak is home to the orang utan and we saw these beautiful creatures in their natural habitat in the jungles of Sarawak. There is also Kuching city with it's museums and the famous night market on the weekends. Kuching city itself lies along the river and it's nice to take a stroll along the boardwalk.
I would recommend Damai Beach Resort to anyone wanting to travel to Kuching. The only drawback about the resort is that it is rather far out of the city but the hotel provides shuttle service to Kuching city for RM 20 return and RM 10 return for children.
We would stay at Damai Beach Resort again because of the friendly service and clean, huge rooms and views.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eh-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    255
    179
    79
    63
See reviews for
278
232
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Came just for a couple of days sun and relaxation. (The fact that it rained for an entire day doesn't count!)

The resort was pleasant enough that when it did rain, it was no hardship, just to sit back and chill.

Nothing to complain about .. would come again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Our stay in mid August was brilliant, Everything about the hotel is first class, the location, the welcome on arrival (after a very long journey), the rooms/chalets which were allocated promptly without any hassle at receeption. The breakfast buffet was very good and all tastes are catered for. The hotel offers a choice of three restaurants, the main one where breakfast is served offers an International Buffet plus both Asian and Western dishes. The main pool is lovely and warm as is the sea, the beacvh is very clean and little used apart from some organised games. Overall highly satisfied, a lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We took a taxi from Kuching to Damai Beach Resort in Aug., rm50. The staff is neither friendly nor rude, can add more smile on the faces. The room is big, clean and has all basic amenities but is in need of a remodeling. We stayed at the chalet but since it's not beach front, we only had a partial view. It's a very quiet setting. The ocean water is not suitable for swimming since there're sightings of jellyfish. The pool is small and needed an update. The breakfast choices are vast and the best is their cooked to order waffles. Do not eat at the seafood restaurant outside the hotel. The price is high with a low quality of food. Instead have seafood in Top Spot, Kuching, no regret. Sarawak Cultural Village is just a 8 mins walk. We spent only 1 night there and I think 2 nights will be the maximum since there isn't much to do there. We took the shuttle van to Kuching, rm12/pp, and then taxi to airport, rm 22. The hotel shuttle charges rm100 to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aroundtheworldonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

13 of us in total , stayed in beach chalets looking out to the south china sea( the warmest i have ever swam in). Chalets are huge with good air con. Breakfast has a good variety of local and western food, choice of three restaraunts all of which good. All of our group ranging from 8- 72 years loved this place and will all be coming back, manager and staff a credit to borneo

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorsBeds_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We had another a couple of days booked in which was extended promptly and turned into 4. Day one we were in the pool and recognised by another couple we met last visit who were on holiday number 15 to this resort (that must say something).

The breakfast buffet was excellent and I would highly recommend "Treez" for an evening meal. The beach has had a "manicure" and was really nice to swim and play at for my daughter. The twolevel family room is awesome!! Great for mum and dad time out!

We will be back again soon and I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed in the chalet with my spouse. The chalet were on "stilts" so the floor were a little creeky. The room alittle musky too. The space in the chalet was just right for both of us. It will be excellent if you stay at the chalet right infront of the beach as mine had partial view of the beach.

On the other side towards direction of the cultural village seems to be a rubbish dump place so there were some foul smell when we were out of the chalet.
The staff were very friendly and offered good service but a little slow in serving. But we were there for a break, so why the rush?

The location of the hotel is not the best if you want some shopping done. But to enjoy the sun, sea and sand, it would be fine for 2D/1N.

For food, it was good, but limited as there were 2 restaurants in the resort. Unless you are ready for high price, you may want to visit Damai Puri Beach's restaurant. There were 2 seafood restaurant that provide free shuttle bus so that will be another choice. The receptionists would be able to assist in the calling.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
15.1 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Property: Damai Beach Resort
Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing