We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Relaxing and beautiful surroundings, delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful staffs, very near to Cultural Village,
I would really recommend the Bidayuh Baruk House, authentic stay experience, facing beautiful view of the sea and the hills.
They also have area for barbie! My family and I enjoyed the stay there.

Room Tip: I would recommend Bidayuh Baruk House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct_yat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    260
    183
    83
    63
See reviews for
287
237
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wanted to like this place more as beautiful location and mostly friendly staff but overall the place didn't do it for me.
pros - upstairs pool is lovely. most of staff friendly except for downstairs pool towel counter

cons - you get one pillow and then have to pay to get a second. if you want a face-cloth or hand-towel (standard for any hotel) these are only available upon request. no free Wi-Fi. tv reception very fuzzy. after 24 hrs of eating overpriced (and not even that nice)resort food I got horribly sick. housekeeping will just rinse your cups and glasses in bathroom so not hygienically cleaned (also maybe why I got sick - wish id known this earlier)

staff will not tell you there is a foodcourt and 7-11 right next door to the resort literally 5 min walk up the beach, we asked 3 times if anywhere outside resort to eat or buy food and never told about damai central. also if going to cultural village they tell you to just pay and take the hotel shuttle as you won't want to walk all the way - head along the beach it's an easy 6min walk.

I really wanted to like this place but I didnt.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night with family. Had mixed feelings about the place. Overall, the place is a bit run down and could do with a refurbishment. Reception staff were good but staff in the pool area were unhelpful and lazy.

Was here during the Borneo Food Festival so it was very crowded and noisy in the pool area. The main pool was closed and the deck chairs on the beach were all taken by the visitors to the festival which was disappointing. Reservations should have advised us about this so we could come on another weekend! No towels on the beach as the counter was closed, staff in the pool area refused to help us find some deck chairs to relax on the beach. The tiles in the pool area were mainly broken so have to be careful when walking around. Beach was ok, water was a bit murky.

Went to the other pool at the hill side. This was in better condition but also very crowded and noisy. Nice view of the sea from here. Staff here were very lazy and had a didn't care attitude. We ordered a bottle of water and ice which never arrived. Each time we asked we were told it was on the way from the main hotel, and then were told one of the staff had gone to collect it. After half an hour, this staff member returned with some boxes of food for the staff but without our water! By this time we were really thirsty so went back to our rooms in frustration.

Stayed at a deluxe sea view room. View from here was very good. Nice balcony to relax here. Furniture was ok. However the air con was leaking badly and the floor was wet when we arrived so had to change rooms. Second room was ok. Bathroom tiles were a bit run down and could do with a refurbishment to make it more modern.

Limited variety of food at the breakfast buffet. Lunch menu was good with lots of local variety.

Overall, would give this hotel a three star rating. Definitely could be improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKJohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having the family trip & stayed at chalet just facing the beach...is relaxing & breath taking. Located walking distance to Cultural Village where must visit place. You can discover the cultural of Sarawak, as well to enjoy sea breeze & mountain view. Overall is OK, but perhaps food to be improved. Next time will experience the hilltop!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teoh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were so disappointed with our stay here. Fortunately it was only for 2 nights. The place needs a complete refurb. The room was very dirty especially the bathroom. Whilst having breakfast a cockroach skuttled across the table we were sitting at!! It is a shame as it could be fab and the reception staff, especially Christina, are absolutely lovely; ery helpful and friendly. The lounge bar was good with friendly but not very attentive staff. All in all my husband and I would definitely not consider staying again (unless it had a complete upgrade)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

From trip advisor we had read mixed reviews so wasn't sure what to expect. We got a minibus from grand Margherita at 9am - 20 rm return. Takes 45 mins to get to the beach, the scenery en route is gorgeous. We did a day trip and it was definitely more than enough. We went to the last resort along the stretch called rainforest resort. It is 5rm to get onto the beach. It's a small stretch of beach but absolutely stunning. We got lucky as the day we choose to go the weather was perfect. There were no other tourists, there were just some local people and a school trip for water sports. After 11am we had the whole beach to ourselves. We also used the decking of the resort to get some shade. The resort has a pool but for only for guests staying, it's 100rm to use it but it is absolutely gorgeous and no one else was there.
We ate at the rainforest cafe and the food was divine! The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly. We stayed there for a few hours as the decking looks over the whole beach and there's a cool breeze. You also must visit the jungle pool, it's about an 8 mins walk from the restaurant. The water is clean and very cold, lovely and refreshing. We left the resort at 5 but you can leave at 7. You can also do two trails around the jungle. I have read that puri resort is also fantastic didn't have enough time to go. There is also a cultural village which costs 55rm - you can do this as a half day thing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ACAA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went mainly to enjoy the mount santubong view and the beach. Apart from the views, everything else was just ok. The room was spacious, though well-used. Stayed at hilltop deluxe which had a balcony with view. We could enjoy the fresh air and also hear the birds busily flying around amongst the trees.. It really was relaxing. Walk around with mosquito patches to avoid being bitten!

The resort had a lot of potential to be great but it was just average. It wasn't into details. If they could perhaps re-train their staff to have service excellance and re-do the main swimming pool opposite the breakfast area, they would be great. Toothpaste and toothbrush set which I requested for paying RM3 was hardened and not usable. The toilet rolls in toilet near the breakfast restaurant was empty. So this sort of small details. The staff was mainly friendly. They should all go to Westin Phuket Siray Bay and learn from them. They had the same gorgeous view and location. The difference is the service and little details.

Damai beach resort could be 5stars if they really wanted to. Maybe they need a motivational camp/seminar.

Room Tip: Baruk Suites have unblocked views. They are near the hilltop pool as well. The Hilltop view deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
988 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Property: Damai Beach Resort
Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing