We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dated resort”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit dated resort”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just popped in with our two kids to look for a room. We had a huge double queen poolside room with a bargain price another child included free for breakfast and both free in room. The beds were comfortable and with clean sheets which are either changed or not changed daily according to your choice.

Bathroom came with a tub big enough for two children to bathe together. It was clean but had some cracked tiles and mould on the ceiling. Also, read below.

However the room was not well cleaned. There was some sand between the beds on our arrival and it was never cleaned up. Also it is very dusty under the beds. Room was also a bit dark even we switched on all the lamps. But as it is big and there is no lightning on the ceiling the existing three table lamps and one floor lamp simply are not enough. Bathroom and a small area on the door are very well lightened thou'. What was the most inconvinient in our opinion was the smell coming form the bathroom. First it was cigarette smoke which is unpleasant for non-smokers with children and second the sewer/drain smelled horrible! Wouldn't have make it more than three nights and the last already being a pain.

Beach is good and clean with tides sometimes getting bigger as it happens on that side on the Borneo coast. Big enough for everyone to enjoy without feeling like you were crowded. Children's pool is located conviniently near the deeper other pool (there is a third one on the hilltop for those wishing to stay far from children!). A water may not be the cleanest, at least it is not very bright. Our daughter had some skin problems but it's not sure if it was salty water, pool or new facial wash. Poolbar was closed and seemed quite dead. It would have been nice add. There are many sunchairs but be sure to be to have yours early in the morning or they will all be reserved on a sunny day.

Breakfast was excellent with a big selection for almost every taste. Only thing to complain was the not-well-fried sausages which were on raw side and a bit cold. Service was top class all the time and met all our needs. Our son had a minor injure in his knee and staff was asking the next day upon our leaving how his knee is doing. But it might get a bit tireing to say "hello" or "good morning" to same person 20 times a day... :)

Children's village is poor, don't expect anything fancy from it. Also had problems with Wi-Fi. At first we had to pay RM36 for 24 hours and then it didn't work when we needed it the most. But it's quite common in Sarawak so what can you do!? And you also need to remember to logout everytime you stop using the Wi-Fi or your time will run even when the computer is shutt down and not using the connection at all. :/

Location is beautiful and there is a shuttle service to Kuching (not included the room price). If you have your own car Kuching is easy 20 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Don't take a poolside, at least on lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    257
    181
    80
    63
See reviews for
281
233
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After our first experience with Damai Beach Resort we were hooked! We have returned many times since that first visit. The beautiful setting in nature, the sea, the swimming pool and other facilities and particularly the more than wonderful employees who always make you feel so welcome. When you stay at Damai Beach Resort you are more than just a guest, you are a friend! And when you return it feels like coming home. But when you leave, you will leave with a feeling of sadness.... With its own nature trail through the jungle of Mount Santubong, exploring the world's most exhuberant nature is easy. Taking a boat into the mangroves allows you to spot river dolphins and, if you're lucky, crocodiles. The famous cultural village, at walking distance, offers a very entertaining and interesting show and a wonderful insight into the fascinating mix of cultures present in Malaysia. Nearby Kuching is, without a doubt, one of the most pleasant cities in Southeast Asia. We will be back, that's for sure. We fell in love with Damai Beach Resort when we first came there, when our children were born they fell in love with Damai Beach Resort as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Kuching, the resort was quiet and not many people around we stayed in a pool side room with our two young kids but found the room to be very damp and smelly so we upgrades to the family suite which topped off the holiday. It gave the kids their space and us ours, the suit has so much room.

The staff are very friendly and only happy to help, some things don,t happen quickly but they do get done. The weekends get very busy with locals coming to stay.

Just next door is Damai Central where there is a hawkers hut food set up, great food and very well priced, a must to try. They dont always have everything on the menu but that ok because everything is cooked fresh. The hawkers hut was very clean and we had no problems eating there even with two young kids. Our boys are not into the asian foods but enjoyed the fish and chips and beef burgers.

Damai beach is a gret place to stay and relax, we will be returning for another trip. If you want 5 star then Damai is not for you.

Room Tip: If you ave young kids go the family suite it is worth it, we found the poolside rooms to be very dam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This trip is not my first stay in Damai Beach Resort...But every time I come back it just becomes better and better. DBR is a "Hidden Jewel', no other word can describe it but...Amazing. No matter what other people say or comment that it needs upgrading etc... I think it is perfect as it is. Its rustic and timeless. That part of the world? you have what you need...Wifi, a Spa that has the most beautiful and breath taking view in the world, good restaurant, pool etc.

It's difficult to describe an almost perfect place. When you look at the right is the mountain and the left is the sea...Just amazing...My cottage has the best View and was given one of the biggest and spacious. You have choices of a cottage or a hotel type of room and I got lucky..

The staff are just so fantastic. Very honest and sincere. They are friendly but not intrusive. They respect guests privacy. They are all just lovely. Specially the Housekeeping-particularly Lala.
Every one took care of me..From The charming Resort Manager/General Manager-Mr Zulkifli Othman, to the Breakfast team and Hudson, the gentleman who recommended yummy seafood for dinner-Verry personalised.

I love the rustic, peacefulness and just totally silence of this place. It's like touching God's face. And these are the things that people come from all over the world to have a piece of this "Jewel".
Every corner of the resort will also remind you to take care of nature and care for the environment. They (Sarawak/locals), really appreciate and take care of the environment. Every thing in the cottage is environmental friendly.

I truly wish that (It's a mean wish) DBR will remain it's rustic charm and simplicity. I would not want it to be discovered by more tourists so not to spoil it.

Sarawak and Damai Beach Resort is so dear to my heart, and will keep on going back again and again and again....

Room Tip: Take the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Generally quite a satisfying beach resort located within a short distance, 45 minutes drive from the City of Kuching. The only main concern is that owners of the resort are not willing to pour in fresh capital to keep the resort up to its mark. The overall property is clean and basic maintenance are kept to the minimum. Serving reasonable good Western / Asian breakfast with good selection of breads. Food outlets in the resort do offer good variety of selection at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms are quite good but select a room with air condition system functioning well. Due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CityFolks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Resort needs an upgrade. Our shower had mould that wasn't cleaned in our week's stay after asking it to be removed twice. The rest of the room & resort, however was clean. Food was ok at times, poor at times but never hot & overpriced. Pool tables in bar required money & one table had two rips in it. Staff were extremely friendly although not very forthcoming with information on anything outside the resort. Would not come here again nor recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Uschi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Years ago we found this jewel in Sarawak after a holiday in Australia, we decided to take a side trip on our wayback to England. We love it so much that we have returned many times. We have been to many places in the world and have experienced many cultures, for us this is the best.
Damai Beach Resort is the best place to stay in the Santubong area flanked by by the South China Sea and Mount Santubong with its lush green foliage, the view is surreal.
The view from the hilltop pool is fantastic with even better views of the sea and mountain.
Even so no place is perfect without good management and good staff to run it, Damai Beach Resort has all these, from the Manager Mr. Zul all the way down through staff, all are excellent.
The everyday staff could not be more respectful, friendly and helpful a credit to the establishment.
Recption is A1 with Christina on hand to sort out any problems or queries.
With its three restaurants all serving very good food , guests have a choice venue and menu.
Fisherman's Catch, right on the beach with Barbara usually there to guide you through the seafood menu, is very good. So is the Treez restaurant with its elivated position overlooking the Hotel with prices inexpensive.
Everytime we visit we are looked after like royalty, we stayed in the hilltop suite from there you have the amazing views over the sea.We could not fault anything and would recommend the Damai Beach Resort to anyone. If you are looking for a beautiful relaxing place to holiday,this is it! It is so special and memorable.We last stayed in October 2012 (for 1 month) as we usually do. Everything about the Hotel is first class, from arrival at the airport, the location, the welcome. The only downside is the day we have to leave for our journey back to England.

Room Tip: Hilltop suite, pay the extra and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
15.1 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Property: Damai Beach Resort
Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing