We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Damai is absolutely one the best places to get away from our busy n hectic city of singapore.
Personally, my stay was perfect.
The rooms were nice.the beachfront was very nice.
When you come from a busy city..peace n tranquility is what you need and damai is the place to be.

The service staff especially in the fnb side was on the ball.all the time.
They made sure our orders were correct and quick.
In fact all the staff are friendly and nice.

So, if anyone ia looking for a retreat from the hectic and busy lifes..damai is your solution :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sashashawtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Damai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 714 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was great to come back again and see a lot of old staff (and management) sill here

We stayed in a beach chalet so it wasnt far from the beach or restaurants (or the food court and restaurants next door which is good too so you dont feel you have to eat in the hotel).

Selection of the breakfast buffet was excellent and the choices changed daily which was great. Make sure you get a Teh Tarik from the egg station - YUM

The local Malaysian cuisine up the hill in Trees Restaurant was excellent and the shuttle only takes a minute or two and you are there

The resort was extremely busy (it was during peak times so you would expect it to be) and sometimes the service was a little slow but the staff were always helpful and smiling. We were on holidays so we didnt mind at all.

Hannah loved the activities that were on offer and we had to drag her from the kids play area! Make sure you dont miss the cultural centre too - it is well worth a visit. We have been many times and never visited as we thought it was a bit touristy but we were really impressed!!

We have already booked in again later in the year and cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here last year and it was the biggest mistake ever. Since there was 5 of us, we took the hilltop room. First of all, the rooms were old, dim lights, smelled weird, air-con wasn't functioning well and the bathroom looked like it wasn't cleaned. Room service takes forever to come to your room, though we know its a distance but taking more than 45 mins is long by standards. Food was not great. At night, the area outside your room is not properly lit and waiting for a shuttle will take you at least 25 mins just to get to the main hotel reception area. We also encountered a bad experience when my brother's child who is about 3 years old who cried non-stop a whole night restless and kept saying something was disturbing her. it was creepy! Definitely a first time for all of us. We left the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamaniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Check on on Dec 28, 2012 took 4 hours due to preferential treatment given to government officials checking in. Property has gone downhill from glory days of the Holiday Inn Damai in the 1990's. The international clocks behind the front desk did not work, including the Malaysian time, which left an impression that staff couldn't care less. It took one hour to order a simlple noodle dish at the Satang Cafe. Staff did not respect the non-smoking tables. We were seated in a smoking area, and staff's solution was to put a Non-Smoking sign on our table! We paid handsomely for a quiet and private Baruk suite on top of the hill next to the pool, but the local kids from the rooms down the hill came up and packed the hilltop pool making a racous all day. The front desk refused to cash my US$100 bill because it was dated before 2006. On check out, the front desk billed me for my suite that was prepaid by credit 6 months ago. It took a lot of explaining for the staff to change my bill to no charge. Very disappointing. Clearly, the government corporation (SEDC) is not capable of running a resort hotel. The Satang Cafe serves buffet lunch and dinner, but not for hotel guests even when we were prepared to pay. The buffet, we were told, were for the visiting group of VIPs and staff, and not for guests.

Room Tip: Avoid this resort.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

To all those who may not be aware this resort is a cat sanctuary and breeding haven for what can only be described as ugly inbred vermin who basically have run of house and roam freely around the resort including the poolside, outdoor eatery, open air restaurant, reception, beach-side areas and around activity and accommodation areas. I'm not talking about purebred varieties either - these are a motley bunch of feral looking things that annoy, beg or seek attention and can greatly impact on your holiday if your not prepared or given any prior notice. There is nothing on the resorts website although they have a reference/information card in you room (a bit late for some) which also gives details of the cat feeding times undertaken by the resort. Similarly there are no guest comments on their website regarding cats and very little comment if any on the subject in trip advisor. Whilst I now know that Kuching means cat and they are seen to bring good luck and good fortune, nothing prepared us for this Cat Resort and the restrictions, anguish, discomfort and hygiene concerns that this can impose (particularly when dining or eating at the resort). I would be concerned for the local wildlife with such a cat population (not that we saw any wildlife despite being at the foot of the jungle). Apart from this the staff were friendly and helpful and the management very accommodating, the food was nice, the accommodation basic and the resort in general becoming a bit tired and rundown. The beach isn't that great particularly if its rough and swimming restricted or not allowed (but I've seen worse). The shuttle into town is good value for one or two people (although the ride in the bus can be a bit bumpy). For larger groups you might like top consider paying a few extra ringgit to get one of the new blue taxi drivers transport you about in comfort (for the same price as a dodgy old proton). Ours even stayed with us while we shopped and charge nothing extra for the wait time - so ended up giving him him a little tip each time anyway. There are enough shops in Kuching (approx 45 mins from the resort), to keep you occupied - ranging from large new shopping centres to small street shopping strips (such as in India St). The Sunday market (on Saturdays) was largely a food market however there are still some bargains to be picked up in the few stalls and shops that operate out there. If you put the cats aside and don't have any high expectations from the resort, Kuching or Malaysia (the locals call it Borneo), you're likely to have a great timeand form your own opinions and views - happy holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Hilltop accommodation provide great views and are probably quieter due to their locatio...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived Christmas Eve after a long journey on a “Borneo adventure” the room was dirty, musky and you could not see out of the windows for dirt. We complained straight away, the manager was very apologetic and moved us to another room up the hill which was better but grubby with black mould all around the bathroom. The hotel lets empty rooms out to locals at holiday times at 40RM (£8) which they pack with whole families and take over the facilities. The swimming pool was green and you could not see the bottom and broken tiles around the pool were dangerous. Service was ok apart from the pool bar tender who was completely uninterested in what he was there for.
The food was buffet style and all was just about warm.
If you are looking for anything above a 2* hotel – look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are looking for anything above a 2* hotel – look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been here few years ago and stayed in the family room..
it was superb..
so we decided to come back to the hotel..
but this time due to school holiday, all rooms were fully equipped except for the hilltop
so we took it..and it might be my worst hotel decision ever!

pro (only one!)
Spacious room

Con:
-I arrived and found that there was a box of half fulled cigar on the desk it was such a turn off
-the room was so old and quiet spooky..the bed sheets smell as if it habent been used for a long time..
-the lighting was not adequate...the room was so dim...
-old fashioned tv...so not a 4 star hotel
- the pipe in out room was leaking, we called for someone to fix..and it took him more than 2 hours to come
-breakfast line was soooooo loonggg that we decided that it was not worth to wait, and we went and buy our own breakfast outside...


overall..not worth for my money.

Room Tip: DO not ask for creepy hilltop rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cpd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $49 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing