We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
137
303
204
88
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
303
204
88
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilltop poolhill topsarawak cultural villagesuperior poolsidechalet roomsupper poolthe south china seashuttle busmount santubongpoolside roomseafoodegg stationrainforest world music festivalconnecting roomslocal foodnational parkkuching city
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 798 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I would agree with most of the less flattering comments already said about this place on this website, so I won't repeat. But overall, I would say that my family had a wonderful holiday here. We booked a chalet with two connecting rooms for my family of 5, and were right next to the beach. Perfect spot. Our ride from Kuching on a rather scary shuttle bus travelled through beautiful lush green dense vegetation, promising an exquisite location for our holiday. We were not disappointed. Everywhere coconut trees and tropical plants. I was so happy to look out of our chalet and be a stone's throw from the beach. And in the evenings there were magnificient sunsets.

My kids adored it here, there were two pools to choose from, a play area, the beach, of course - and when we'd had enough of that, plenty of trips and tours to choose from. Sarawak Cultural Village right next door is fantastic and we were lucky enough to also see a show of traditional Malay dancing.

Customers, if you are trying to decide which type of room to go for, the beach side chalets are excellent for families, the King-bed rooms are huge. But if you are wanting something a bit more exclusive, consider the HillView rooms and suites. Incredible views of the ocean from a cliff side, a prettier, quieter pool than the one in main resort, a more select poolside menu for casual snacks and some stunning acommodation.

A couple of further tips: we discovered that food and general service was very slow - so we suggest trying the small community centre next door which has a good hawker stall area and a few eateries. The Sarawak Cultural Village also offers a traditional Malaysian dinner served in bamboo sticks and banana leaves in their restaurant. Open at lunchtimes only.

Internet connection is very slow, but that is a problem for the whole of East Malaysia and should not be blamed on the hotel. In room internet connection is not offered, but you can purchase Wifi cards from reception, something that is not advertised but I found out by asking.

Finally, if you are trying to book via internet and discover that your desired room type is not available, it is really worth ringing the resort and asking. I found the chalets I wanted were not available when I tried to book on internet, but when I phoned I was told that they were. Okay, this meant we didn't get the internet offer prices but the hotel prices are very reasonable so we didn't mind.

I know several reviews have indicated that the resort needs refurbishment but I suggest you go to this place with an open mind and accept that East Malaysia has some catching up to do to be on par with international hotel standards. Just go to enjoy the experience of being in environs of a jungle and Sarawak has so much to offer with its national parks and wildlife.

Room Tip: Choose a beach side chalet if you are with a family. There are connecting rooms if you have kids and the King-bed rooms are huge. For something more exclusive, go for something on the hillside/clifftop.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We originally booked a room in one of the chalets, however we were pretty disappointed there were no terrace or balcony and the air condition was very noisy. We asked the reception for options and were shown an executive suite. It was big and had a big terrace facing the sea, just what we wanted. The room was a bit worn and the carpet had seen better days, but all in all OK.
The included breakfast buffet was good and the rest of the food we got in the restaurant was also OK and the service from the staff in the restaurant was very good.
The surroundings and landscape is magnificent, with the lovely sea and the mountains in the back.
During weekends the resort gets very busy as a lot of locals visits, we stayed for a week but would probably only have chosen 5 days if we were to go again.
Upon checkout we were charged for having two extra beds rolled in, we were never informed about this, so the manager Christina decided to remove this cost from our bill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jepsensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The best part on kuching / sarawak

A resort with a peacefull n "CHEAPEST" resort
Malaysian

-PLUS-
-Since not very expensve price as a good resort
-big room size even 1can playing hide&seek with my child and HUGE nd great springbed
-dont have many person on there, its a great place to relax (like VIP) member

-MINUS-
-the room carpet is POOR, i think this is an old resort
-very slow when they served the food&beverrages
-etc

The final, i make the decision
This resort is good place for hide-ing from "noise" on the city

The best part
- i love the HUGE bed
Heheheeh

Regards,
Heryk_gunardy
Pontianak / kalimantan-barat
Mail - sport_systems@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerykG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for the Rainforest World Music Festival (RWMF) 2012 for 3 Nights. best place to stay for this event as it's just a 2 minute walk to the Sarawak Cultural Village, venue of the RWMF.

booked into a Beach Chalet inclusive of daily breakfast & dinner.

room is spacious but furniture & fittings abit dated. bathroom very old school. wish they would do up the rooms.

service much to be desired... took them more than an hour to deliver room service!!! service at the restaurant was poor and slow... staff not attentive. food came out slow - main course would come before the starter! breakfast buffet was ok but dinner was NOT exciting at all - i was expecting more for the rate i was paying.

a great place by the beach, it is a pity the owners have not paid much attention to it. in really does need a refurbishment.

i would go back there only because it is the closest place to the venue of the RWMF..

Room Tip: Beach Chalet is best as it's just steps away from the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

First and formost, let me say the staff at this resort are second to none. They met every challenge, request and were well above in effort to their surrounds and seeming lack of support.

The grounds of this resort are set on a beautiful coastline, with a lovely beach and amazing mountains. We had origionally been booked into a mountain side room, however we felt to detached staying up here. This is despite an on-demand shuttle service to the resort propper. The staff kindly relocated us down to a beach front chalet which was much more modern, and much nicer for a resort style holiday.

Without going on too much about the negatives, I would simply plead to the management and owners of this resort to put in the money it so richly needs to live up to its potential. This would ensure better food at the eateries, wireless internet throughout the premises, a mini golf course with golf and not cement on it, a resort without stray cats (yes cats).

Some silly things are done, like fans which are over the buffet and fresh egg stations all face the wrong way, despite a small adjustment which would ensure they kept the insects away from the fresh food.

Also, ensure you try to avoid staying over weekends. They sell day passes to the local residents to use the facilities on weekends, the resort went from a nice quiet place to a water park on school holidays in a matter a hours. We ended up spending the day indoors sadly.

In short, a good place to visit but with little investment or policy changes it could be great.

If you are at the resort and start to get cabin fever, do not take the 45 minute drive into Kuching, their is nothing to see or do - a definite miss if you don't like stray cats.

We stayed for a week, 5 days would have sufficed and probably helped ensure we missed the weekend rif-raf.

Room Tip: If you want to eat the resort or need internet ensure you get a room in the resort proper. If you want a quiet trip with only access to a pool, then up the top is just fine too.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews