We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there”

Kuching Wetlands National Park
Ranked #27 of 87 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoying the nature
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was a 2hr boat ride where we saw simply nothing except the tail of a crocodile. The Park is 'dead', no birds, no dolphins, no wild animals. They then drove us to a little village at the river, presenting (unexpectedly) a homemade dinner. The taste was good but they expected us to eat with the hands. Which would be okay if there was an opportunity to clean your hands before and after eating... The price of 155 MYR / Person is way too high for this unnecessary experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank weltenbummler1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
happycat
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting much - but I loved it!! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Having read previous reviews I kinda went along to this thinking it would be a bit rubbish, but I absolutely loved it!
We booked it through our hotel in Kuching (Batik Boutique). We went to the Cultural Village first (separate review but thought it was great) and then our small boat (6 of us) left from the Permai Rain Forest Lodge Rainforest (boat trip booked through them - cost MYR150). I loved the boat trip as it appends off through the bay. We saw quite a few dolphins (as others have mentioned, you don't see them jumping) and then went looking for crocodiles. We saw a couple of baby ones. We then saw a large number of proboscis monkeys which was truly awesome!! After stopping for some water and freshly cut melon provided by the boat staff, we saw the beautiful sunset by a quaint Malay fishing boat (truly stunning pictures) and then we saw the fireflies!! What a fabulous trip! It actually brought a little year to my eye as I feel so lucky to have seen the beautiful natural habitat of these beautiful creatures!
Please just be prepared that you may not see everything & think of it as a boat trip with extras and that way you will be pleasantly surprised when you see them - that strategy worked for me!! Enjoy!!

Even the boat ride at pace was good fun!

Helpful?
2 Thank HappycatHappycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Crocodiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were very glad we decided to do the tour having not being too sure due to some reviews. You have to accept that there is no guarantee of seeing the wildlife but the scenery is still beautiful. We also went to our boat captains fishing village for dinner and ate in his home which was nice. We saw crocodiles, probiscous monkeys, fireflies, and lots of birds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't go if you expect rain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked the sunset tour but by the time we got to the boat it had started raining.
We boarded the boat but when we were just on the water the rain got really heavy and the boat captain decided to take us to a village to sit out the rain.
After about one hour sitting in someone's livingroom (very friendly family who offered us coffee and snacks) the weather was still bad but the captain decided to go out again.
The rain got heavy again and everyone in the boat got soaked. We continued but because of the rain we didn't see anything. Most of us were sitting face down in the boat to avoid the rain.

After another hour getting wet the weather improved a bit and we got to see a few monkeys and some fireflies.

I know the weather is not controlable, but I think it would have been better to cancel the tour and give us a (partial) refund or option to go on another day. Going on like this was useless and not worht the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MaartenVWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunset wildlife & villages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent the late afternoon and early evening skimming across water watching Irrawaddy Dolphins feeding, proboscis monkeys enjoy the young mangrove leaves and visiting a Malay Fishing village. A lovely time watching the sun gradually sink below the horizon before we saw the firebugs blinking on & off in the dark trees. :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikkitower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuching Wetlands National Park also viewed

 

Been to Kuching Wetlands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing