We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matang Wildlife Centre”

Matang Wildlife Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Full-Day Matang Wildlife And Trekking At Kubah With Lunch from Kuching
More Info
$134.66*
and up
Matang Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre and Kubah National Park Tour from Kuching
Ranked #31 of 89 things to do in Kuching
Attraction details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Matang Wildlife Centre”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Highlight of my trip - volunteered there for two weeks and I can't stress enough that it was a trip of a lifetime!! Amazing work that goes on there - can't say enough good things about them! If you go to Borneo you have to go, even for a day trip... but then two weeks wasn't enough for me!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJB225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    57
    48
    24
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Rehabilitation center not a zoo”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

the place for wildLife rehabilitation, Orang utans mainly. It is a SMALL catchment, about 30 minutes walk will cover the entire trail and that's it. Picnic spot is available by the river. Going for a swim depends on the weather and current, which might be dangerous at rain season. No reason not to go if passing by the area, but if it's a hassle for transport and costly, better find another destination otherwise will be disappointed. unless you got a real fascination for orang utans and want to spend the whole day watching their behaviour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank waleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanjong Malim, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Picnic with family”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Good place for family trip.
Excercise.
Relaxation
Various numbers or wildlife.
Recommended for student trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank AhLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just a taste of the wildlife”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took a half day tour through a local kuching agency, just two of us and the the driver/guide. Cost 90 MYR per person but worth every ringgit, because the guide was able to explain and answer all out questions. Hardly a zoo, as there were only a few species on view, most either too old to be set free back into the wild, or some kept there for their own safety or the safety of others. Nevertheless, a fascinating taste of the inhabitents of the Sarawack rain forests. We saw three young Orang Utans with their human minders outside an enclosed area and 6 older ones within enclosures. We did not realise how dangerous Orang Utans are. Apparently they are unpredictable and very territorial and can inflict terrible injuries on the unsuspecting or ignorant tourist, or even a trained and experienced handler. Obviously we never got to touch any animal and we assume there is much good work and intention behind the scenes for the benefit of the animals, some of which are kept there to educate local children on the eco and animal systems within their own country and nearby environment. You can get there by car and pay your own admission, but you miss much without the knowledge of a local experienced guide.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great effort!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This morning we headed off to Semenggoh to hopefully visit the orangutans in the wild. Unfortunately as it is fruit season they were not hungry and did not come to the feeding platform. We decided to continue on to Matang Rhabilitation Centre, some 45 minutes drive away. We are so pleased we did. Yes the orangutans were in enclosures but most were not in cages as such. They were housed in large walled compounds. They appeared really chilled and playful. We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to chat with one of the resident curators, an Englishman, who was happy to provide us with an insight into the work they do at the Centre and the way the orangutans are cared for. Fascinating stuff! Their overriding mission is to rehabilitate as many as they can back into the wild. Excellent work.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank allwests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matang Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Matang Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing