We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borneo Delight

Borneo Delight
Ranked #14 of 567 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent value (~3-4RM per dish). Tasty food. Friendly and helpful staff. Smallish portions so in future we would order 3 dishes between two hungry people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank quassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“best cheapest food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

local food for around 4RM, really tasty! best kuey teow i tried in malaysia! also the staff is so nice. they make very tasty fresh lime juice too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank 430travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I will miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was my first time with family to Kuching. Our first day, we checked in at Albell Hotel and then we were raving for food in Kuching. We walked to a temple nearby, due to Chinese New Year, nost of the shops were closed.

Next, we spotted a small cafe named "Borneo Delight" and we decided to try. Whilst walking, alongside on the left is "Riverside Majestic", on the right "Riverbank Suites" and the river as well.

On the left after "Riverside Majestic", walk further down is a "Siew San Teng" (Tua Pek Kong) Temple, "Jejak Warisan". After that, there is another temple ahead, opposite a color building, which is the "Layer Building" in Pink, Blue, Green, Orange and Yellow in color. Beside the temple, you will see a small restaurant at the left corner of a road Jalan Ewe Hai, Wayang Street, and this is "Borneo Delight".

We tried the famous "Kuching Laksa", "Fried Bee Hoon" Rice Vermicelli, "Tomato Fried Kway Teow" Ricestrip Noodle, "Fried Yellow Noodle", Local "Borneo Tea", and we also bought some local delicacies/snacks, in Sesame, Coconut and Yam flavor. As for the price, definitely acceptable.

P.S: "5 stars out of 5, probably the best of the best little restaurant in Kuching. Though there are a few, but, I will miss it."

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Kennyisegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
323 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“small hidden corner for some speedy tasty food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

we frequented this outlet many times and its run by a father,mother and children team.Food is good,very home cooked the fired rice are all tasty including the noodles.the coffee is just excellent and comes with a tiny biscuit to munch on.There are lotsa vegetables and ingredients in it and a healthy meal choice.

Give this place a try,definitely worthwhile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice on the row because the food was so good. We tried the ginger chicken, pineapple fried rice, flat noodles and sweet and sour chicken (that was more like a hot and sour chicken in the UK but still great) and all were excellent. Very reasonably priced and friendly staff. Service was a little slow but not bad. Only thing that lets it down is the fact they don't sell beer!

Helpful?
6 Thank ADS20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borneo Delight also viewed

 

Been to Borneo Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing