We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much overrated seafood eatery!”

See Good Food Centre
Ranked #55 of 589 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Much overrated seafood eatery!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tucked away behind some old rundown shops in the middle of the city this eatery (I won't even bother calling it a restaurant) has re-located numerous times in the past but seem to have settled down here now.

Its very basic, usually packed due to locals who have a high tolerance level for poor service, hot and noisy atmosphere (on the ground floor) and cold and stifled aircon (top floor) - the choice of seafood comes out of a pick-up truck semi-permanently parked by the kitchen. It's selection and freshness can be dubious at best. Lots of local vegetables,ferns and what-nots are stacked up on an tabletop.

Pricing is based on whether you are a local,tourist or on an expense account. Usually preferential treatment is given to guests and patrons who happen to be either related or of the same dialectical background as the owner - whom I find to be bossy,obnoxious and loud. However the boss-lady (towkay-neo) is pretty nice and decent.

Service levels are atrocious - most of the time you have to help yourself to extra utensils etc.

The food and dishes served varies in quality (and quantity) depending on the mood of the cook(s). It can sometimes be excellent, other times nonsensical.

Overall I would give it 2 stars (Poor), just short of Terrible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than Top Spot!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Whenever people visit Kuching they are always asking about Top Spot Food Court and its famous seafood. We were exactly the same when we first came here, and we have eaten at Top Spot many times (there is nothing wrong with it). However, when a local Chinese friend of ours took us to See Good we were delighted to discover that the food was tastier and the atmosphere more fun here than at Top Spot.

See Good is a coffeeshop-style foodcourt with indoor and outdoor (mainly outdoor) seating. The large round tables facilitate the sharing of many large portions of delicious fresh seafood with your friends. The great thing is that See Good also has a good range of other meat dishes, and various vegetarian dishes such as the famous midin (jungle ferns), cangkok manis with egg, kangkong (water spinach) and mixed vegetables with tofu.

We have now visited See Good many times and I particularly enjoy sharing the whole sweet and sour seabass as well as the butter prawns and various vegetables.

See Good is not quite as easy to find as some other restaurants (behind Hornbill Corner off Jalan Ban Hock) but it is worth looking for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregkuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We had several diahes. Of those, i like the spicy fern, deep fried little fish and the hokkien noodles. As i was not the one who paid or put the order in i m not sure if thf nanes nor the price. The service was not great or welcoming. They did not even refill tea. An overall ok restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAL_SING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Higher price compare with TopSpot Seafood”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice seafood but prices are a bit expensive compare TopSpot Seafood. We have ordered 1 AsamFish, Steam Crabs (small x2), Fried Mixed Vegie, Fried Midie , 5 rice, 1 Herb tea & 1 plain water. 1st time tasted the Midie-a must try meal! We paid for RM130 for the dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsWalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skivarp, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent sea food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is an excellent seafood restaurant. Have a look at the best offers of the day and discuss the best way of cooking with the staff.
a fried or steamed fish, bamboo clams and a mixed vegetable is just great. I am sure they will offer you some rice but with three dishes you will have a har time to finish it. They also have a greta selection of red wines to acceptable prices. Make your guess and have a nice surprise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed See Good Food Centre also viewed

 

Been to See Good Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing