We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good guides and nice trips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CPH Travel Day Tours

CPH Travel Day Tours
Ranked #12 of 27 Tours in Kuching
Attraction details
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good guides and nice trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked four trips with this agency directly in their office. The first one to the orangatun sanctuary was a bit off putting as the guide left us in the parking lot as he had been instructed to shuttle another group to the main entrance first. So our things (water and bag) left in the van were not secure etc. and we had to stand in a hot parking lot for 20 minutes waiting for him. But the other trips were nice. The two guides -- A.J and Tony were excellent and we enjoyed the cultural center with A.J. who talked to us about his culture and upbringing and really made it all "real." Tony was great in Baku and understood and cared about our children's abilities etc. I would use this group again but only for these two fantastic guides. The van was a bit old and a couple of seat belts did not work well -- too awhile to get cold.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    4
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Longhouse and river cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

By far the best experience in Borneo. We visited the Ngemah Longhouse and it was one of the most eye opening and true traveler adventures I have ever had. We traveled by van and then longboat to reach the village. It was like being part of a discovery team finding a lost group of people. The overnight stay was minimal but made the whole experience. Don't expect luxury but do expect hospitality. Our guide Roman was spectacular. He kept us informed and allowed for stops when we needed it. He helped us feel welcome in the Longhouse and made us some great food!

We did try to do the wildlife cruise but it was canceled due to rain. There were 15 people but we all understood the reason and knew the trip would have been no fun if we had tried. AJ was the guide and he was great. He had the foresight to cancel the trip before we got on the boat because once you head out in the boat... Rain or shine there are no refunds.

I highly recommend CPH tours. Both guides I met were great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bedalu365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tony was an excellent Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our trip to Malaysia was booked with Selective Asia but for our stay in Kuching plus trips to Bako National Park, Batang Ai & Longhouse visit, they used the local travel agency CPH Travel. Specifically our guide was Tony Daniel. Tony picked us up at the airport & there was an instant rapport between us. He stated that today we were his VIP guests & that from tomorrow onwards we would be his friends. True to his word, his easy & accommodating style quickly made us think of him as a pal we were going places with, rather than our guide. Tony was knowledgable, considerate & was very skilled at assessing our capabilities, particularly on the trek in Bako & then adjusting his behaviour accordingly. As such we had an excellent few days with Tony, informative, interesting & above all a lot of fun.
We have no experience of CPH apart from Tony, but if he is indicative of their standard of guides, we'd have no trouble with them being used as the local travel company for any future visits to Sarawak, Borneo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolonela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not very professional”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked in advance a river cruise for 3 but it was raining that day and only one extra tourist came for the ride. I think it was not worth it for them to go out for only 4 people so they cancelled the cruise at the last minute when we have been waiting 1 hour in the rain...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maiaustralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Asia experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our first visit to Borneo and we have to say this tour guide company are first class, for anyone wanting information about the country, culture, wildlife, plants and much much more you must use this company. Their guides are the best we have ever come across, their knowledge is second to none, they made our tour the most amazing ever and we thank Mas & Ajay so much for being so professional, fun and above all informative and attentive to us. The tour we took was the Santubong wildlife cruise with AJay who told us everything we needed to know about the people, the river, wildlife etc we saw wild dolphins and so many types of monkeys, but even if we were not lucky to see wildlife the information from Ajay was fantastic. The boatman spotted so much wildlife for us his eyesight was incredible too. The next day we did the Bako national park with Mas, he was amazing his knowledge of the country, region, wildlife plants etc was brilliant we saw so many Probisic monkeys, snakes, etc, the day in the rain forest started with heavy rain which was a fabulous experience ending the day in baking sunshine. Our last day was a trip to Semonggok rehab centre with AJay and again we were blown away by the information and knowledge Ajay had on everything we wanted to know, but our highlight was seeing so many Orangutans from Richie the main one to the youngsters and baby. So anyone visiting borneo you must visit Kuching its a must for getting to know all about borneo it really was truly amazing. Thanks from Gina & Simon

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GBH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CPH Travel Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to CPH Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing