We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food”
Review of the.Dyak

the.Dyak
Ranked #38 of 589 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'Dyak' is pronounced 'da-yak'; the old English spelling used by the Brookes to classify generically the various tribes of Borneo. At the.Dyak we serve Dayak cuisine prepared with culinary technique and served on Dayak kitchenware. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages available. Air-conditioned with free WiFi. Smokers enjoy al-fresco dining. Open from 11:30am till last order at 8:30 pm every day including public holidays. Close on Sundays. Our table is not kosher as we serve pork.
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with friend at the restaurant. Great food even for a local Malaysian. Highly recommend the anchovy tempoyak.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hallothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    81
    37
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great restaurant which showcases the local Dyak cuisine. Local jungle ferns and vegetables are used to create wonderful dishes quite different from other Malaysian food. There are explanations about the food on the menu and staff are happy to help you order and explain dishes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, amazing people and an amazing atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant offers local dishes with fresh local ingredients. The food was excellent! But what made this diner even better was the friendly and sweet people and the museum-like historical decoration.

The restaurant is located just outside the city centre, but a cheap 15min drive by taxi is definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordi-Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant with unique food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Following Lonely Planet's top review, and in desperate need of a beer, four of us found our way to lunch at a charming restaurant that exceeded our expectations. From the interesting decor, to the wonderful mother of the owner who was doing front of house, to the delicious food, the whole experience was first rate. Mary helped us to order dishes--the pork curry, the jungle fern sautéed with fragrant wild ginger flowers, the three layered pork, the chicken panosh, and the special dessert of icecream topped with Tuak, a delicious rice wine. This was a memorable meal in an elegant setting, and we particularly appreciated the information card about the artifacts that decorated the restaurant and told the fascinating history of Mary's family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank storyteller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant if you want to be out of the tourist strip”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This lovely restaurant was mentioned as a favourite in the lonely planet with high recommendations to attend. Featuring a menu that embraced traditional flavours. I lived in Borneo as a little girl so I am always keen to try some where knew. We went along as we were curious to see what the fuss was over. We were not disappointed. Around about a 15-20 min taxi ride that cost RM 15.00 Malaysian from the main bazaar in Kuching on the water front. The waiter who we soon gathered was also part of the family that owned the restaurant was kind enough to help us chose the traditional dishes on the menu that he thought were the best.. We chose 4 between the two of us. The restaurant was full which we noted was a good sign as it was a Monday night. We also were delighted to see that we looked like the only Tourists in the restaurant. It seemed to attract locals who wanted to make their dinner experience a special experience. We noted that there was two small groups celebrating birthdays. The meal much to our delight was not expensive at all and meet more than are expectations of being truly detectable in fact mouth watering. I am mainly a vegetarian so much to offer on the menu.
The Dyak is small yet not to small, spotless with a wonderful atmosphere along with a blend of the new and old. The Dyak is based on the theme of the owners grandmother. Every bite was mouth watering. I highly recommend a visit to this delightful restaurant one that will not disappoint you in any way. A truly memorable experience. Wine is local along with tiger beer. Those that have complained I believe have not traveled extensively through Asia this really is a wonderful place to eat with such fascinating flavours and history you will only find local middle class who will not eat in the new KFC. A must!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ningaloo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the.Dyak also viewed

 

Been to the.Dyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing