We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly”
Review of The.Dyak

The.Dyak
Ranked #17 of 689 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'Dyak' is pronounced 'da-yak'; the old English spelling used by the Brookes to classify generically the various tribes of Borneo. At the.Dyak we serve Dayak cuisine prepared with culinary technique and served on Dayak kitchenware. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages available. Air-conditioned with free WiFi. Smokers enjoy al-fresco dining. Open from 11:30am till last order at 8:30 pm every day including public holidays. Close on Sundays. Our table is not kosher as we serve pork.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ate lunch at the.Dyak by default as the restaurant we were aiming for was closed.
We found the staff to be very friendly and happy to discuss the food and the Dyak life with us.
As we all ordered a different dish, we got to sample 6 items from the menu, all of which were very tasty. The photos, artwork and artifacts displayed around the restaurant lent a great ambience to the room.
We would all recommend this restaurant to others.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 195 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was recommended as the food of indigenous tribe of Sarawak. We ordered the chicken supposingly cooked in Bamboo but it was served in a bowl (it could have been cooked in a pot!). We also had the kerabu (salad) and I must say it was absolutely delicious. The grilled pork was not a standout as it was quite dry. The durian tempoyak was also quite good. This restaurant will be suitable for vegetarians and there are many variety of dishes suitable for vegetarians, not so for meat lovers. The service was a bit cold and aloof. No one came around to ask whether we enjoyed the food. The serving staff needed to be more approachable as it is the sort of restaurant that tourists would patronized. It was interesting to note that you will be charged for an empty plate or bowl. Apparently, it was the owner's way of being transparent with his costs! it was a put off...Suggest these costs are factored into the prices of the food as I think the customers will not mind paying an extra 50 cents or one ringgit more.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fuzzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to Dyaks after a local Kuching-ite had recommended this as their favourite restaurant. We convinced them to join us for our dinner so we left the ordering to them. We chose a chicken, a fish and 4 vegetarian dishes and each one was as good as the other. The owners father makes his own home made rice wine which was delicious and the deserts were pretty memorable. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant. Lovely decor and the family were really lovely.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The cuisine was of the local Dyak tribe in Sarawak and was certainly different. The Restaurant had good atmosphere and ambiance. The food however, was average at best. The food did not have any distinct taste and the meat pieces were not good either.

We had to sit outside as we did not make any reservation. The restaurant had run out of Mosquito coils so we had to battle the insects & get to our food at the same time. Service was slow but pleasant.

The charges for empty plates was a bit odd and the open request for tips was not customary of for the region.

First time experience was for curiosity but we may not go back.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MKelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Serve a good Dayak food but quality can be inconsistent sometimes and expect some disappointment. BBQ pork are sometimes too much fat, tepus guring and petai have different taste each visit. Ayam Pansuh is however taste great. We are surprised by the management at charging us rm0.5 to rm1.00 for each extra empty plate or bowl requested. First of its kind in kuching Ti charge for extra plate I guess.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Denwkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The.Dyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing