We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wide range of rare tropical orchids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarawak Orchid Garden

Sarawak Orchid Garden
Ranked #7 of 84 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wide range of rare tropical orchids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent as source of orchid field study. The numerous occasions that the Center organised were also well received by the general public and private orchid collectors who submitted their specimen for various attractive prizes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    111
    49
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet space with gorgeous flowers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Go to the Kuching waterfront and take one of the water taxis to the other side ( 33 cents). The orchid garden is free of charge but there is soothing music as you walk the paths to all the orchids; a nice quiet activity.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Small by comparison to other cities with similar attractions but lots of beautiful orchids to walk through. Very clean facilities & a great escape from the heat for a short while. Limited catering facilities

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilpotsBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Orchid Garden via Astana”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I don't where I read that the Orchid Garden was just behind Fort Margarita but let me warn you that it is fenced off and now a long walk. Instead cross the river to Astana and it is only 200 metres or so away. It was my last day in Kuching and I wanted to just smell the "roses" but was quite disappointed with the lack of variety of orchids suspect KR_EDINBURGH is correct. It took me an hour to walk there from Fort Margarita ....I was just happy to sit down and have a drink of water!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful places, flowers nice smelly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I like the orchid gardening very much. Even the plantation to all kinds of orchid flowers look likes how i feel the mood,very nicely like flying in the sky.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank judy_fang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarawak Orchid Garden also viewed

 

Been to Sarawak Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing