We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent western food”

Elephant Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #153 of 576 Restaurants in Kuching
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent western food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Having a craving for burgers after a long drizzly afternoon, my husband and I stumbled across this place on TA. It turned out to be better than expected and really cheap. We especially liked the Oreo cheesecake and decent coffee. Whole bill under rm50 so we were happy. Well worth a visit if you've had your fill of local food.

Helpful?
Thank sarahfbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great western”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent western with great servings at a great price....i thoroughly enjoyed the oreo cheesecake which was whipped by the owner according to the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Nur Aliaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Food are good, served real quick. Value for money. Place are clean and cozy. No complain at all. Now will rekomend to fmly and fwens.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HafizWahap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grilled red meat was pretty average”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

On celebrating mother's day, we went to Elephant cafe.

I decided to try their grilled meat - lamb, chicken with sausage. As expected, the sausage was horrible. It was highly processed. For the price, you cant really expect much...as they say, you get what you paid for. The quality of the lamb was lacking. The meat was somewhat chewy. I mostly tasted the sauce rather than the meat itself. i rather it was the other way round as i like to taste that grilled flavour. I am not into sauces. It was not a very satisfying meal. For the same price, i can get better grilled meat at the Zest restaurant where i can taste that grilled taste without being overpowered by the sauce. Zest is only within 10mins walk from Elephant cafe.

However, there is no denying that their milkshake was still fantastic.

Next time, i wont order their grilled red meat. Chicken is ok for me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kakiayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the much better 'western' outlets in Kuching”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The price is pretty good for the 'western' food. You get pasta, grilled meat plus chunky fries and a small number of local dishes. I thought the quality of the food was pretty decent for local Kuching standard. I dont find it easy to get non-local meal thats decent and this one is. My grilled maryland chicken was not swimming with thick sauce (it just coated the chicken and was enough without being too over powering) and its well seasoned.

Deco is pretty minimalistic. I like the cushion benches but not on the cheap plastic white chairs and tables, which dont seem to 'match' the benches. Guess that doesnt matter as long as food is decent.

Nice milkshakes for Rm6.80 at the time of writing. You could get sundae ice cream here but the machine makes a huge noise each time it is used. Maybe its their way of getting your attention to get some sundae.

Nice friendly staff. So, i am happy to pay for their 10% service charge as they deserve it unlike some other places.

Its a stone throw away from the 360 degree express hotel.

They are closed on Monday and opens for lunch and dinner for the weekdays and all day for the weekends. They dont serve breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kakiayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Elephant Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing