We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Abell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A great option for a comfortable stay in central Kuching.Very handy for a stroll to the river front, shopping, and eating places.
I'd have to agree with other reviews, the rooms without a window are claustrophobic. We were moved to one for one night because of our late booking, and I'm glad we were able to return to a windowed room which was excellent. Otherwise, everything you could want from a hotel. And thanks to "Stayfree" (Safree?) and the team for being so kind and helpful.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, ask for a room with a view to the outside world.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPKilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Abell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have a good experience staying in Abell Hotel, everything in the hotel is good and everything is well maintain. Walking distance to most of the attraction in Kuching, eg, China Town, Shopping Complex, Kuching waterfront, etc.
The Breakfast in Carvery Restaurant is just normal and do not have much variety of food, however, do not miss the ala-carte buffet dinner (BBQ) in Carvery Restaurant, is really extraordinary tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StellaKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

One of the best option to stay in a budget travel n kuching. Had stayed in an old lodge before but not worth the money and the time. If looking for a place to stay near waterfront, this hotel would be a good option. Small room but worth the money. Dont stay in an ancient lodging along the waterfront. Its creepy and sad.

Room Tip: No swimming pool i think
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saidah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent seven nights at this hotel. It was our home for a week and a delight to come home to after each day's exploring. We had a superior window street view room on the 3rd floor. I assume cheaper rooms would have alley views or windows looking into an internal garden. Having a street view only advantage was to see what the weather was like outside, otherwise who cares, we are only there to sleep.
The room was very clean and comfortable. Looks like it was recently renovated. Plenty of room for storage, tea/coffee making and a fridge for our sole use. A wide screen TV was also included.
The only negatives is there was no radio/clock, no bed side light or bed side light switch.
I cannot comment on the restaurant as we ate out each night and provided our own breakfast (fruit, milk and cereal purchased from a local supermarket).
Excellent location being right in the heart of town and only a five minute walk to the waterside.
The staff were always friendly and very helpful. When asked for something out of the ordinary they were always happy to help.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the superior view room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

stayed 3 nights. ironically the family rooms with a queen and a single bed was the smallest room they had. tiny little window which gives the room a basement feeling. the tiny window without a view just doesnt make sense as the room is in the 2nd floor not the basement!!! no idea why s.o. would design a room window like this!!! the rooms were ok but too expensive for what they offered. booking online is much cheaper than their normal walk in rate.
the family room had a big bathroom but not very well cleaned.there is wifi and aircon in the rooms.
the staff is very friendly and very helpful. they offer tours which can be booked at the reception.
this hotel is located second row from the waterfront.

Room Tip: we had the family room on the 2nd floor.the room was very small and the window too high and tiny.no...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Althou the water pump is noisy due to the pumping system but thats not a big deal. Staff are friendly, keep smiling all the way from open up main door till up to room. Cleanliness is good, at least its clean and comfy to stay in. It worth to stay in again for the next time when i visit Kuching again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseyYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Checking experience was wonderful, staff was very friendly and helpful. this is 3 star hotel, so the room you can aspect to be small. We like our room, clean, nice clean bedding and the bathroom was sufficient. the location of the hotel is great. a lot of restaurant around from local food to western to the fast food.
the big complaint I have is, 1) breakfast, one word " Lousy."
2) the hotel could definitely use sound proofing, I could hear people talking in the middle of the night and taking a shower.

Room Tip: ask for the room close to the elevator. If you like your room with window to look out, don't boo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alangkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abell Hotel

Address: No 22 Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Hotel Class:3 star — Abell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abell Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing