We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, clean and cheap but forget any nook(ie)!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nook B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nook B&B
Ranked #18 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quirky, clean and cheap but forget any nook(ie)!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights after hearing about the B&B from the cafe below.

Its small and compact but so quirky and homely! Its lovely really. There are only a few 'private' rooms and a couple of shared rooms but they all looked clean and tidy. It was not busy at all when we were staying so no problems with the sharing bathrooms/showers. Bathroom and showers were immaculate and clean and looked new. Actually, looked new to the point that it was better than my own bathroom in my home!

There is a very small communal area with 2 armchairs, TV that didnt really work and a little balcony. Again, very cosy and cute. If its booked to full capacity this may have been a problem though.

Rooms are more like 'open planned office' style! So its just a big room upstairs and sections have been partitioned off with sliding doors and I suppose you can say side panels (no ceiling) - I think that makes sense?! Its still private but you can hear everyone and everything. Wasn't a problem for me.

Staff are very nice and friendly. Food in the cafe is really good as is the coffee.... breakfast is included and surprisingly is good (not stale bread and make yr own toast!). Consisted of boiled egg, toast, fruit and tea/coffee.

Would stay here again. Its cheap!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
17
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havana, Cuba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was spending some days there. It is a very nice place with a nice staff. Occasionally with light party on weekends. So very nice place with a very nice owner (Frankie)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Csaba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Nook B&B is very nice and clean place with an amazing people working in with great food and juices...and cheap breakfast:)
If you come to Kuching you should go to this place and meet Franky - owner of this guesthouse...she is so friendly person and always prepared to help you organize you trips around Kuching...
Thank you again

Luka & Nina :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nice place, well arrange, good food and great staff! What else to ask!
Definitely a good place to stay if you are looking for a warm atmosphere in Kuching.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank astridboutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Nook provides everything for your body, mind and soul.
Body: Clean rooms, warm shower, good food. ( i even took some of the curry with me to germany)
Mind: Lovely people to talk to. Frankie and Dave engage in every topic you like.
Soul: Their hospitality makes you feel at home immediately. Beware not to be petted
to death ( just kidding). Frankie also likes to show her guests a lot of places in Kuching.
It's a place with an excellent spirit. Highly Recommended. phil

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

If u have plan to visit Brunei with backpacking, dont think about anyother names, NOOK its all about your needs, location is perfect, 5 minutes walk from waterfront, and if you like night life its just 2 minutes walk. rooms are pretty clean, with air con, and great advantage is the delicious food they serve no need to search for another one, and the owner looks like the real tour guide of kuching, and she know the hidden secret of sarawak. sure you will explore something best u ever tried. i heard they do conduct some dance night and food hunting.more over pick up from airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachu41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The title says it all. If you're staying in Kuching, there is no better place than the Nook. Frankie (the owner) ensures a pleasant stay, cute decor and delicious food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMJury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.0 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nook B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nook B&B

Property: Nook B&B
Address: No, 186-187, Level 2-4, | Song Thian Cheok Road, Kuching, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center, 2 minutes walk to the waterfront, china town, malls, eating outlets, clubs, bus station and taxi and make convenience, easy for all travelers.4 storey building, lobby and cafe bar is on level 2, with hang-out area for TV, reading, games and meeting friends. At the cafe bar, we serve drink and light food. We have deluxe double room, deluxe single, double, twin, dorm of 4 and 5. At each floor, there are place to sit and chill out. Shower room are make unique, in a very traditional style where you can look out to the sky while shower. Environment are make friendly for everyone. We practice, "Love, Peace and Harmony" concept at The Nook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Nook B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nook B&B Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing