We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went there twice!”
Review of Absolute Tribal

Absolute Tribal
Ranked #114 of 620 Restaurants in Kuching
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in a historic building built during the Brooke Era about 120 years ago, Sarakraf Pavilion brings to you an visiting experience that is rich in history and reflects the fascinating sentiment of the time and heritage of Sarawak in general.The Sarakraf Center preserves arts and crafts that could not be seen elsewhere. Guests are invited to join cooking lessons and shop for memorable souvenirs from Sarawak.Absolute Trival Restaurant is one of the unique feature of Sarakraf Pavilion. The restaurant presents a unique dining experience in the courtyard and serves Chinese, Authentic and fusion local dishes as well as a huge selection of Thai cuisine.The historical attachment of the establishment will make you feel as if you have travel back in time and take a refuge to a spiritually enchanting holiday.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed very close to Absolute Tribal, so went based on Trip Advisor reviews. Hadn't booked and the place was rammed, but they asked if we didn't mind going in a room where they where making a promo film for Sarawak tourism.
Long story short, had fantastic food (Dabai rice wonderful) and great entertainment with the film crew and owner Gerard very sociable and helpful with recommendations! The crew food also looked superb!
Such a good night we went back for our last night in Kuching and not disappointed a second time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ahmerryweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, Owner at Absolute Tribal, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Ahmerryweather,

Although the weather wasn't that great during those days when you and your family were here in Kuching, we sincerely hope our food could at least made up for these short comings.

It was really nice to have guests as friendly as your family dining here as we talked about food and others , in between dishes....just like we have known each other for years.

My apologies for the occassionally-interupted service during the filming of the "promo short film" when you were here, the film will be broadcasted globally in tandem with the Ministry of Tourism's awareness campaign world-wide on "Visit Sarawak Year " in 2014. but I hope you guys had great fun sharing with the filming crew and the filming stars as well.

Thank you for the second visit, and we look forward to many many future visits in days to come.

Thank you very very much....

Regards,

Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just had an excellent meal at Absolute tribal. Unusual flavours in really interesting combinations. Friendly staff who had the time to explain what was going on in the dishes, including the origin of the dishes and flavours. Unfortunately I'm leaving tomorrow but will be back next time I'm in Kuching. Reasonably priced and well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, Owner at Absolute Tribal, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Geoff,

It was great serving you and we are indeed thrilled to read about your wonderful review about us here in TripAdvisor. Thank you so so much.

It was also great to chat with you about food in Australia especially Thai Restaurant and your experience there compared to restaurant here in Kuching. As we need exposure in this industry as much as we can as well as to be in the clearer picture of what guests from other countries expect from the food industry respectively, our chat opened up the frontier a little wider, for me.

Thank you so much for dining with us and we look forward to another experience with you again, in the near future.

Oh, Nice t-shirt you had with the turquoise snake crawling over your shoulder. You blended right in with that t-shirt while you sit under our Rambutan tree in the middle of our restaurant. LOL

Thanks again,

Regards,

Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I'm a little amazed at the reviews for this place. In my experience it certainly does not have the best food in kuching. The menu is vast, yes, but that seems more to do with the fact that they do not have a focus to their food. Fusion is really just a term for no direction. We went there for the first time with a friend who is a chef, a rather disappointing experience when there are so many better places to go. The MSG is used in a particularly heavy handed manner - another off putting factor for us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank monita_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, Owner at Absolute Tribal, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Monita,

Thank you for your feedback and your unique experience at Absolute Tribal Restaurant. I am graciously convinced that you are really confused when you wrote the review on us, but its ok, please allow me to clear that confusion in you here in the TripAdvisor 's global platform.

FIRST, please allow me to enlighten you that being FUSION is also a direction. Its really unfair to say that being fusion is being unfocused, please be careful with comments this " spontaneous" on a global vehicle like TripAdvisor, you will either get laughs or poison arrows missiling your way in no time,THIS, being one. laughs or poison arrow, you decide. ahahahah

However, Absolute Tribal Restaurant is NOT a fusion Restaurant. Our menu selection is huge simply because we have TWO kitchens serving two different cuisines, one authentically Thai and the other Authentically Sarawakian Chinese. We do have dishes that we created by collaborating two culinary styles as an effort in Food R&D so as to enhance the existing ethnic cooking that Sarawak has to offer. Please check with me first before posting if you are not sure, you will see me running around among guests asking for feedback and comments, please approach me if you have any comments and doubt, then. posting untrue comments here will confuse the readers and wasted this brilliant platform with your review. Please, never do that to other restaurants again. Thank you, appreciate that if your answer is an nice and firm " okay"

On whether our food is the best in Kuching, that's pretty much up to one's own preference, we are so so sorry that our food does not come first on your preferred list like the other reviewers here did. The important thing is not whether our food is the best, but we envisage to be an establishment where visitors here could experience Sarawak hospitality to the fullest, be it in food, culture, heritage and lifestyle, all under one roof as an enormous package. We dont expect everybody to fall in love with what we do because we understand its a challenge to do that, especially when you came with a CHEF, and we understand, that your comment may be bias when another counterpart from the same industry is involved. But having said that, thank you for making an effort to come, please come again, you may see more things and taste more dishes that you might like but missed during your last visit. please be our guest. thank you.

oh, One more thing, if you do decided to come again, please respond to our crew that you DONT want MSG, our crew brings along a small sign that allow customers to alert our kitchen on your decision on the use of MSG, SALT, OIL as well as others that might be allergic to your body, please instruct our crew of your need there and then, not here.

Thank you so much for your review, although I dont agree with all of it, but please allow us to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you very very much.

Regards,

Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant was a very short walk from the hotel. The staff and facilities were all good and lunch was lovely and inexpensive.

1  Thank Christine482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, Owner at Absolute Tribal, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

DEAR CHRISTINE,

Thank you so much for your review on us here at Absolute Tribal Restaurant. really appreciate that.

Thank you also to make an effort to actually walked here and we are pleased that you find our food worth the effort.

Thank you and hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks

Regards,

Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Absolute Tribal's signature laksiam dish is an original fusion of Thai tom yam and traditional Sarawak laksa. The resulting dish is delicious and bursting with aroma. Besides a range of local "tribal" dishes, the restaurant also serves arguably the best-tasting Thai food in Kuching. Their prices might be considered slightly on the high side for locals but you still see Kuching people dining here. I think this is testament to the quality and uniqueness of their food. Do try if you are in Kuching!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank davidkwchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald G, Owner at Absolute Tribal, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear David,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on our Laksiam.

Laksiam is dish we daringly created by fusing the goodness of our Sarawak Laksa with Thai's Tom Yum, we have been receiving tremendous good review on it since then, both here at TripAdvisor as well as other food blogs and facebook groups.

However, we also received comments that we should not " mess up" traditional cuisines as those should stay as it it. As a matter of fact, as a food entrepreneur, we are constantly looking at how best we could enhance dishes so we could serve the best to the market and industry. This is part and parcel of our Research and Development effort to add on our list of signature touches from Absolute Tribal Restaurant.

Of course, the traditional dishes MUST be preserved and maintained and therefore we are serving those authentic dishes as it is while branding the new ones created as Local Fusion.

Thank you again for patronizing ATR and we certainly look forward to seeing you and your guests her again.

Thanks

Regards,

Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absolute Tribal also viewed

Kuching, Sarawak
Kuching, Sarawak
 
Kuching, Sarawak
 
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Absolute Tribal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing