We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean rooms, but noisy”
Review of Woodpecker Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodpecker Lodge
Ranked #28 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms, but noisy”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We really liked this lodge, as it was a good value. Rooms were clean and comfortable and location is great - right in the center of town.

The only downside is that the lodge is directly above a karaoke parlor that stays open until 2am. You can definitely hear the music and singing from the rooms. If you are a light sleeper, this may be a problem for you. Otherwise, it's a pretty good place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bbkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
10
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Woodpecker Lodge for five nights. It is located very well - you have to walk more or less around the corner and are at Kuchings' waterfront. You reach the guesthouse by a steep step - if you are not able to carry your luggage, they will help you. Our room was tiny - but we enjoyed it a lot. Very clean, comfortable bed, and a good bathroom. There is very little space - but this space is very well and practically used for the most important things you need. Our room was on the 3rd floor - so we did hear the noise of the disco below (every evening), but it didn't bother us and we slept well. The owner of the guesthouse is very friendly, calm and helpful. If you wish she gives you a lot of tips, makes suggestions what to see or where to eat. She supplies with folders, maps, information about Kuching/Sarawak. You even can rent a car with her help. No breakfast. But there are great eateries just around the corner with the best Laksa Sarawak and other local specialities. We surely recommend this place and would come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Positive:
+ Staff is very friendly, they are helpful with anything and always smile
+ the room is very modern and the bed is fancy and comfortable, everything is clean
+ private bathroom
+ the location is good, it is a short walk to the city center, bars and restaurants are in a short walking distance, a boat to the other side of the river departs close by
+ AC
+ WiFi

Negative:
- it is very, very noisy during the night. The club downstairs plays loud music until 2:30 am even though there are no guests most of the time. Sleeping is difficult.
- even though you can close the door to the bathroom, you can hear everything in the room (there is a space beetween bathroom and room), so it is best if you know each other well already
- no breakfast

I would not stay here again because it was just too loud.

Room Tip: Any room far away from the club downstairs would be good (try not to stay on the first floor close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Could hardly sleep due to the loud music from downstairs.
The rooms are tiny but clean.
The staff is very friendly.
No breakfast availible.
The location is not the best, quite a long walk to the city center.
Down the street on the opposit side of the busy street is a great restaurant.
Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniellev202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. For 3 nights, I don't had enough sleep because of the noise. But all are in good conditions. From here we can walked to waterfront, and also to the statue of cat. The owner was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miz_Jezzy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel as I need easy access to city center and the location is excellent. Kuching Waterfront is just a short walk away. The hotel itself is located above a karaoke pub and the insulation is not that great but it is no issue for me as I can sleep in most extreme noise. But maybe for the future, they might want to invest into better insulation. In terms of eating, there is a chinese restaurant just beside the hotel with fastfood such as KFC, Pizza Hut and McDonalds around the corner should anyone with fussy kids are wondering. The room is small (single) but clean with air conditioning and flat screen LCD tv. For anyone who doesnt mind the noisy condition, I would recommend this hotel but its certainly not for light sleepers. A shopping tip, take the boat (cost 50 cents) from Kuching Waterfront across to Kampung Boyan for authentic kek lapis(layered cake) and terubuk masin (salted chinese herring).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keysersozei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Exterior was not very appealing. Price was reasonable considering we only wanted a very basic accommodation. The twin room was clean and has its own bath, a small television and air condition. Wifi was intermittent. Slightly noisy at night (but I can sleep in any situation) .

The main reason I felt happy and therefore recommending the lodge is…it was family-operated hence; staying there would make you feel like you are home. Everyone’s very helpful and very eager to help with directions, recommendations, etc etc..For me, It may only be a basic accommodation, but tell you, they’ll treat you like VIPs.=) keep it up Woodpecker lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_piaalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.2 mi away
Le Nomade Hostel
Le Nomade Hostel
#31 of 74 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Beds Guesthouse
Beds Guesthouse
#9 of 80 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Padungan Hotel
Padungan Hotel
#12 of 80 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodpecker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodpecker Lodge

Property: Woodpecker Lodge
Address: Lot 264 2nd And 3rd Floors | Jalan Chan Chin Ann,, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodpecker Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Woodpecker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodpecker Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing