We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait”
Review of Noodle Descendants

Noodle Descendants
Ranked #64 of 586 Restaurants in Kuching
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our party of two waited for 40 minutes (9.30am-10.10am) for our food, which we felt was unremarkable. There are many places in Kuching with better and cheaper kolo mee (A bowl of noodles and soup cost just over RM10) and the pork 'organ-meat' soup seemed pretty average compared to what you get in KL. Take a photo and go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Slow good food.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

U need to wait to get a place to sit, then wait to be asked order drinks, wait to be asked order for food, n Waite thenoodles to be served. Even with less than 10 people before you, waiting total is easily 40 mins. Food is better than average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steventsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food, Not Necessary Very Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

It's really good food that was worth waiting for. The coffee shop is usually always full. So just share table with someone. The noodles and soup and ingredients are nice. It was a little difficult when we first sat down, not sure how to place order. But the only person taking order was very good. She went around, asking 3 questions (max), and she will get you what you need! Just make sure she knows you have arrived, and have not ordered!

Iced Lemon Tea seemed to be the must-have drink. We ordered, and it was nice.

Price is actually higher than other places. But I still think it is a place you really want to check it out, and the food that you should try.

We enjoyed both the food and the drink! You will.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Famous for its Kolo Mee”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Let me just say ... patience is a prerequisite.

We had Kolo Mee for brunch at Sin Min Joo, near the corner of Carpenter St and Bishopgate St. This shop is famous for its Kolo Mee and sells only that. Always crowded. You just sit tight at your table once you find one (shared basis or otherwise), and two different staff will eventually come to take your order for drinks and food (in that order). They somehow seem to know who came first before whom.

The noodles (either thin or flat) are cooked, then lightly tossed in a light soy sauce/vinegar mix. Accompanied with a bowl of hot soup with every possible part of a pig and its innards, and also fishballs, fishcake, seaweed and preserved salted mustard green. The portions were big. Found it a tad too salty, but still very tasty and definitely unlike other versions of Kolo Mee found elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must Try!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Excellent Kolok Mee, although I'm waiting for 1 hour + for the mee, anyhow it's worth it. You may order 2 bowl or 3 bowl for yourself if you are a big eater to avoid no need to wait for so long. The noodles + the sauce, really tasty. The noodles was extremely elastic when u bite it. Great!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jickky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noodle Descendants also viewed

Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Noodle Descendants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing