We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Fairy Caves

Fairy Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Fairy Cave and Wind Cave from Kuching City
Ranked #4 of 88 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was truly a wind cave as you can feel the wind blowing past as you enter the caves through a steep flight of stone stairs. definitely a place to visit. Only let down was the fairy as i expected something of a natural stone carving but it was just a man made tiny doll sitting up there. the natural cave structure was amazing thought. prepare a good camera setting for dark places. drank from a pool of water insided the cave which was so refreshing and tasty. must visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindahinnasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    167
    51
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Bring a Flashlight”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This cave was the highlight of our trip to Kuching, because it was a real adventure. Once you climb the concrete stairs four levels to get to the mouth of the cave, you explore it on your own. It can get a little spooky as you work your way from one end to the opposite entrance. A flashlight for each person is a necessity. Note that some of the steps on the wooden stairs inside the cave are broken. Wear decent sneakers as the concrete steps can be slippery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really interesting and fun to explore. A bit of exercise involved climbing the stairs and slopes, but not difficult. Take a head torch and or a regular torch. Easy to combine with Wind Cave which makes a half day out from Kuching.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Interesting day out”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Caves are amazing - but the stairs up to the cave entrance are a bit tiring. Make sure you wear good boots or hiking shoes. Take a torch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Not lit up by coloured lights and rightly so.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It often annoys me to see negative comments reviewing a cave about how it was dirty and dark...that is what makes it a cave. I get bored of the overly touristy caves that lose their magic because they are constantly lit up by coloured lights.

Outside here there is a large multi storey staircase to get to the entrance; then there is a steep lader and rocks to climb over that a person with mobility problems would struggle with; from then on the main cave has a few concrete step walkways, and dirt underfoot. Inside, the huge main cavern is lit by sunlight.

I was glad I went with a guide as we left the walkways and went to the back of the cave...a place where, if alone, I would not have gone as I would have considered it out of bounds. We walked back through a tunnel that would have been pitch black without our torches, and worked our way towards a rickety wooden ladder way back, that led to a small platform on the outside where you could sit quietly and listen to the birds sing.

Our guide Bong told us stories and pointed out wildlife when in the dark tunnel. He also mentioned that Malaysia has made a deliberate decision not to light up their caves with electric lights as they want tourists to experience real caves. I liked this approach, a did feel like a bit of an explore making my way through a dark tunnel, looking at rock features and trying to spot wildlife.

Don't forget to bring a torch.

I paid 90rm for a morning visting the fairy and wind caves with a guide from Borneo International Travel a full day excursion is not necessary. I was picked up and dropped off at my hotel. I was a single traveller and found there were only 2 other people in the group so it did not feel like being part of a group herded around.

If there are 3 or more people in your group it may be worth hiring a car and driver (easy and cheap) to visit several places in one day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairy Caves also viewed

 

Been to Fairy Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing