We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret dish you need to try”

Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 576 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Banting, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A secret dish you need to try”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were impressed by this restaurant on several levels.
One a very fair price for a bottle of wine, RM70 for a wine we paid RM60 for in a super market.
Two the service, not the fastest but professional, and the inattentiveness of the owner.
The Kedai Bindi, exquisite. I am not surprised that the recipe is a secret. We were a little disappointed with the Sheesh Kabab which had been left in the tandor a little too long and dried out, the Palok Chicken Massala was very watery, little doubt that the spinach had not been drained properly, or at all, before being added to the dish.
Overall a pleasant meal that could have been better but at a very reasonable price.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Twitchyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Twitchyjim,

Thank you for your suggestion to improve our operation. We have been in this business for the past 20 years and we still could take good suggestion for improvement from ardent customers like you all.

Hope to see you again to serve you with your suggestion. We will keep the wine price affordable to you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    101
    40
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food ok, strange owner”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food was ok, although on the more expensive side (just as their drinks).
Shame it was only lukewarm and the portions were not the biggest.
The staff was very attentive and friendly, just get rid of setting food on the table guests didn't order (but still have to pay for). I know it is clearly written on the menu, but not very welcoming.
The talkative owner wanted a chat, but we thought it was a bit disturbing.
The worst part came when he wanted to make clear that he is earning pockets full of money.
Wouldn't come back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JKFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear JKFD of Belgium (the seat of power of European Union)

I thought people from Belgium are bunch of jovial people because we had many people from Belgium, Denmark, other Scandinavian countries, Poland, Italy, Czechoslovakia, plus all the Schengen countries. I never realised that people live in Belgium who are not so open minded and do not understand a joke from seriousness. (just like Mr. Putin)

You said "the food was ok but bit expensive". - You must remember that GOOD things NEVER comes cheap. You also said "shame it was only lukewarm and portions were not the biggest". - I do not understand what you meant the portion were not the biggest. Every dish in our restaurant is properly measured before we cook. There is no difference between you and others. All of you are our valued customers.

I also do not understand your quote "just get rid of setting food on the table" - I assumed you are talking about Papadoms, a starter cracker we provide to every guest when they sit down and after ordering, waiting for the food to arrive. It only cost you 11 euro cents per piece. So we charged two of you Malaysia Ringgit RM2 = 44 euro cents. We are not robbing you as the Papadoms cost money to provide the same on your table and I'm sure you are capable of spending 44 cents when you travel around the world for the service you got it and you enjoyed it.

We have mentioned in the menu book that if you don't like the Papadoms you should have told the waiter that you do not like the Papadom and the waiter would have taken away from your table, thus it would not had triggered a charge to your account. I believe from the CCTV record that you have enjoyed the Papadoms. There is nothing wrong you paying for the service and the food you enjoyed.

You further said "the talkative owner wanted a chat, but we thought it was a bit disturbing". Further you mentioned, "the worst part came when the owner wanted to make clear that he is earning pockets full of money". - As I mentioned earlier, the owner was trying to make your dining pleasure with us with some jokes thrown at the conversation. There was no sinister intention with the owner. Almost all guests enjoyed a good conversation with some joke. If he had said that you were making money out of it, then it was not a joke. He said he wanted to make more money, then that is a joke. And more seriously, I hope you will understand that without money nothing can be done. You can't travel, you can't come to our restaurant. So please be magnanimous in your outlook of this beautiful world.

I would like you to come back and enjoy some good food. There are plenty of them in our menu. Without Papadoms and without the owner's presence. Our city is the best, much better than Brussels.

See you pretty soon in our restaurant and thanks for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We went here as my daughter had seen it when we were passing by, and we weren't disappointed, there were lots of choices to choose from, the only thing that the vindaloo beef my husband had did not taste as great as a usual vindaloo tastes, but every else was great, would definitely go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guru314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Aussie Guru,

We appreciate you and your family patronising our restaurant, I think it was on 6 August. We regret the Beef Vindaloo was not up to your mark. We take note of the shortcomings and you can be rest assured your next visit it would be a likeable and explosive Beef Vindaloo if ordered.

Hope to see you again when you visit our great city Kuching next time.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great indian food in Kuching”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Because this place was around the corner of our hotel and our guide recommended it (although he did not like Indian food :-) ), we gave it a try. What a great choice! Very friendly staff. We had chicken tandoori, okra and naam which where all great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex-HMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant during your short stay in Kuching and we are glad that you enjoyed our food and hospitality and looking forward to serve you during your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great service, great people.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wanted to have a decent curry and we really fancied the look and menu of this place as it was obviously well maintained, clean and cared for even though it was shut.
Unfortunately for us it was the week after Eid and so it was shut for two nights but on our last night in Ku Ching it was open and we got some lovely Indian food. We reckon we're pretty good judges as my girlfriend is Indian (her mums a spectacular cook). We only had a few dishes as we had eaten a big lunch but the aloo paratha was really nice, chicken tikka masala was cooked to perfection and naan melted in your mouth. Service was great and the manager was a great guy who made us feel welcome and made us laugh (in my opinion, any of the previous reviewers who have wrote stuff about him being annoying need to look at themselves and their uptight nature) Relatively expensive for Ku Ching, but it is a slight up market place compared to other places we've visited, if I ever go back to Borneo I'll go to Lyn's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Gragger,

Thank you Sir. Looking forward to serve you again when you visit Kuching next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing