We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place”

Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 575 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“loved this place”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

this was fantastic and not just for the food. the hospitality given to us by the owner was as though we were long lost friends visiting his home. Of course the food was great with plenty of choices for all. The owner spent quality time with all patrons which really made for a lovely night. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the experience too, even though they weren't so adventurous with the food options.
recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kawoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear kawoos,

Thank you for your apt reviews. We look forward the packs revisit to our restaurant for another joyful occasion. We enjoyed serving you, the esteemed guest from the land of kangaroo.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    101
    40
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing selection and helpful staff ”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The menu has an incredibly vast selection of food, but quantity doesn't diminish quality. The friendly staff will help you select for your own tastes and the paneer dish I had was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for taking time to comment on our restaurant during your visit. Hope you will visit us when you are in Kuching in the near future and we shall definitely serve you with all your selection from our extensive menu to your full satisfaction.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't compare to London curry”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a good meal tonight here at Lyn's. The service was very good with good English (slight mixup when I accidentally ordered a extra dish, but with a quick explanation it was taken away and did not appear on our bill).

Unfortunately all three main dishes we ordered left something to be desired. They seemed to prefer pepper as the main spice, and every other flavour was somewhat subdued. Admittedly, still enjoyable though - we had mutton do piaza, a paneer dish with mushroom and a vegetable dish. The marinated beef naan was excellent.

Wanting something sweet to wash down the curry, as so often you do after spicy food (these three dishes barely registered above mild, but the salt and pepper seasoning left us thirsty) - we opted for the kulfi which was spot on! Not too sweet, with a crunchy texture and perfectly rich and creamy. We shared one and I nearly asked for a second...

Overall: worth a visit if you are craving an Indian curry in Kuching, but there are much better places for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ben S,

Thank you for taking time to give your comments on your visit to our restaurant while you are in Kuching. Hope you will come back to enjoy another round of Indian food with us, this time with more choices of food to satisfy your craving for Indian curry.

Thank you once again for patronising our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really good Indian food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a huge fan of Indian food normally as I'm not good with spice but my boyfriend really wanted an Indian while we were in Kuching. We found Lyn's on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. One of the best Indian's I've had in a long time and I'm from the UK so I've had a few! We had the beef masala and a chicken dish with spinach and both were delicious. The mango lassy were freshly made and tasty too. Recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Camilla_Lawson,

I'm glad you are able to taste real authentic Indian food with us while you are visiting Kuching. Perhaps now you can start taste in other Indian food outlets, there are plenty in the UK and if anyone of them did not give you the satisfaction you can always visit us and we will endeavour to give you the best.

Thanks for your good review and patronising us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with the best service!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just happened by this place and it was perfect for dinner. The owner greatest us out front, always made sure everything was okay and helped in making some great recomendations. Service and food both fantastic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krm03d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Krm03d,

It is amazingly fantastic reviews! Thank you. Looking forward to serve you worthy of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant also viewed

 
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing