We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent venue for a fine dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant

Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 555 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Singapore
1 review
“An excellent venue for a fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant after observing many reviews in TripAdvisor mostly encouraging though there were few unfavourable reviews in the earlier part of the sequence of events. We were amazed to see an extensive menu numbering hundreds of them ,well written such selection of choices me and my wife never experienced in an Indian restaurant in many part of the world we visited. After settling down, we settled a bottle of red wine, it was reasonably price and our children ordered the famous Mango Lassi. I tasted the Lassi and experience extraordinary tasteful as I understand the Lassi is made from freshly made yogurt and fresh mango. We ordered dishes Chicken Afghani Masala, Mutton Balti, Fish Tikka Masala and for vegetable we went for choices Veg. Kundam. Our choice for Bread we selected Garlic Naan and for children they choose Cheese Naan. We also went for a portion of their Plain Briyani Rice. The chicken dish, Chicken Afghani Masala was fantastically tasteful dish. It is made from cubes of chicken tenderly cooked and wrapped in omelette and finally lavishly cooked with special thick gravy whereas the Mutton Balti originated from state of Kashmir migrated to Birmingham, England and most Englishman love to eat it with the pieces of Naans in their hands. I and my wife enjoyed the British way of eating one of India's migratory food. One should try the Naan in the Lyns. We understand they use the best fine flour to make their Naan and it was crispy and puffy. Now the Vegetable dish, Veg. Kundam one can only get in Lyns not anywhere else in this part of the world. The dish is made from fresh Pineapple ring and other fresh vegetable and I suggest it is a must for all vegetarian lovers. Oh! I forgot to mention the good way of making Briyani Rice is to use olive oil and not any other vegetable shortening. This is what we have been told at Lyns and no wonder when you eat you do not feel heavy. All in all the total bill was RM152(USD50). It was a fine dining experience. We would not forget and our stay in Kuching made it more memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alainthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear alainthomas,

We thank you for visiting our restaurant. and your apt reviews. You can be rest assured that We shall always endeavour to create the best North Indian cuisines in the city for the benefit of visitors to our enchanting city.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    98
    38
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Really Nice Indian Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hankering for some Indian food, we noticed on TA that Lyns Tandoori Restaurant was well recommended so we wandered along to check it out. Good menu with lots of different dishes to choose from and we started off with popadoms and chilli dip and then had a couple of different curries with a nan bread and rice to share. Food was lovely and the service was fine (we think that the waiter was new as he seemed to be getting trained at the same time as serving us - no problem for us as we all have to learn somehow). The restaurant was quick to point out that they sell beer which isn't on the menu so hubby had a glass of tiger beer (9 RM). Food was delivered to the table fairly quickly and it tasted lovely. Nan bread was a bit thinner than you get in the UK so might be an idea to order one each rather than share etc. Restaurant feels as if it caters for tourists as all the people in when we were there were western - prices reflect this too. Owner speaks good English which is a bonus. Overall, a very nice meal in a comfortable setting. Thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear lisawScotland,

Thank you for your apt reviews. We also thank you for your understanding of our new waiter's shortcomings if any as you realised is a new guy. We hope he will be useful staff to serve the guests.

We look forward to serve you better during your next visit to our enchanting city, Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had been recommended this place by a fellow traveller who had dined there the previous evening. We were told the food can take a little time, as it is made from scratch, so we came early and the food didn't take long to arrive. Food was very flavoursome, and plenty of options for me as a vegetarian. Good value for money. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSCNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear JSCNewZealand,

Greetings to New Zealand. Thank you for your appreciative review which we believe is another tool to maintain the good quality of our restaurant, service and food by the combined effort of management and all the staff.

Thank you once again for your apt review and looking forward to serve you during your next visit to our enchanting city, Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Amazing mutton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I thought this gonna be just another regular Indian restaurant. It wasn't. The food is great and the price is very reasonable.

The staff really can recommend you the menu that suits your wanting. The curry is great, naan and prata was perfect. All fresh. The smells is so intoxicating.

Even if you don't really like Indian food when you come here toy will get great experience and taste left in your mouth.

When I go there at 5pm I was the only customers there but they serve me the same w when I was there and the restaurants was full. Great services.

Just this is the must try restaurant

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayu .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ayu,

Terima kasih. It is a great pleasure to serve the great people who enjoy great food.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful review. Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Indian food, top notch. Friendly, knowledgable owner and staff. Atmosphere nothing fancy, easy to find.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trips00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear trips00,

Now you know where to find the best North Indian food when you come for next visit to our enchanting city, Kuching. Thank you for your valuable reviews and we look forward to see you again with your South Korean friends.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing