We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud music from next door, free tea and coffee and unclean toilets”
Review of Backpacker's Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backpacker's Stay
Ranked #17 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loud music from next door, free tea and coffee and unclean toilets”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is cheap and strategically located, 1 staff member on reception with long hair is very friendly otherwise other staff-especially cleaners-are pretty miserable and cleaners do a lot of sitting around whilst the toilets need a good clean. Only 1 shower has hot water and the internet connection is unreliable but most of all, you will not sleep well because of music from Chinese restaurant next door

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
10
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

But the toilet and shower are not. The day i stayed here we had to wait until the bucket full with water before we can take shower. When go downstairs to checkout one of the staff yelled at us like we would sneak out and won't pay the towel (2rm each). read all of the review on the wall i don't think this place is 'that' good. Early in the morning we can hear the noisy sound from the restaurant next to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aristiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were traveling in a big group and staying in this place. well, from outside it doesn't give me a good impression. but surprisingly, it is clean inside and well-maintained. it is very cheap and with nice staff!

however, as it is located next to a restaurant, it is always noisy day and night.

the location is strategic and you can actually walk around and find many interesting shops. Waterfront is also walking-distant only!

great place to stay if you travel with a group of friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khangchern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is situated right in the middle of everything. Everything is made for convenience. The 7-eleven is just right infront of this place, the mall is just 5 mins walking distance. The Kuching waterfront is just few step away. And to get around from here is just so convenient. They can arrange for your pick up transfer from or to the airport. The host is super friendly and helpful, i get most of the information i needed from them, good food, ways to go to places and most about everything. The place is clean which is my most important criteria. toilets are clean, i have place to hang my clothes to dry. This place is situated right in town, i won't suggest that you opt for this place if u want all peace and quiet...though i don't find it that noisy when i'm in my room. and the room is so cozy, it has a lil cupboard for us to put our stuff so that the room is not too messed up. And i hv enough are to evn put my praying mat for prayers. This place is all good for me except i wish it has a window.

Room Tip: Theres also dorms if you are a solo traveller and if you don't need such space. The rooms are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadzrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love this place, I can't believe I haven't made a review for them since the last time I was there in July 2012. So I stayed there again during the rainforest world music festival and they're the only place which wont hike up their prices during the festival. I paid RM20 for my dorm bed..and after a year they are still spotless clean and maintained the quality very well.
Love the people. Without the people this place won't be this happening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

the staff is really nice and welcoming.
It's clean.
We did a tour with them and it was cheap and great. we learnt so much
BUT it's next to a chinses restaurant and we had music and cleaning noise and chatting till 3.00 am and it re-opend at 7.00 the next morning.
So it was a terrible place to sleep even with earplugs
the room is very small and has no window but it's cheap, so we didn't mind.
it's located in a busy and lively street but it's far too noisy

Un bon hotel, pas cher, mais on n'a pas pu dormir car il y a un grand restaurant chinois à côté et ils ont fait du bruit , avec music à fond jusqu'à 3.00 du matin et reprise des activités à 7.00 pr servir le petit-dej
We only wished to sleep

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ces82000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A GREAT place to stay for budget travelers! The room I booked (a single room) was clean and comfortable. They even have a nice wooden multi-hanger stand and a shelf; it's very convenient! For RM30 a night, it's well worth the price paid.

The 3 toilets are clean (the toilet rolls never ran out) and don't worry about the shared bathrooms because there are 3 of them.

It is near to everything: the Kuching Waterfront, the post office, the various museums, shopping mall (Plaza Merdeka), bus stand (there's no sign that it's a bus stand but it's near the mosque), taxi stand. In short, VERY convenient. Next to the hotel is a Chinese eatery and a few steps away is 7-Eleven. I could go on and on. There's water cooler for your refill your bottles, coffee and tea for your enjoyment, and bread and jam for a simple breakfast. Totally backpackerly good!

Bravo, guys at Backpacker's Stay! Loved it and I will definitely be staying there again. Without a doubt.

P/S: The only downside is the noise made by other guests but if you don't mind the "liveliness" this place is great. Also, thank you, Lee and your other friend, for the warm hospitality and great job! Also thank the friendly kakak who helps keep the place clean,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 75 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Stay

Property: Backpacker's Stay
Address: 23 Carpenter Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We could not have found you a better homestay in Kuching than Backpacker`s Stay in Chinatown! Our hostel is located right in the heart of the bustling Chinatown, offers endless entertainment, eateries and shopping options. All other necessary amenities and public transport systems are also located our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Backpacker's Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker's Stay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing