We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room is okay,good location,good internet,but..”
Review of Backpacker's Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpacker's Stay
Ranked #15 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Reviewed October 28, 2013

But the toilet and shower are not. The day i stayed here we had to wait until the bucket full with water before we can take shower. When go downstairs to checkout one of the staff yelled at us like we would sneak out and won't pay the towel (2rm each). read all of the review on the wall i don't think this place is 'that' good. Early in the morning we can hear the noisy sound from the restaurant next to it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aristiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Backpacker's Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were traveling in a big group and staying in this place. well, from outside it doesn't give me a good impression. but surprisingly, it is clean inside and well-maintained. it is very cheap and with nice staff!

however, as it is located next to a restaurant, it is always noisy day and night.

the location is strategic and you can actually walk around and find many interesting shops. Waterfront is also walking-distant only!

great place to stay if you travel with a group of friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khangchern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is situated right in the middle of everything. Everything is made for convenience. The 7-eleven is just right infront of this place, the mall is just 5 mins walking distance. The Kuching waterfront is just few step away. And to get around from here is just so convenient. They can arrange for your pick up transfer from or to the airport. The host is super friendly and helpful, i get most of the information i needed from them, good food, ways to go to places and most about everything. The place is clean which is my most important criteria. toilets are clean, i have place to hang my clothes to dry. This place is situated right in town, i won't suggest that you opt for this place if u want all peace and quiet...though i don't find it that noisy when i'm in my room. and the room is so cozy, it has a lil cupboard for us to put our stuff so that the room is not too messed up. And i hv enough are to evn put my praying mat for prayers. This place is all good for me except i wish it has a window.

Room Tip: Theres also dorms if you are a solo traveller and if you don't need such space. The rooms are sp...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fadzrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love this place, I can't believe I haven't made a review for them since the last time I was there in July 2012. So I stayed there again during the rainforest world music festival and they're the only place which wont hike up their prices during the festival. I paid RM20 for my dorm bed..and after a year they are still spotless clean and maintained the quality very well.
Love the people. Without the people this place won't be this happening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

the staff is really nice and welcoming.
It's clean.
We did a tour with them and it was cheap and great. we learnt so much
BUT it's next to a chinses restaurant and we had music and cleaning noise and chatting till 3.00 am and it re-opend at 7.00 the next morning.
So it was a terrible place to sleep even with earplugs
the room is very small and has no window but it's cheap, so we didn't mind.
it's located in a busy and lively street but it's far too noisy

Un bon hotel, pas cher, mais on n'a pas pu dormir car il y a un grand restaurant chinois à côté et ils ont fait du bruit , avec music à fond jusqu'à 3.00 du matin et reprise des activités à 7.00 pr servir le petit-dej
We only wished to sleep

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ces82000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A GREAT place to stay for budget travelers! The room I booked (a single room) was clean and comfortable. They even have a nice wooden multi-hanger stand and a shelf; it's very convenient! For RM30 a night, it's well worth the price paid.

The 3 toilets are clean (the toilet rolls never ran out) and don't worry about the shared bathrooms because there are 3 of them.

It is near to everything: the Kuching Waterfront, the post office, the various museums, shopping mall (Plaza Merdeka), bus stand (there's no sign that it's a bus stand but it's near the mosque), taxi stand. In short, VERY convenient. Next to the hotel is a Chinese eatery and a few steps away is 7-Eleven. I could go on and on. There's water cooler for your refill your bottles, coffee and tea for your enjoyment, and bread and jam for a simple breakfast. Totally backpackerly good!

Bravo, guys at Backpacker's Stay! Loved it and I will definitely be staying there again. Without a doubt.

P/S: The only downside is the noise made by other guests but if you don't mind the "liveliness" this place is great. Also, thank you, Lee and your other friend, for the warm hospitality and great job! Also thank the friendly kakak who helps keep the place clean,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me and My Lovely Wife;) stayed in Kuching for 10 days.We found Backpackers Stay while walking in China Town.We were very IMPRESSED about friendly welcome by the guy from the reception!!!
His name was LEE,I think that his Nick name;) anyway,we had a double room with AC on the first floor.was bit small but nice;) with one double bed,small shelf and hunger,that was more than enough for us;)All rooms have no windows so was really hard to wake up;) We have paid for our room only 50 Rinngits,you could have dorm for 20 R and all Dorms had 6 beds;)
They have FREE wi fi and breakfast included in price,only toasts with jam;) (always something;) and unlimited coffee :) On the ground floor is spacious Kitchen with Big fridge when you can keep your food and also small oven-kind of;) Next to kitchen they have share bathrooms with 3 showers and one toilet,is couple more toilets on the first floor,so you never have to wait In the queue;)

STAFF were VERY FRIENDLY!!! Especially LEE,who took us for one day trip by his private car to visit Waterfall( non of the agencies would take you there)is only for locals,we spent there 2h swimming,that was AWSOME :) then we went to visit ANNAH ARAIS LONG HOUSE,he knew everyone there,and explained us everything about THIER life,on the end he took us to see ORANGUTANS!!! Was a feeding time when we arrived there so we could see them very well,and that was so cool;)) and we have paid him only 100 R per person,where agencies will take you only for 2/3h to Long House for 80 R.We were Extremely Happy with this Trip!!!Also in Backpackers Stay they have cleaners for whole day,very nice local ladies;) so whole place is keep nice,clean and tidy!!!
First time we stayed there for 5 days to explore Kuching,then we have visited Bako National Park,we have made some new friends in Park and came back to Backpackers Stay with them and stayed in Dorms for 3 days,really enjoyed that ASWELL :)
OVERALL they have 10 of 10!!!
It was only one small thing,which we weren't happy about;(
We been told one day that we didn't pay for pervious night,where we were SURE THAT WE DID!!! And we had to paid again,so I will leave that with out comment

B.u.J.o ;()
xxx

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcinBujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
#16 of 55 in Kuching
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jewels of Borneo Guest House
0.0 mi away
Batu Bata Guesthouse
Batu Bata Guesthouse
#10 of 82 in Kuching
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Radioman, Heritage Hostel
0.8 mi away
Check In Lodge
Check In Lodge
#12 of 81 in Kuching
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Stay

Address: 23 Carpenter Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We could not have found you a better hostel in Kuching othrr than Backpacker`s Stay in Chinatown! Our hostel is located right in the heart of the bustling Chinatown, offers endless entertainment, eateries and shopping options. All other necessary amenities and public transport systems are also located our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Backpacker's Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker's Stay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing