We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money; friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Backpacker's Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpacker's Stay
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money; friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A GREAT place to stay for budget travelers! The room I booked (a single room) was clean and comfortable. They even have a nice wooden multi-hanger stand and a shelf; it's very convenient! For RM30 a night, it's well worth the price paid.

The 3 toilets are clean (the toilet rolls never ran out) and don't worry about the shared bathrooms because there are 3 of them.

It is near to everything: the Kuching Waterfront, the post office, the various museums, shopping mall (Plaza Merdeka), bus stand (there's no sign that it's a bus stand but it's near the mosque), taxi stand. In short, VERY convenient. Next to the hotel is a Chinese eatery and a few steps away is 7-Eleven. I could go on and on. There's water cooler for your refill your bottles, coffee and tea for your enjoyment, and bread and jam for a simple breakfast. Totally backpackerly good!

Bravo, guys at Backpacker's Stay! Loved it and I will definitely be staying there again. Without a doubt.

P/S: The only downside is the noise made by other guests but if you don't mind the "liveliness" this place is great. Also, thank you, Lee and your other friend, for the warm hospitality and great job! Also thank the friendly kakak who helps keep the place clean,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
10
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me and My Lovely Wife;) stayed in Kuching for 10 days.We found Backpackers Stay while walking in China Town.We were very IMPRESSED about friendly welcome by the guy from the reception!!!
His name was LEE,I think that his Nick name;) anyway,we had a double room with AC on the first floor.was bit small but nice;) with one double bed,small shelf and hunger,that was more than enough for us;)All rooms have no windows so was really hard to wake up;) We have paid for our room only 50 Rinngits,you could have dorm for 20 R and all Dorms had 6 beds;)
They have FREE wi fi and breakfast included in price,only toasts with jam;) (always something;) and unlimited coffee :) On the ground floor is spacious Kitchen with Big fridge when you can keep your food and also small oven-kind of;) Next to kitchen they have share bathrooms with 3 showers and one toilet,is couple more toilets on the first floor,so you never have to wait In the queue;)

STAFF were VERY FRIENDLY!!! Especially LEE,who took us for one day trip by his private car to visit Waterfall( non of the agencies would take you there)is only for locals,we spent there 2h swimming,that was AWSOME :) then we went to visit ANNAH ARAIS LONG HOUSE,he knew everyone there,and explained us everything about THIER life,on the end he took us to see ORANGUTANS!!! Was a feeding time when we arrived there so we could see them very well,and that was so cool;)) and we have paid him only 100 R per person,where agencies will take you only for 2/3h to Long House for 80 R.We were Extremely Happy with this Trip!!!Also in Backpackers Stay they have cleaners for whole day,very nice local ladies;) so whole place is keep nice,clean and tidy!!!
First time we stayed there for 5 days to explore Kuching,then we have visited Bako National Park,we have made some new friends in Park and came back to Backpackers Stay with them and stayed in Dorms for 3 days,really enjoyed that ASWELL :)
OVERALL they have 10 of 10!!!
It was only one small thing,which we weren't happy about;(
We been told one day that we didn't pay for pervious night,where we were SURE THAT WE DID!!! And we had to paid again,so I will leave that with out comment

B.u.J.o ;()
xxx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcinBujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hostel. Its very clean and the staff is very helpful. Good value for the money you pay. There is free wifi and breakfast. I can't wait to see what it looks like when the gym is ready :-P.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

50MYR gets you a double room with shared bathroom, really friendly and helpful staff, free tea, coffee and water, free wifi and basic breakfast in this small friendly backpackers hostel. New furniture and varnished floorboards put this place above the average hostel. The shared toilets and showers are kept spotless. Nice touches like use of iron, ironing board and writing board in the hall. They can organize day trips and airport transfers. A nice relaxed atmosphere inside, while being in the middle of everything outside. A 7-11 across the road, good restaurant next door, waterfront 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We came for 2 nights stayed for 7, the places spotless, it is cleaned every day, there are 4 six bed dorms downstairs and 6 double rooms upstairs, all the staff are great and very helpful, the place is conveniently placed in China Town, whilst we were there it was quite and restful but I imagine it could get a bit noisy with the wrong people staying. Would I recommend it? Yes, would I stay there again? Yes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JWL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found this place soon after arriving in Kuching.
Its newly built so is clean and bright. The staff are friendly and helpful, the shared bathrooms are very clean with warm and powerful showers. There is a shared kitchen area with a toaster and bread, jam, etc provided for breakfast and free tea and coffee provided all day.
We stayed in a double room for RM50 a night. We had a room with a window overlooking the street which was nice but a little noisy late at night and then early in the morning with businesses opening. Another night we stayed in a room further down the hall away from the street, but this was very noisy due to the 24 hour food place next door banging and chopping at all hours!
Noticed that the few people that were staying in the dorm rooms were each put in a separate room instead of being made to share, effectively getting a private room for a dorm price which was a nice touch.
Overall a nice place, would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison-Platton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Insanely overpriced (and so mostly empty), but actually crispy new hostel in downtown of Kuching.
If you're tired from squat-like wet toilets, annoying smelling and noisy 'backpackers' and bedbugs, and have a deep pockets with bunch of bucks - check this place.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank romx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
#15 of 54 in Kuching
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kuching
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.4 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Stay

Property: Backpacker's Stay
Address: 23 Carpenter Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We could not have found you a better homestay in Kuching than Backpacker`s Stay in Chinatown! Our hostel is located right in the heart of the bustling Chinatown, offers endless entertainment, eateries and shopping options. All other necessary amenities and public transport systems are also located our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Backpacker's Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker's Stay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing